We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$105
$99
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$110
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal St Charles Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton New Orleans Riverside(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$139
$116
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
$158
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$159
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$161
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$155
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
265
369
115
32
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
369
115
32
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtloft roomcontemporary queencontinental breakfastfrench quarteryogurtcharles streetcarno elevatorfruit cupold worldday passstreetcar linetrolley stopbars and restaurantshalf blockwould stay againchain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 842 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, as a couple in March. Found the room comfortable, including the large bed, adequately clean and quiet. We stayed upstairs in an old but well kept and decorated room, with a high ceiling, facing the street, which was quiet so there was no noise issue. A minor issue was no extractor fan in the bathroom, but the aircon dealt with that given time.
The day staff were friendly and helpful,tho this was less so with the night staff.
The breakfast was very basic, but just down the road the recommended Blue Plate Cafe was busy, the food was tasty, generous and moderately priced. Likewise Slice Pizza for dinner and not many blocks walk away was The Commanders Palace, a more expensive treat well worth visiting and popular enough to require booking despite the large seating capacity.
At the city end of the Garden District, the location was safe and easily accessible by "cheap as" tram just a block away to both Uptown and Downtown/The French Quarter. In the daytime at this time of year we found it easy to walk to the French Quarter and not far from the likes of the War Museum.
We would stay again when in NOLA, but would recommend booking well ahead at this time of year

Room Tip: Upstairs as the breakfast is served outside in the courtyard close to some rooms. The road frontage rooms where we were may be quieter because other guest don't walk past and the first floor where we were only means carrying luggage up on flight of steps. Being the Garden District the street is tree lined and a more attractive outlook.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Friendly staff and good location. Its got a "bed and breakfast" feel to it. Close to public transportation and lots nice family owned restruants. Parking is free. I felt the grounds were well kept and the rooms were in good shape. No gym and no place to have a meal. The worst thing was the small stairs inside the rooms to get to and from the lofts. At night they can be a challange. Over all, as most here have said the price is cheaper than most in the area, but what you give up is not gonna ruin the stay.I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lprincelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry you were not aware of this attraction. I will alert my F/D agents to make it well known at check in. Although we do not have a gym onsite, our guests have full access Free Of Charge to the St.Charles Athletic club at the corner of our street. It is 1/2 block to the gym. Also, being a limited service hotel, we do not have a restaurant. However, within a 4 block area, you have nearly 2 dozen restaurants, ranging from Fine Dining to Burger King. You do not come to New Orleans to eat hotel food, when there are over 3000 incredible restaurants in our city to sample. New Orleans is world reknown for food, of every flavor under the rainbow of colors that make up our wonderful city.

Yes, the loft stairs are narrow, but they are managable for most guests. This is why we show the stairs in the marketing pictures so there are no suprises when you check into the Double Queen Loft to Jr. Suite Rooms.

We look forward to your return one day, and will be glad to point you in the direction of all the good eats you can want, and then head you off to the gym to work it off.

Fondly,
Dori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I planned a vacation in New Orleans for 5 nights over the St. Patricks Day weekend. We have usually been pretty disappointed with our hotel stays in New Orleans but love everything else about the city that we visit once or twice each year. We saw good reviews for this property and it was a perfect fit for us. No fancy lobby or amenities. But it was super clean, safe, and friendly. Great location with lots of places to walk to from the CBD to Magazine St and the streetcar. It was so nice out we also walked over to the French Quarter. Breakfast was provided but we preferred the great breakfast at nearby Blue Plate Cafe and the Charles St Tavern. If you want plush robes and towels and onsite spa, this is not for you. But we have found our home in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Two friends and I stayed in one of the lofted rooms in March. The room was great..though be careful the spiral stairs are quite narrow. We always came back to a clean room the staff were all hopeful in suggesting great restaurants in the garden district and in the hubbub of the French Quarter.

The hotel was close(less than a block) to the St. Charles Trolley and only a 10-15 minute ride from the French Quarter and 20-30 mins from the bars/restaurants in Uptown. Free parking for the duration of your stay and The free breakfast ended at 9a so we rarely got a chance to partake but it was a nice option.

The only downside was the size of the bathroom(the shower and toilet were in a space space) but there was a larger vanity sink area outside. Otherwise, it was a great price and location and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Daughter and two teen-aged granddaughters and I recently spent 3 nights here while staying in New Orleans. The hotel is old, funky, and greatly in need of a facelift. Rooms tend to be dark because the only window opens to a narrow outside passageway. Our room had a small refrigerator and a microwave.

Having said that, the location is excellent for walking, catching a streetcar or other transportation, and felt very safe. A taxi for the four of us from Cafe DuMond was about $10 total. Our taxi to and from the airport was a flat $14 each, or $56 each way. This was cheaper than the hotel shuttles. The hotel also provides juice, coffee, yogurt, bagels, sweet rolls and other items for breakfast in the morning. The room rate of $99 per night was excellent.

So, if you are looking for elegance, the Prytania is not the place. However, bedding and towels are clean and the cost can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that the location and price were just perfect for you and your family. I must clarify though for the readers, the "narrow outside passageway" you referred to is our Courtyard style entrance. It does get a bit shadowy due to the height of the buildings and the canopy provided by the natural Bamboo that grows over the roof tops.

The courtyard pictures are on most of our marketing sites. Most guests like the unique courtyard style of our hotel vs, the big box hi rise hotel. We are modeled after a European hotel my family stayed in many years ago when we traveled to Europe.

Funny you should mention the exteriors needing a facelift. We actually started this week with the replacments of the A/C sleeves and grills you see on most PTAC wall through units. We have scheduled the millwork which is Natural Mahogony, to be sanded and re-stained over the summer when we go into our slow period. It is hard to take rooms out of service for exterior work when the rooms are always occupied. This also includes the Teak handrails all along the courtyard walkways upstairs, and the wood decking. In fact, today, a guest said how the walkway and railing system reminded him of the cruise he just go off of.

I hope we get the chance one day to show the upgrades to you.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews