We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent two day stay”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
“Recent two day stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is ok, but the getting there leaves a lot to be desired. They could not accommodate our
tour bus and we had to walk 3 blocks with carry on luggage to get to the hotel. There is no elevator and we (Sr.Citizens) were on the 2nd floor. Our Luggage was taken by pick up truck to the bus in pouring down rain. All our clothes were wet at the next hotel. We also had to walk back to the bus in pouring down rain. Cannot you afford a van to carry luggage and people to and from their bus. If I had known this is advance I would not have booked the tour.

Room Tip: Unless you are in great physical shape and don't care if you don't have elevator, microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    853
    207
    64
    23
See reviews for
545
1,029
88
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from spending 8 nights at the Hotel Provincial. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary so we were looking for something special. We've made many trips to New Orleans, but have never stayed on this end of the French Quarter. I poured over reviews for months before choosing this hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our room was in the main building and just off the courtyard. The room was furnished with antiques, but had an updated bathroom, flat screen TV and free wi-fi. The bed was very comfortable and the room was kept very clean. We made much use of the beautiful courtyard and also the Ice House Bar just off the hotel lobby. The daily continental breakfast was more than adequate and the staff in the breakfast area was extremely friendly. Actually, the entire staff was very accommodating. The hotel also has secure on site parking. We never had to wait more than a few minutes to get our car. The location of the hotel is great. Just a few block to the French Market, Bourbon St. and great restaurants. Also, only a few blocks from the Riverfront Streetcar line which connects you to the Canal Street line. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. It will be our first choice next time we go to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Room 102 was perfect if you like being near the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crabbysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our family goes to New Orleans twice a year and have since the '80's. That's when Hotel Provincial stole our hearts. From the service, to the rooms, to the relaxing courtyard everything is perfect and is a place we can relax and feel comfortable. Plus they have the BEST Bloody Mary ever in their Icehouse bar. Hotel Provincial is centrally located in the heart of the French Quarters so everything is within walking distance. Can't wait for our family to meet up again for another stay at Christmas this year. Always look forward to David greeting us when we pull up to the hotel. The staff is wonderful!

Room Tip: The premium rooms with French wooden doors that open to Chartres Street are beautiful. There is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is outstanding and the staff is helpful and friendly. Room was dark with only two small windows in the door. No elevators so you have to haul you luggage up a flight of stairs. Air conditioner was stuck on 58 F and nothing I did other than turning it off helped. Overall an "OK" place but overpriced considering the condition of rooms and the parking charges. Valet staff managed to scratch my brand new vehicle but of course denied it. All rooms open to courtyard or pool so do not plan on sleeping before midnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tomco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located in the heart of the French quarter, just two blocks NE ( to the right looking at a map) from Jackson Square it allows walking to everywhere in the Quarter. It retains the French ambiance with it's small but adequate pool and garden. With it's breakfast included and bar for happy hour before going to Bourbon or Frenchmans streets for music in the evening, we found the staff went out of their way to answer questions or plan excursions around the city even getting us our boarding passes for us while we used our time to enjoy life. Around the corner and a half block up is a quaint patisserie ( bakery/cafe ) that my wife said reminded her of those in France. It had both an in door eating area and a inner courtyard open to the sky. Good food including sandwiches.

The hotel is easy to find by cab from the airport - standard fare for two is $33 each way but just steps from the baggage claim and you are brought to the front door where the staff take your luggage and you are picked up there for your return. Very seamless which is appreciated once you experience the narrow streets of the French Quarter.

The only thing we missed was the usual coffee maker in rooms, standard in most hotels. Coffee is available in the lobby all night however.

Since the hotel is in sections, we recommend staying in the rooms surrounding the garden or especially the pool rather than elsewhere because of the ambiance and closeness to the front of the hotel. I expected noise at night but there was none. Rooms are small but adequate including chairs, a table, TV, dresser, closet and separate area in the bathroom for the vanity/sink with hairdryer, towels, etc..and two queen size beds in our room ( 2019 ) above the pool - no elevator in this older section.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel with a new section if you need an elevator but then you have to walk to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 684philipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Provincial is ideally located within the Vieux Carre/French Quarter of New Orleans on a relatively quiet street. Yet, it is within comfortable walking distance of most places of interest with the French Market just behind, St. Louis Cathedral just a few blocks down, and the bars on Bourbon Street a 5 minute walk away.

We are a family of four adults, and the double room we booked was clean, compact, and comfortable. The beds were perfect as the mattresses had just the right amount of firmness. Likewise, the bathroom was excellent, and beautifully decorated. Hotel Provincial also has an excellent swimming pool and patio area.

The hotel offers valet parking services for $26/day (comparable to most other long-term parking lots in this part of New Orleans). The only drawback was that the free continental breakfast was very subpar with little more than cereal, bagels, and coffee offered. However, in a city like New Orleans, great food can be found anywhere! I will definitely stay at Hotel Provincial when I return back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamirkalyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice rooms, comfort bed, reasonable price, beautiful setting. In the Middle of the French Quarter so near attractions by walking. Staff courteous and helpful. Pool is outdoors but water temp great. Historic!

Room Tip: Bottom level best in my opinion. Close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,542 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,112 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,036 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing