We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I cannot say enough praise for this hotel! I spent a very long time trying to find a clean and affordable hotel for a last-minute trip to New Orleans for myself and my boyfriend (we are 24 and 25 years old). I finally stumbled upon this one on its own website after hours (literally) of online research. I booked the Charming Old World Standard room, but I was nervous because there were no photos of that particular room online; I booked it based on how beautiful the other rooms' pictures were. It was well within my budget.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The registration area is very beautiful, staff was courteous and helpful, and check in was a breeze. The courtyard between the rooms has lush plants and benches in shaded areas - we spent some mornings relaxing there before hitting the town. There is a complimentary breakfast with bagels, cereal, and yogurt, which was a great start to the day before eating greasy food later on. The room was extremely clean, sheets and blankets included. The bed was sooo comfortable! It was very quiet, too; and we were on the ground floor. It was only a block away from the street car line on St. Charles. It is in the Garden District, and I felt very safe throughout the trip. Next time I go to New Orleans, this is where I'm staying.

Room Tip: Any room is great! All branch off from the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blackbelt323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    318
    90
    26
    51
See reviews for
165
266
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for four nights before our cruise. The hotel is very close to the St. Charles Streetcar line (which is currently being run as a bus due to repairs). We used public transportation to access all portions of the city we wished to see. This was a huge benefit. Also, you get to park on site for free (a rare find in New Orleans).
They offer a complimentary breakfast which contained coffee, juice, milk, bagles, cream cheese, danish, yogurt, cereal, etc. It was a great start to your day.
You could either eat in the courtyard or breakfast was set up in the lobby if the weather was questionable.
It is a very quiet hotel. We stayed in a contemporary queen. The room offered a luggage rack; however, I didn't really find a convenient place to set it up. We kept our luggage on the counterspace around the sink area and it was fine. Our room had a ceiling fan which was nice.
They only draw back is that there is a transom above the door and it let a lot of light into the room at night from the hallway.
One day there was a lot of water on our bathroom floor when we returned to our room. My husband went to the office and maintenance showed up in less than five minutes. He assessed the source of the problem and cleaned up the issue quickly. I commened them for excellent service and we didn't have any other issues the rest of the stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor (room 128) as there are no elevators. The transom above the door lets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlcarter1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked this hotel for a pre-family cruise stay. We had 4 rooms for a total of 18 people. The rooms with the lofts worked out great.

Although our visit wasn't for sight seeing, it's proximity to the trolly and bus lines makes it a pretty good location. Unfortunately, the trolly line was closed for maintenance during our stay.

If you're a runner, running in the 'neutral' area of the trolly tracks was interesting and enjoyable as you get to run past a lot of old mansions (going east toward Tulane).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here Dec 8th, & 16 & 17th, didnt want a common, usual, standard hotel, but something special, for our first time in NO. We had 2 different rooms, and were very pleased with everything. The rooms were clean, cool, spacious, no problems.
The breakfast was fine, enuf to fill me and get me started in the morning.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the French Quarter.
There is also a computer in the lobby for internet access and printing our airline boarding passes.
The staff were fine, they recommended two close restaurants, Zea and Mia's Balcony, within a block of the hotel, they were both great for dinner.
Would suggest this hotel, and we would stay here again on our next trip to NO.

Room Tip: There is not elevator, for rooms on the 2 & 3rd floors, but we could carry our luggage up withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very good hotel, nothing fancy, but very clean and in a nice area, not too far to the FQ and a lot of very nice restaurants, I would definately use this hotel again. The surrounding area is a pleasure to walk around as well.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked this through hotwire.com and it was a bit of a gamble but it turned out surprisingly well. It is close to the bus stop and a short ride to Canal St. The breakfast was nothing fancy but then I don't eat fancy breakfasts at home. It was yogurt, pastries, juice, cereal, milk and coffee. It served our needs and my wife and I were fine with it.

The staff was helpful about us finding the bus stop and how to get to the French Quarter.

The Wifi was a bit spotty in our downstairs front corner room (farthest from the office) but worked well enough most of the time.

Room Tip: Be wary of mosquitoes that lurk in the dark corners of some of the room entry ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knucklebusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While my friends were paying over $200 a night at a big chain hotel on Canal Street (with which they were unhappy), I stayed heer for $100 (and was quite happy). Room was comfortable, good air-conditioning (though I hardly needed it in November). Walls are a bit thin, but otherwise it is reasonably quiet and clean (always depends on your neighbors - luck of the draw, I guess). Yes, the mattress could have been firmer, but for the three nights I spent there I slept well and had no problems. It's close to the street-car line (which is currently down - 2012). A bus does the route, and is reliable: for $1.25 it will bring you right to Canal Street. Breakfast is pretty standard - nothing to write home about, but it's a buffet (cereal, bagels, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, pastries) so I'm not complaining. The area around the hotel is not void of interest. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tareus1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#105 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Garden District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#94 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#87 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing