We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and old new Orleans feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #81 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and old new Orleans feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed this past weekend with my granddaughter at prytania park. We loved the room with the spiral staircase and balcony. Also enjoyed the courtyard areas and tables. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. We walked to several places to eat and to the streetcar; great location for wandering.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dryanMonroe_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    336
    97
    26
    53
See reviews for
179
285
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corydon, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hello,

My wife and I stayed at the Prytania Park Hotel the weekend before and after our cruise in January 2012. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. This is an older hotel yet very well maintained. The location is awesome and the staff will make you feel right at home. They even let us keep our suitcases in the lobby the day we checked out, and were waiting on our flight. We definitely plan on staying with them again and highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks again for a great vacation, Chris & Cindy Sparrow (Corydon,IN)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have not stayed on this property yet, but do have reservations for October. I have been sending emails back and forth and have received responses from a few different staff members. All have been very helpful, informative, and friendly. I am truly looking forward to our stay in NOLA and at the Prytania Park Hotel. I will give a full review upon our return.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanDomFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Boutique type hotel with character . Very clean room and only a block from the St. Charles cable car into the French Quarter. Front desk staff okay, not overtly friendly but efficient. no shampoo in the room but available at the desk for free. No dining on property except vending machines, good continental breakfast provided. Room was very clean and the bed was so comfy!!

Room Tip: might want to ask for a room not close to the continental breakfast area?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your stay and your review.

I must let the viewers know the reason we do not have dining on property, (other than the vending). We are a Limited Service Hotel that sits ½ block off St. Charles Ave. From this point, left and right of the hotel, within 4 blocks either way, you have over a dozen restaurants to choose from. Everything from Fine Dining to Burger King, so there is something for everyone, and every budget. Furthermore, most guests who come to New Orleans would rather eat at a true New Orleans restaurant, rather than a “hotel” restaurant that serves New Orleans style cuisine.

No Shampoo in the Room at Prytania Park – True, but there is a very valid reason-, WE DO PROVIDE amenities, as noted by a very visable sign at the Front Desk, in the lobby where you check in. We have Complimentary Shampoo, Mouthwash, and Hand Lotion, upon request.

Why upon request, well, as I have written before, and will write again, our room rates have not changed since early 2000’s (2002/2003). Although operating a hotel has increased a great deal, and especially after Katrina. Since we are more inline with the Budget Minded traveler, and we noted that most travelers today bring their own, and do not use products left in the room; as a cost savings to all our guests of the Prytania Park, instead of increasing our room rates to cover our increasing costs, we opted to pass along the savings by not increasing our rates as compared to other hotels in our area and very near, by not putting them in all 62 rooms on a daily basis, but have them upon requests at the Front Desk.

Thank you again for your stay, your comfy bed awaits your return to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

A great find within walking/trolley distance of the centre and also the Garden District. Very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed here for New Years 2011. This is a good value hotel for New Orleans in a relatively quiet area.
Not the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed in, and the breakfasts are basic but staff are friendly and we felt safe..
Convenient to the trolley and restaurants this hotel makes a good base to explore New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slowpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Prytania Park Hotel for 6 nights, and absolutely LOVED it. The rooms, service, and location is UNBEATABLE! The streetcar is right there, there is a beautiful park on the other side, and Magazine Street is only a short walk away. Excellent food and pubs right in the neighborhood. We walked to the Quarter many times, and up and down the length of Magazine and St Charles and felt safe both day and night. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you're looking for the average chain hotel. Also the breakfast offered is better than most. Thanks New Orleans and Prytania Park for a GREAT week!

Room Tip: we stayed in 222 it was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#110 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing