We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, High Quality, Budget Travel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prytania Park
Ranked #86 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Kentucky
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, High Quality, Budget Travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Prytania Park Hotel last week. We booked the room because of the reviews from TripAdvisor. We stayed in the Contemporary Queen with two twin beds in the loft. We have two teenagers, so the extra space was appreciated. There was a bath tub/shower, microwave, coffee maker, and microwave. The wifi worked fine. The breakfast was simple, but adequate to get you going for the day. There are restaurants within walking distance if anyone would want more for breakfast. We ate at the VooDoo BBQ and the St. Charles Tavern. Both were excellent and reasonable in price. We also rode the St. Charles Trolley for just $1.25 each way or $3.00 for an all day Jazzy Pass. If you want to sleep late, you may want ear plugs...some people the mornings we were there were very loud for breakfast. Could have just been the group visiting. We found the hotel to be very quiet other than that time.

Room Tip: It may be helpful to choose a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissionMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    337
    98
    26
    53
See reviews for
180
286
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here with two friends -- we were on a girls trip to NOLA and this hotel was just perfect! We had one of the rooms with a queen bed and two twin beds in the loft -- we each got our own bed! The room was on the small side, but they made excellent use of the space available. There was LOTS of counter room in our bathroom area, which was perfect for 3 ladies. It was also very nice to have the microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker in our room too. The continental breakfast in the morning was the right way to start our day -- nothing fancy, but got us going and ready for our day (and room for more great Southern cooking). The proximity to the street car was a REAL plus too. We bought 3 day passes for $9 at the nearby Walgreens. We got way more than our money's worth. We even rode the street car out to the end of the St Charles St line, as well as to the end of the Canal St line, just for fun and sightseeing. We dined at the nearby St Charles Tavern and the Irish House. Both were very good. If I return to NOLA, I will stay here!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, or with people who don't mind a spiral staircase, get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want to visit New Orleans this is a fun affordable place to stay:
- The location is on the trolley line which is great to get into the French Quarter or explore the garden District.
- The neighborhood is safe and there are plenty of affordable restaurants near by plus you can easily buy food at local stores.
-the rooms are small and relatively clean. They are small and funky but not always spotless, my bed linens were clean, the bed comfortable but the bathroom walls needed a good cleaning.
- None of the rooms faced a road so the place is quiet.
-Breakfast was OK, not many healthy choices but you sit outside and if you are traveling alone there were plenty of people to interact with. The staff was helpful on all counts and helped navigating the trolley, they have free parking which is a good deal in New Orleans. You may elect to take a cab back from the French quarter late at night since the trolley runs less often.
-A safe place for women traveling alone.
- I walked to the convention center one morning, it is a 15 minute walk and safe, I also took a cab which was very reasonable.
- A different experience from a corporate hotel, you will need to watch the cancellation policies, that is what most of the complaints seem to be about, confirm via phone again the night before.
- Definitely try it for a different experience versus the corporate choices or very busy impersonal hotels downtown!

Room Tip: Look at the locations on the web site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americanrolloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the loft suites with a queen bed and two twin beds upstairs. It was perfect for us since we were traveling with our children. The hotel was very nice, even better than I expected. I was apprehensive of the area on our way into town but quickly felt at ease after exploring around the neighborhood and checking out the short walk to St. Charles Street. It was a great area with lots of people jogging along the streetcar route and there were several places within walking distance. We had a very enjoyable stay at a great price and free parking to boot! We will defiantly stay again when we make it back to New Orleans!

Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trrenton, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed at this property twice in the past year. Great location, right on the fringes of the French Quarter, walking distance to several great dining spots and some shops. Free off-street property. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. I like the upstairs loft sleeping areas when I travel with other folks. Rates are reasonable, typical pastries and cereal and fruits for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Park, then walk to the nearby dining and shopping venues. The street cars run right in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Being an ex New Orleanian and having no family left in the Big Easy can become quite expensive when 'old world charm' is what you desire on your rare visits to the city that 'Care Forgot' (very old expression used by natives). The Prytania Park Hotel fills that bill. $90 a day including various taxes is a great deal for this city. Yes, it is not a 4 star property and they do not have a pool. If that is what you need then this is not for you. They offer a very nice Continental Breakfast daily with cereal's ( hot and cold) bagels, pastries, 'Community' brand coffee (I have this send through their website) and tea. In room you have basic cable TV on flat screen, microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge.
The hotel is just steps from St. Charles Ave. where you can catch the streetcar (no trolleys here) to go to the French Quarter or uptown. As of this date June 2013 the line ends at Louisiana Ave. and free bus service continues to the 'River Bend' section. They are still recovering from Katrina.
The bottom line is this - I will be returning to the Prytania Park Hotel and will tell all of my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 504-702Robertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

All seasoned travelers know that budget = hit & miss (and more likely than not, miss). The Prytania Park is the absolute exception to that rule. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, ample outdoor space...the epitome of value for your dollar. Bring earplugs (my advice to anyone traveling anywhere) in case you are a light or late sleeper. PLEASE remember to leave a tip for the housekeeping staff EVERY DAY ( people forget that the staff isn't always the same day after day). The staff of the Prytania work hard for the money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest, THANK YOU for your time in writing such a grand review. We, meaning all of us from Front Office to the Porter/Janitors, work very hard at each of our respective jobs in making your stay in New Orleans a memorable one. Our goal is to make you feel as if you are in your own home, welcomed and comfortable so you would want to come back again.

Our Exec. Housekeeper works verry hard with his staff in making sure the rooms are what any traveler would expect, looking clean, smelling clean, and overall feeling clean. We do not want any of our guests to worry about traveler related illnesses or other pesky issues that come with hotels. But do keep in mind, this is "humidity personified" New Orleans, and we are a courtyard hotel with lots of lush greenery, so every now and then, a New Orleans outdoor bugsy habitant might be seen.

Although never solicited by the housekeeping staff, as I do not allow them to solicit the guests, leaving TIPS for them, be it daily, or at the end of your stay, is always welcomed and appreciated. Remembering what TIPS stands for, To Insure Polite/Prompt Service. This way, they do not take the Tipst for granted and learn to take pride in their job and what they do making your stay a wonderful one. Should you wait to the end of your stay, if you prefer not to leave it in the room, you can always leave it with the Front Desk upon check out to ensure it gets divided properly to the ones that attended to your room during your stay. Either way is fine, and very appreciative all the way around.

Thank you again for choosing us as your New Orleans hotelier, and I do hope to see you again in the future.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing