We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel!”
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #105 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

After carefully searching on tripadvisor.com the best and most affordable hotels, I came across Prytania Park. It is really affordable and really close to the streetcar, so all the attractions are within a short ride. Staff was great and friendly, room was clean, only problem was the outside lights shine in your room all night from the old top windows. That was the only drawback, I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robiemarie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
There are newer reviews for Prytania Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 797 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

Front desk was very helpful and nice. The room was just fine and fairly quiet. The hotel is just a block from the streetcar, but sort of on the edge of the Garden District. The neighborhood isn't too as charming as it would be if it were even three or four blocks away, but the price is right! If you're traveling alone, definitely take a cab at night. Free wifi, but pretty slow in the room we were in.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjt1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I have stayed here three times, for up to 11 days at a time. I love the ambience, and the service is great, very warm and personal. It's also conveniently located, right by the Garden District, just half a block from St. Charles (and from the streetcar) and very close to downtown, so it suits both business travelers and tourists. Although I prefer the contemporary rooms, the historic rooms have their own special charm, and they make you feel that you are really in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Contemporary rooms are more roomy and comfy
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvioborrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Spent a great 5 days in NOLA for Jazz Fest. Went w/ 1 friend, so finding something inexpensive, convenient, and nice was challenging. When I've gone before, I've traveled w/ several friends, which made the shared costs more reasonable. Bear in mind that the hotels ALL jack up the prices for Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest, but the Prytania is to be commended for keeping the increases reasonable. We liked having the loft for sleeping, offering more space and privacy for each of us. If more of us go in the future, the largest rooms would be terrific as well. Breakfast is simple continental, but adequate. Lots of good cafes nearby if you need something more elaborate. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Very much enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: We liked having the loft for sleeping
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

You can't expect too much for the price, but the location can't be beat for the money. Overall, a good value and we would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSUfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel is a beautiful building. Being old there were no lifts and it was hard carrying our luggage around the maze of rooms in the heat.
The room was reasonable size, clean and air conditioned. The bathroom was modern. The wifi was fast and had a strong connection.
The parking was free in an open carpark next to the hotel. While not enclosed, appeared well lit and reasonably safe.
It's a great location, on a quiet street but only a short walk to Magazine St and St Charles St. The hotel is halfway between the garden district and french quarter, The streetcar along St Charles St only costs $1.25 a ride. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runawayvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having been to New Orleans 5 times previously I consider myself qualified to talk about a great value: the Prytania Park. My husband and I stayed there for a week the end of March & beginning of April 2011. There are old rooms and newer ---ours was one of the older: very clean, with armoire in place of a closet (the building dates from 1840) and perfect for the two of us. Our rate for weekdays was $79.00 a day which included free off-the-street parking in a lot adjoining the hotel. My daughter’s family stayed in the business district and paid $48.00 daily for parking, not including tips for the employee who fetched and returned the car! The manager of our hotel, DORI SCHULMAN, is the kind of woman you would love to have as a next-door neighbor: friendly and extremely helpful but never intrusive. We enjoy bringing home (by car) food treasures and she was so helpful pointing us to a wonderful supermarket that carried Creole cream cheese (and gave us a recipe to make it ourselves)! When we loved the coffee we had in our room she offered to order some for us and had it shipped to our home! It arrived yesterday and brought back wonderful memories! (Our room had a coffee-maker, roomy fridge and microwave). What a deal! (Bear in mind this was spring break!) And we are picky.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siglisowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#118 of 165 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#76 of 165 in New Orleans
1,262 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $101 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing