We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and close to street car”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #105 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff was nice and there were no problems. Would stay there again and definitely recommend to friends. The hotel should invest in an ATM. The parking is free and that was a great great incentive to stay there as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank onit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
There are newer reviews for Prytania Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 797 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We had the loft room and our kids loved it! The rooms are smaller but this historic hotel proved to be a perfect place to ride the street car into the French Quarter.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is also near some beautiful parks.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank rhartsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Expected better accommodations after reading the reviews. Yes, the hotel has character and charm but if you look closer there needs to be more attention to detail. Our room had a spiral staircase leading to a loft. We thought it was cute and cozy; however the bathroom had splotches of something on the floor making it look and feel dirty and paint splatters on the door looked like renovations weren't quite finished. The handle on the sink was broken off and couldn't be turned on (cold water), no one was available to fix ( it was about 7:30 p.m.), no other rooms to switch to. After a few minutes my husband went to the lobby to see what was happening and no one was available so now what... well my husband ended up taking a handful of tools and fixed it himself! The manager was supposed to have contacted us, and never did hear from her. Upon check out, after a little confusion, we were given a small percentage off our room - supposedly from the manager.
Better quality control and a manager or someone on duty who could make executive decisions is needed. Breakfast was good and the women serving was very nice. Breakfast is served in the garden area, nice but warm. Hotel is in a nice area, very close to a streetcar terminal, and our family felt safe - definite pluses. Just needs a little tweaking for me to give it a few more stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank candiesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The hotel is situated in a pretty and quiet area and is close to a street car stop that takes you directly into the French quarter in ten minutes. The rooms are pretty and clean, if a little small, and the staff are helpful. The best part is the fantastic breakfast - so delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at the Prytania Park Hotel for three nights in July. I selected the hotel initially because of its cost, good reviews for cleanliness and free parking available onsite. The hotel has all of those features, but more. Its location, in the upper Garden District just 1/2 block from St. Charles Ave was great. It was quiet, the room was spacious, comfortable and well-air conditioned (a necessity in New orleans in summer). There are some excellent restaurants, both nationally-known (Emeril's delmonico) and local (the Blind Pelican) within a three block or less walk. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is about 6-7 blocks from the National WW II Museum, a must see, and a 5 minute taxi ride from the French Quarter. I wil definitely stay there again on my next trip to NOLA.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 160Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was perfect. Free parking, conveinent location, and nice rooms for an even nicer price. I love the old style and look to the courtyard hotel and rooms. Rooms were very clean and bed was comfortable. Walking distance to some great restaurants and bars on St. Charles. Front desk was nice and helpful. Looking forward to returning.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Strosclair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great hotel, bed extremely comfortable, location was peaceful yet close to Charles St tram so access to French quarter is easy as well as lots of local great eats. Definitely recommend this one to road trippers for parking and location. TIP: The tram/bus travel pass is great value, we did a lot of walking before realising this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank TraceyScott74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#118 of 165 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#76 of 165 in New Orleans
1,262 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $101 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing