We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveler rating
266
370
117
32
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
370
117
32
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtloft roomcontemporary queencontinental breakfastyogurtfrench quartercharles streetcarno elevatorfruit cupold worldday passstreetcar linetrolley stopbars and restaurantshalf blockwould stay againchain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 846 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Excellent location near the Garden District, giving you a taste of old New Orleans. Nice to stay away from downtown and enjoy quite, easy access to street cars, restaurants nearby, friendly staff. Clean rooms, good A/C and ceiling fans which are very much needed in summer. Good haven to escape too after a busy day of walking and touring. Parking easy and no charge. That being said, hotel outside in courtyard, etc is in bad need of some upgrading, water puddles in courtyard walking area from A/C is a bit annoying, but doable. Just keep in mind -- these hotels are very old and for the price and clean rooms--not a problem. Check your room out before settling in, try get lower level or first floor. No elevators. Carpet needs badly replacing with vinyl or tile, especially in the humidity, --dampness prevails. I can deal with all that because I did not notice any major odors inside room. Fresh smell and comfy bed. Otherwise, if your wanting a taste of old New Orleans, near restaurants and the beautiful Garden District-- I would recommend-- especially for the price.

Room Tip: First floor level facing courtyard or in back for privacy
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roadhound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

I booked this on a whim based off of the reviews and the price and the parking. I was not disappointed. Definitely an older place which has its charms. The beds were comfortable and the air was cold and the room was clean. Great places to eat and drink right around the corner. I’d stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. No elevator so be prepared to carry your stuff up the stairs. We had a room with a loft which was great for my friend and I.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear April, I want to take a moment to Thank You for your review. I am thrilled to know you and your traveling companion enjoyed our little quiet hotel, and the Loft Style room you had. And Yes, our neighborhood does have a good mix and variety neat restaurants and bars in the very walkable distance. We do strive to make your stay a most enjoyable one. Have a great rest of the summer, and looking forward to your return one day in the future. Fondly, Dori H Schulman,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

This is an older Victorian hotel that shows its age. However, we found that the room was comfortable and the location convenient. The overall costs were reasonable. There was security on the premises and free parking - a major plus. The streetcar was around the corner and great inexpensive restaurants were nearby. The room did have a slight odor of musk, but we read this in advance and bought air fresheners - problem solved. It was perfect for a couple or a single travel but probably not the hotel to choose if you have children.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor can be noisy from late night guests going in and out.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pammo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking a moment in writing the review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay here in New Orleans. It was our pleasure having you visit out City. As with any older building, especially those that were built in the mid 1800's, as we were, do have an inherent odor of age. But with that being said, it would be expected since you researched and booked into an a very old building, but it does not mean we are not clean and stale.

I am not sure why you feel we are not a good hotel for children, as many many families have stayed and plan on staying with us. These guests all have children of various ages. We provide a wonderful floor plan where families can stay in the same room but still have a sense of their own privacy and space. Our Double Queen Lofted rooms, or our Queen/Twin bedded lofted rooms both provide this unique experience.

Happy travels around the USA, and again, I thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Room wasn’t cleaned. Empty candybag on the ground and used shampoo in the bathroom. Toilet does not flush properly. The second day they did not cleaned the room. What did you expect. The cleaning ladies are smoking on the patio. The entire day.
The desk staff was helpful and friendly.
The WiFi doesn’t work properly.
The breakfast is the worst. It’s al been deep fried. Not good at all.
If you’re only sleeping there and you’re looking for a cheap place and fast transportation to the centre. Oke visit this. If you are worried about your health run away.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank YannickZoldermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dori S, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Guest, oh my, you did have a horrible stay, and I do apologize. However, during your 3 night stay, you never advised the front desk of any of these housekeeping issues. And as bad as you claim it was, logically one would bring it to the managements attention . The Wi-Fi not working properly? I just checked the service logs. There were no down times or alarms to alert access points not working properly. If you are referring to the Laptop in our lobby that is free to use by our guests, yes, that does from time to time have WiFi difficulty, but we allow our guests to use one of front desk hard wired access computers to get online when the laptop is not working correctly

Your housekeeping issues. I have researched your stay and I found it was noted 2 times on the day you claim you did not get your room cleaned, that your room door had the Do Not Disturb sign in the door lock Therefore, no housekeeping services could be provided that day. Your room was serviced the next day .

I do not know where you are speaking of a candybag on the ground. We have trash receptacles throughout the courtyard area and my staff is fairly diligent on picking up when a guest misses the trash cans .

I do have 1 housekeeper that smokes , but she was off 2 of the 3 days during your stay. She only does so on her lunch break as that is property policy. She does sit in the designated area fir their break which happens to be the corner of the courtyard. This is where they have lunch and its possible you saw that coming down the stairs from your room as its in the same corner area. Her 30 mins lunch break hardly constitutes the entire day, and her supervisor would certainly not allow that as both of their jobs would be in jeopardy if she did

As to the used Shampoo in the shower? I apologize if its full appearance seems as if it had been used, but I can assure you, it hadn’t been. Just like the Conditioner and the Body Lotion, it is not filled to the very top so it does not spill out all over the guest when 1st opening. The bottle is filled to about 1/4th inch from the top

Breakfast? We do not serve anything deep fried . We serve 2 flavors of English Muffins with jams and jellies , Waffles, 2 hot and 2 cold cereals, yogurt, mixed fruit cups , applesauce, oranges juice, coffee and tea. Nothing is deep fried

With all due respect to you, I do have to ask myself, is it possible that he has us confused with another hotel during his travels from Belguim as there are several discrepancies regarding his stay to our actual hotel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Great location in the Garden District and about a mile walk to the French Quarter. Room was big (loft room) and we got in at 11am no problem. The common areas are all outdoors walkways and a little bit shabby. Free breakfast but basic. All in all excellent choice for our needs

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmccuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews