We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #19 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2005

We stayed here July of 2004 and found it to be somewhat expensive, but so was everything else in the French Quarter. The best thing about this place is that it is away from the noise of Bourbon Street, yet close to many of the things you will want to do in the French Quarter. We stayed three nights and only took our car out of parking one time. Our room off of the pool area had more charm than your typical hotel chain room, even if it was a little dark. We did have an issue one night with people swimming in the pool past midnight--the rooms off the pool are quite close to the pool, so you will hear people splashing around. And we did have the maid come by before 10am one morning when we were still in bed ... there are also bricks outside the first floor courtyard/pool rooms, so you will be able to hear the maid rolling the housekeeping cart past your door if you sleep in (and this is New Orleans, so you will be sleeping in!). Rates were cheaper Sunday through Wednesday, going up ten dollars a night after that. I thought July would be a time to get a cheaper rate (cuz it IS hot), but we still paid $149-$159, and that was booking through the hotel so we didn't get any of those bad rooms people keep talking about on this site! All in all, I would probably try another hotel next time, just so I could experience another place, but I would recommend it to others staying in the FQ, and I would be willing to stay here myself. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a more authentic feel to it. If you are going to the FQ, stay in a non-chain hotel, but make sure you have done your research.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobbi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    824
    201
    64
    22
See reviews for
528
992
83
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2005

This is now our favorite place to stay, after many visits to N.O.!! For us, practically walking out our door to the French Market, Central Grocery Store and Cafe DuMonde etc. was great - best location in the quarter - convenient, but away from the noise of the Quarter. Our room, although somewhat dark, was lovely and opened onto a small secluded courtyard. Unfortunately, Cafe Beignet was closed, but the Honfleur Bar serves great Bloody Marys to start your day! The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Terry, although the desk clerks seemed a little stiff. Can't wait to go back and hopefully have better weather so we can take advantage of the many courtyards. For Hotel Bargain Shoppers, this was a great deal !!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2005

The hotel is in the 'quiet' area of the quarter which we felt was definately a positive! All one needs to do to be in the middle of the activity is walk a block or two. The location allows you to experience the hustle bustle and ecentricities of the noisy area and then make a quick escape to the hotel or Cafe du Monde to wind down. A real positive with visitors with children!
The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques, but not so much to create a paranoid feeling with kids in the room. The courtyard was also charming and allowed for a good morning area for the early risers in the room; also, it is just a short walk to the French Market which is another good activity for the morning crew.
I will book this hotel again on my next visit!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

This is a great small hotel. The staff is exceptional, friendly, honest and helpful. The grounds and rooms are lovely. The restaurant Stella is fabulous and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kappock6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2005

This location is close to the bustle of Decatur St. and far enough away from Bourbon St. to be restful. It has a pleasant courtyard and decent-size pool. It is a reasonable value, and we were comfortable. Some AC noise and bathroom mildew (that may be ubiquitous in the Quarter).

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2005

Our stay at your hotel was very pleasant and the workers were very helpful , the airlines had lost our luggage and they were very undersanding with the sitution and asked if there was anything they could do for us and that as soon as our luggage arrived they would call our room, if we wished, and have someone bring it to our room. When we asked for directions for places they helped us and in a way that we understood them. I would recomnd this hotel anyone that wanted a hotel that is also in the center of the activities, and wanted a clean and relaxed place to stay. Thank you again for making our stay with you an enjoyable one! The Reed`s

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2005

We stayed at Hotel Provincial 5/11 - 5/15/05 and were very happy with everything. We had a group of 5 couples and everyone was completely happy with the hotel. We were given great rooms - right at the pool/courtyard. The hotel truly has a "New Orleans" atmosphere - full of character and charm, and in an absolutely Perfect Location!!! I found the staff to be friendly also. I am assuming the rooms other people have stayed in who have written the bad reviews for this hotel might be in one of the buildings behind the pool area, although they were renovating a building back there when we were there. I was in room 112, and our friends were right around us, on first or second floor, so requesting a specific room might be not be a bad idea.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,912 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,917 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing