We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was very nice. Our room wasn't ready when we got there but we got there a little early. They called when it was ready. Room was large and charming. It had a new remodeled bathroom. Everything was very clean. It was in the French Quarter and everything was within walking distance. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the courtyard and loved it but if someone has problems sleeping it might be the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    696
    181
    56
    19
See reviews for
436
806
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The Provincial has a great 'old world' feel to it. It's located in the heart of the French Quarter and is in walking distance to all that the French Quarter has to offer. The pool was great and the staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked a block of rooms for a group trip. Received a discounted group rate and were booked in large rooms. Hotel has a great pool area, and ideal proximity to French Quarter. Would recommend to anyone headed there, looking for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was lovely, and in a great location for sightseeing and dining in the French Quarter. Rooms were big and clean, and everything was in walking distance.
Pool, breakfast and bar were also great.
We really enjoyed it, and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We began our honeymoon with 3 nights in this hotel, and it was a great setting to start the trip. The hotel has great kerb appeal, and walking through into the courtyard, it only really got better.

We were in one of the rooms opening into the courtyard. We had some concerns that we'd be irritated by the noise, as some visitors did choose to congregate there, and there was a large party of schoolchildren, but there was never noise late into the evening or early in the morning, so it suited us fine. I think that the bar closes early enough for it not to cause a problem and we certainly didn't notice noise after 11pm.

The room itself was enormous and very clean, with a huge and comfortable bed. The air-con and fan were quiet and effective. We used the pool which was also nice and clean.

The hotel location is great for travelling around the centre, and being in the French quarter, a great place to start exploring. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysville, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to NO as a group of 3 couples with each couple staying in their own room. We had room 521 which has a window entrance onto the balcony on Decatur St. The room was clean with great bedding. We loved it. Another one of the couple's stayed in rm 321 which is 2 storied and one of the most unique hotel rooms that I have ever seen. They also loved their room. The 3rd couple stayed in a room in building 2 & really liked the location close to the pool. We heard that the hotel was haunted but did not see any sign of ghosts. The location is great and the staff were all pleasant. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very pleased with many aspects of stay. Definitely recommend (and I never write recommendations).
Quaint, B&B feel. Lovely accents like small courtyards with fountains. Staff friendly and very helpful. Clean and quiet.
Excellent location: Close to all that the French Quarter has to offer (literally seconds away) but set aside just enough so that there is no noise or crowds once you enter the hotel (except possibly some jazz being played in the distance, which was really nice).
Shout out to Trudy from Housekeeping. I mentioned that I liked the shampoo in the room, and she not only provided me with information about how to get some once I returned home, but she provided me with a ton of samples. So nice!
The only word of advice I would give is that the "river view" rooms don't really have a clear view of the river even though the hotel is very close to it as there are streets and trees in the way. Not a huge deal, but I am mentioning it in case you are hoping for an unobstructed view as we were.
Bottom Line: I would definitely stay here again. Very happy with our stay. And, seriously, I never write these so that means something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,142 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,744 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,998 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing