We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located Hotel in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Provincial to your Saves list
Hotel Provincial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Centrally located Hotel in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff were all very polite, and the hotel is immaculate as far as cleanliness goes. When there was a some really hard rain there was a leak from the roof into our bathroom...I did not call it in so I did not give them a chance to redeem themselves. The vending machines are really soda only and there is no room service...even sandwiches or something would be nice to order during the day especially when it is raining. The 2 pools are great, and the courtyard is beautiful. Ask to stay in buildings 1-4 if possible...5 is just a standard hotel like building, nothing to pretty about the exterior. 2 blocks from the French Market, about 5 blocks from Frenchmen Street, 3 blocks from the trolley, 5 min walk to Bourbon... great location!

Room Tip: Ask for buildings 1-4 to be closer to the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    680
    180
    54
    18
See reviews for
414
788
64
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our recent trip to New Orleans and we were very happy with the accommodations. We were in walking distance of anything we wanted to do in the French Quarter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very traditional, quaint and clean. Our room was very clean, nice air conditioning and great showers with quality linens. We may have had a "haunted" room as our toilet would spontaneously flush when neither of us was in the bathroom. However, the plumbing seemed to be working fine. Overall, we had a very positive experience and we both agree that we will stay here again whenever we return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ara_tidefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was very nice. Our room wasn't ready when we got there but we got there a little early. They called when it was ready. Room was large and charming. It had a new remodeled bathroom. Everything was very clean. It was in the French Quarter and everything was within walking distance. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the courtyard and loved it but if someone has problems sleeping it might be the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The Provincial has a great 'old world' feel to it. It's located in the heart of the French Quarter and is in walking distance to all that the French Quarter has to offer. The pool was great and the staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked a block of rooms for a group trip. Received a discounted group rate and were booked in large rooms. Hotel has a great pool area, and ideal proximity to French Quarter. Would recommend to anyone headed there, looking for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was lovely, and in a great location for sightseeing and dining in the French Quarter. Rooms were big and clean, and everything was in walking distance.
Pool, breakfast and bar were also great.
We really enjoyed it, and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We began our honeymoon with 3 nights in this hotel, and it was a great setting to start the trip. The hotel has great kerb appeal, and walking through into the courtyard, it only really got better.

We were in one of the rooms opening into the courtyard. We had some concerns that we'd be irritated by the noise, as some visitors did choose to congregate there, and there was a large party of schoolchildren, but there was never noise late into the evening or early in the morning, so it suited us fine. I think that the bar closes early enough for it not to cause a problem and we certainly didn't notice noise after 11pm.

The room itself was enormous and very clean, with a huge and comfortable bed. The air-con and fan were quiet and effective. We used the pool which was also nice and clean.

The hotel location is great for travelling around the centre, and being in the French quarter, a great place to start exploring. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,678 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,061 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,840 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing