We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$143
$126
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$143
$135
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal St Charles Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$259
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
Hilton New Orleans Riverside(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$202
$158
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$199
$157
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$382
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$251
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
265
369
115
32
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
369
115
32
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtloft roomcontemporary queencontinental breakfastfrench quarteryogurtcharles streetcarno elevatorfruit cupold worldday passstreetcar linetrolley stopbars and restaurantshalf blockwould stay againchain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 842 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Daughter and two teen-aged granddaughters and I recently spent 3 nights here while staying in New Orleans. The hotel is old, funky, and greatly in need of a facelift. Rooms tend to be dark because the only window opens to a narrow outside passageway. Our room had a small refrigerator and a microwave.

Having said that, the location is excellent for walking, catching a streetcar or other transportation, and felt very safe. A taxi for the four of us from Cafe DuMond was about $10 total. Our taxi to and from the airport was a flat $14 each, or $56 each way. This was cheaper than the hotel shuttles. The hotel also provides juice, coffee, yogurt, bagels, sweet rolls and other items for breakfast in the morning. The room rate of $99 per night was excellent.

So, if you are looking for elegance, the Prytania is not the place. However, bedding and towels are clean and the cost can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellalillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that the location and price were just perfect for you and your family. I must clarify though for the readers, the "narrow outside passageway" you referred to is our Courtyard style entrance. It does get a bit shadowy due to the height of the buildings and the canopy provided by the natural Bamboo that grows over the roof tops.

The courtyard pictures are on most of our marketing sites. Most guests like the unique courtyard style of our hotel vs, the big box hi rise hotel. We are modeled after a European hotel my family stayed in many years ago when we traveled to Europe.

Funny you should mention the exteriors needing a facelift. We actually started this week with the replacments of the A/C sleeves and grills you see on most PTAC wall through units. We have scheduled the millwork which is Natural Mahogony, to be sanded and re-stained over the summer when we go into our slow period. It is hard to take rooms out of service for exterior work when the rooms are always occupied. This also includes the Teak handrails all along the courtyard walkways upstairs, and the wood decking. In fact, today, a guest said how the walkway and railing system reminded him of the cruise he just go off of.

I hope we get the chance one day to show the upgrades to you.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was our first stay at Prytania Park and it will not be our last. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Yes, as other reviews have stated, the bathrooms are on the tiny side, but the vanity area was huge and there was plenty of room to spread out. Fridge and microwave are also a plus. We didn't partake of the breakfast but there was no need. Surrey's just a couple of blocks away will blow you away with their Bananas Foster French Toast. We had breakfast there every day. The best feature of all is the free parking! Seriously...parking in NOLA is very expensive and not a lot of places offer their guests free parking. Security patrolled the lot and we never once feared for our safety. The St. Charles streetcar is only one block away - you can access the entire city via streetcars and the bus. The number 11 bus can run you down Magazine for the best variety of restaurants you can imagine and the streetcar can take you right to all the action at the French Quarter. Get a day pass for $3 and you can ride all over town. The neighborhood is old but funky and artsy. We felt completely safe walking around. Anyway, the hotel is no frills but we don't come to NOLA to stay in the hotel so the price can't be beat for it's convenience and cleanliness. We will be back!

Room Tip: Be advised, I don't think this hotel is handicap accessible, so be sure to check with them before booking. Also, the sidewalks in NOLA are some of the worst I've ever seen so getting around by wheelchair may be tricky.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was the only hotel in all of New Orleans not charging exorbitant rates for the NCAA Final Four weekend (we booked six months in advance via NewOrleans.com). The location is fantastic as it is a short streetcar ride to Canal Street and the French Quarter as well as Audubon Park and the Garden District. Even better, it's a nice/easy walk if the streetcar is delayed/overloaded (as was frequently the case during the Final Four weekend). We walked to/from the Super Dome for all games in about 25 minutes. We found the area to be perfectly safe with many good restaurants nearby. We did not have a car, but there appeared to be ample parking. Breakfast was average and the room adequate. In general, the room was not worth what we paid, but relative to what other hotels were charging, this was an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed this past weekend with my granddaughter at prytania park. We loved the room with the spiral staircase and balcony. Also enjoyed the courtyard areas and tables. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. We walked to several places to eat and to the streetcar; great location for wandering.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank dryanMonroe_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hello,

My wife and I stayed at the Prytania Park Hotel the weekend before and after our cruise in January 2012. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. This is an older hotel yet very well maintained. The location is awesome and the staff will make you feel right at home. They even let us keep our suitcases in the lobby the day we checked out, and were waiting on our flight. We definitely plan on staying with them again and highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks again for a great vacation, Chris & Cindy Sparrow (Corydon,IN)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews