We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing Special.”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but nothing Special.”
Reviewed May 2, 2007

We stayed here for the New Orleans Jazz Heritage Festival 2007.

The Pros:
The room was nice and the location is great.
There are a few courtyards that are nice.
The maid service was good, the room was clean when we arrived and they kept it that way during our stay.

The Cons:
There is a restaurant right next door that appears to be part of the property, but it is not. There is no room service. It would have been great to have breakfast in bed a time or two after several days of partying at the festival. The restaraunt next door is not even open for breakfast. So be prepared to trek out in the morning for coffee and breakfast.
They advertise coffee in the lobby til 10:00AM. That proved to not be true during our stay. Coffee was gone by 9. The thing that bothered us the most was that the staff was completely non responsive to rectifying that issue. They would send you around the corner to a local coffee shop and there you would find a line wrapped around the corner to get in. There should be coffee service at the hotel 24 hours a day or they should put coffee pots in each room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Amenities
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz1193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    875
    210
    64
    23
See reviews for
574
1,057
90
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City MI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Great! Great location, good walking distance to everything (Bourbon St and Riverwalk), yet quiet. Wonderful floor-to-ceiling doors/windowsoverlooking the street; I kept them open all night long Because we overlooked the street, we heard the clip-clopping of the occasional horse going by. Great breakfast place 1/2 block away.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank loulou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local girl from Baton Rouge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I have stayed in many hotel rooms in New Orleans and this was my least favorite experience, thus far!

The room was quaint (small) and the beds were average (at best), but it was clean - which was a plus!!!!

The service left quite a bit to be desired, though. The gentleman told me the parking would cost $5, but on the day of checkout, they charged $18/car/day...OUTRAGEOUS FOR A HOTEL GUEST!!

The hotel is only two blocks from bourbon, but it's at the wrong end - quite a long way from Pat O's, most of the good dance clubs/bars, Jackson Square, etc.

Finally, it took about 20 minutes to get our car the day of check out! It was only about 25 yards away...and not blocked in...they just neglected to help us!!

All in all, it wasn't horrible - if all the other hotels are booked solid - but I would suggest staying at Hotel Provencial as a last resort, not as a first choice!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room.
  • Disliked — location, staff, value
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MGood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed here for two days both before and after a cruise in December and we absolutely loved it. We've stayed at other hotels in NOLA both in the French Quarter and on St. Charles and prefer this one to all of them. The staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful, and the room we stayed in (a petite suite, I think it was called) was pretty large. We were terribly awed by the bathroom - it was HUGE and had an armoire and a chaise lounge in it with plenty of room left over! Very glamorous! The location is perfect if your main points of interest are in the Quarter - you can walk to just about everywhere most tourists go in the area.

  • Liked — Location. And the bathroom!
  • Disliked — The room was a bit dark
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegurl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel for 25 years--daughter was 5 on her first visit, she is now 30. It is a wonderful, quiet place to stay near everything you want to see! The staff is always polite. Help New Orleans by visiting and spending money to help rebuild! This is one of the last best places in the world and Hotel Provencial is a great part of it.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank mspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2006

What a value! We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. We stayed on a Thursday night when we passed through town pulling a Uhaul. Never did we think we'd find a place so close to it all that would have room for us to park our SUV/trailer combo. The $18 parking was a bit of a drag but our room was under $100 and within walking distance of Bourbon St. We couldn't find a room that cheap within a $30 cab ride of the French Quarter. The parking/hotel area was also locked after a certain time of evening which was comforting. In order to enter we had to show our key.

The staff was extremely friendly. Our room was clean. The courtyard/pool area was adorable. If I ever go back I won't even look for a different place to stay. If I had to come up with something negative to say my only complaint would be that the staff had trouble recommending an affordable local eatery within walking distance (unless you consider Margaritaville 'local').

  • Liked — The location, the staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jjg39069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

We booked Hotel Provincial for our party of ten. We reserved five rooms for the weekend of Dec 1. News of an impending snowstorm which likely would have canceled our weekend compelled us to rearrange our air travel to the day before our planned arrival . The Hotel Provincial was able to adjust their reservations and accomodate us with only a few hours notice.

My wife and I were charged with the responsibility of choosing the "right hotel" and were nervous about our ultimate choice. As it turned out , we were very pleased with the result. We are not hotel snobs, but have an expectation that rooms should be comfortable and clean and that the property is well cared for.
The rooms were clean, well furnished, with a good bed and shower. The common areas were beautiful and charming.
The area is quiet and safe. An easy stroll to both Bourbon St and the Fauburg Marigny (sp) area which is up and coming for good dining and music.
We were prepared for service to be compromised , but it was really quite good.

I plan to visit New Orleans again this spring and will choose Hotel Provincial for future stays.

There are no food services for breakfast on the property, but a very nice cafe is a one minute walk and it is better than having a hotel continental breakfast.

We found New Orleans to be less busy than pre-Katrina but ready to get back into gear. All it will take is for people to get back down there and visit.

I highly recommend that anyone who has desired to visit New Orleans or who has decided against it should by all means go there. It is up and running and needs your support.

  • Liked — clean, pretty, convenient, reasonably priced
  • Disliked — bathroom was small and utilitarian
  • Tips/Secrets — Coissant d'or for coffee Clover grill for late night burgers
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,815 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,615 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,283 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing