We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quaint plus Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint plus Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

by all means do your self a favor and stay at the charming hotel. the location is superb, not as noisy, the staff (Mike and Jerome) extremely accommodating, on site parking a dream, The chest next to my bed was a real Walnut late 1800's with carved drawer pulls, the armoire 1880s mahogany . one door mirrored, So there is the Quaint of the Provincial. The TV adequate but the who is in the room in New Orleans except to sleep. Breakfast adequate enough to get you started toward the Cafe du Monde for begniets or one of the so many wonderful places to eat. Oh and did I mention Clean??? Yes. Meandering property so rooms not all in a row.

Room Tip: room away from the street. if you require quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    685
    180
    54
    18
See reviews for
419
791
65
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband, sister and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and loved it. We have been to New Orleans several times and this is the best hotel that we have stayed in so far. We had a really cute room on the second floor that faced the pool. It was a small room, but the three of us fit comfortably. The antique furniture in the rooms is a unique touch. We also really liked the updated bathroom with the granite counter top and marble shower. There is a continental breakfast that is pretty basic but it is free so I really can't complain about that! The location of the hotel is great. We walked everywhere in the French Quarter and it only took a few minutes to drive to the Garden District. Parking is expensive at $26 a night, but it was nice to have valet service in a city where finding parking is so difficult. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and faced the pool. It was private and quiet. A room facing the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoss19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a great place, and was very pretty. My kids loved the pool. Breakfast was provided, and the bar made good drinks. Housekeeping didn't do a very good job of making the beds, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We booked through their website after calling to be assured a room in their courtyard or poolside area. We did not want to placed in their several storied building located at the back of the property. We paid their asking rate instead of taking a substantially lower rate offered by hotels.com. We were willing to pay the extra if it meant getting a location where we would be comfortable. Since we were driving 15 hours to reach New Orleans I told the reservationist that we would be arriving late so that the room would not be given away. I should have saved my efforts...upon arriving at 11pm we were given a room on the 5th floor. Because we had stayed there in the past I knew the areas that we requested had only two floors...which was the reason for the request. They had ignored the request and said nothing could be done...the receptionist stated that the reservationist had not entered the information correctly. We were not able to stay..no apology given. My suggestions for future travelers is to use the discount websites when booking this hotel...and to save your breath and time by not dealing with them directly...you will only be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Provincial almost every year since 1993. Each time we show up, we see the same faces working the front desk, even the bellmen are the same and it just feels like coming home! It's typical New Orleans with its beautiful Courtyards, fountains and pools. It's clean, very quiet and has a happy atmosphere. The rooms are not like chain hotel rooms, each one is decorated a little differently, so it's always a nice surprise each time we check in to see how the room is decorated. We will continue to go back for years to come. A special thanks to David and Terry!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dluvsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

When I go to New Orleans, this is where I choose to stay. The rooms do not have a generic hotel feel. Come on, you are in New Orleans! Who wants a boring hotel room? This has a New Orleans feel to it, combined with modern conveniences. The location is perfect for tourist to walk from the hotel to many attractions. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is included with your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Our room was quaint & beautifully decorated with antiques. The bed & pillows were so comfortable that I'm going to try to order those pillows!!! We enjoyed both pools, especially since it is SOOO hot this time of year in New Orleans. They had excellent drinks at the bar, and the breakfast (including warm boiled eggs) was wonderful. Hot water took a while to warm up, however, we were upstairs & it is an old building. Overall, is was an excellent stay. I highly recommend this hotel & will stay there again. :-)

Room Tip: Next time I think I will request a room away from the driveway...late night revelers,of course it IS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,690 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,071 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,858 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing