We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a short stay in New Orleans”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #97 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good option for a short stay in New Orleans”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is an inexpensive and decent option for a short stay in New Orleans, especially if you come by car, since parking is free in this area. I previously stayed in Prytania Oaks, which I preferred, but this time we needed a double room and the Prytania Park studios were the only option in this area. The rooms are small and dark - no natural light comes through - but we were only there to sleep so it was fine. The beds are comfortable and I slept perfectly well. If you don't mind walking a little bit, this is within walking distance of the French quarter, Frenchmen St, the convention center etc., yet it seems quiet and secluded. Also close to the St Charles street car. The breakfast is awful and I would recommend taking it elsewhere. I will probably look at Prytania Park/Oaks again for my next trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: If you only need one bed then try Prytania Oaks just down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dokness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate all the feedback since you have stayed in 2 of our 3 hotel collection. I would love to hear from you directly as to your comment about breakfast being awful. Other than the homemade waffles at the Prytania Oaks and the Cranberry juice, there is no difference to breakfast at Prytania Park. It is the same Free Expanded Continental buffet fare with the same Bagles/Cream Cheese, jams/jellies, same assorted Danish, same cereal choices of 2, same grits and oatmeal self serve packets, same Yogurt w/Fruit, and same Coffee and OJ....... so please contact me as let me know how I can make it better for us.

The room rate difference between the 2 properties does have something to do with the minor difference of breakfast items served, but that is all.

I look forward to hearing from you so I can work on doing a better breakfast for you the next time you stay at the Park, and not the Oaks.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    344
    100
    27
    56
See reviews for
184
296
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The rooms are charming but small. The location is good as it is a short walk to the bus/trolley stop. The front desk folks were very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again. We didn't eat breakfast there, but there are places within a short walk or bus/trolley ride. Contrary to what some people have said, we felt safe in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

When checking in they didn't give us the room we were confirmed for, something about booking through a third party. We did get the right room the next day. The rooms are small, and vary, vary noisy. You can hear everything that is happening outside. If you don't get a loft room there is no place to put your stuff. If this was priced as a budget motel, you might want to put up with a small, noisy room, but it wasn't any cheaper then anyplace else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

We apologized for the mistake we made the next morning, when we realized what had happened. Your 3rd Party discount booking company (Travelocity), had you booked into the Contemporary Double Queen Loft room. Our Front Desk agent who processed your reservation into our system back in September processed it our Contemporary Queen Room with 1 bed instead of 2. He made a mistake, and for this, I was extremely sorry. He was new, and the mistake was not caught during his training review and I take full responsibility for it.

The facts are simple. When you checked in, and brought it to our attention, unfortunately, that 1st night, we were completely sold out of the correct room, and moved you the next day. The room you stayed into has plenty of room for all your gear and luggage, and in fact, is no larger than the loft room on the entrance floor space where the Queen bed is. It is a mirror imaged room on that level. The only difference is, you get more space vertically, hence the loft.

I could not offer you a compensatory solution that you were seeking, as you booked through a 3rd party discounter, it belongs to the 3rd party. I can not legally change their booking, or offer refunds or discounts.

It was an honest mistake, as to err is human, and we, I apologize again. IT was not intentional by any stretch of the imagination. Oh, so you know, the agent who made this mistake is no longer with us, due to many factors, and mistakes like this was , is one of them.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The reviews I read for the Prytania Park were generally positive. There was nothing about the hotel that made it a better choice than staying in a chain hotel that has loyalty points. The breakfast in fact made it an inferior choice. There is nowhere to eat breakfast apart from the uncovered patio. This means that on a hot, cold, or rainy day, your only choice is to carry everything back to your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Readers,

I am not sure what this guest was expecting after she read the reviews. What you read is what you get. We are true to our reviews. We might not be “better choice than staying in a chain hotel that has loyalty points.”, but that certainly does not mean we are worse either, it means we are “different type of choice”.

Proudly to say, we are a different type of choice than the big box hotels. Open courtyards filled with lush natural bamboo, loft style rooms, to our Historic building with its Red Heart Pine floors, and exposed brick walls and 14’ ceilings.

When she booked, it is possible she was on the fence line of being unsure of her choice in staying in a different type of hotel than she is apparently used to, but they, that is ok. After thought of her stay is she decided she would rather be in the generic hi rise box hotel. That is ok, as some guests just do not get our European design concept. I accept that.

Service of breakfast in the courtyard- how unique and homey feeling. I know I eat breakfast in my backyard patio often to enjoy the weather, and listen to the birds chip Good Morning to you. True, an indoor breakfast room would be nice, but that was not the style of hotel we built in 1984.

However, times are changing, and we are in need of a Conference/Meeting Space to offer our guests, so we purchased the adjacent abandoned building, and are in the planning stages of what will become a just that, along with the option for those guest who prefer to be indoors for breakfast. Our outdoor seating will still be offered as many guests enjoy sitting in the rocking benches, or at the wrought iron table/chairs to enjoy nature. This is a year away, but will happen.

We do offer trays to take back to your room, as we have found that many guest enjoy having breakfast in bed, or while they sit at their desk while working on the laptop computers. It’s not a bad thing to be able to do this, it is our way of having “room service” on a budget.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Sometimes it's difficult to find good solutions in expensive towns like New Orleans. The Prytania Parka wasn't really cheap, but affordable and above all it had everything needed! It was clean, the room was very very very cute in its colonial style. They also serve breakfast..there isn't a big variety, but it's really okay and free! Also there a free parking which is an important thing in New Orleans! As I said it's right in the Garden district, but I would reccomend to have a car if you want to get to the French Quarter or other places in New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAroundtheworld83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel was 50 yards from public transport in New Orleans but in a quiet area away from the tourist sites.Staff very friendly, breakfast was very good and everyone ate in the courtyard so there were plenty of people to converse with. Room was adequate and clean.Good place to stay in New Orleans,10 minutes by transport to the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is an 1836 property that was nicely restored and updated. Front desk people were pleasant, parking was free, the breakfast was good, and our room was clean. An elevator provided access to the second floor. The full size bed and duvet very comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away so it's easy to get around without taking the car and having to repark. Several restaurants are nearby.

Initially finding our room was difficult because the desk clerk didn't tell us we had to jog right after entering a locked gate and then take an almost hidden walkway between buildings to enter a courtyard. Once in the courtyard, finding our room was easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#116 of 162 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
1,238 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing