We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #22 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were here in March and had such a great experience, we decided to stay at the Hotel Provincial for our 30th anniversary. Again, the Hotel was great. Last time we stayed in building 5, this time building 3. The only drawback this time was there is no elevator but we made best of it. Great customer service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamM577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,631)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Provincial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,959 - 1,965 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel Provincial was exactly as expected and hoped for. Great character (our room was full of antiques), staff and location made for a wonderful stay. When I go to New Orleans, I look for this type of hotel, rather than a chain. It adds so much to the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guanaco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Hotel in a great location, but there is a bit of distance from front desk to buildings so be prepared to walk.. There was no one to help with luggage. Valet parking was generally prompt. Was in "Haunted" building 5, but no ghosts bothered me. Water wasn't always hot, room was small, and there are not any room service in the hotel. I was disappointed. Bed was very comfortable with pillow choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkloville321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

As a first timer to NOLA, this is what I was looking for,a quiet, charming, beautiful boutique hotel in the French Quarter. It is tucked back away from the noise of Bourbon Street but so convenient to walk to Jackson Square, the French Market and to stroll the streets of the quarter. Although the breakfast isn't fancy, the juice was fresh, loved the Community coffee with chicory and the bagel and cream cheese was just enough.
We stayed in room 214 in the main building, above the courtyard...very little noise and the room was fine for the two of us.
Staff were responsive to our questions and were pleasant to deal with.
I highly recommend the Hotel Provincial.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Judyenewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

the decor was perfect, the staff was beyond friendly and the in house bar was sensational. The bartender made especially good drinks and made the experience fun and unique. Every destination was easily in walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Loved it!! The rooms were great, and the bar was amazing. The location was perfect we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. It is right next to the French Market, Frenchmen Street, in walking distance of Jackson Square and right around the corner from the LaLaurie house. I had a great stay. We had drinks at the hotel bar and had amazing drinks. I called back a month later to get the ingredients to a couple of drinks and they provided the recipe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed there for the first time this past weekend and will certainly return. Perfect location in the FQ close to everything but in a quiet spot. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very nice and kept very clean. Bathroom was immaculate. Wish we would have time to sit in the bar but will save that for next trip. Restaurant Stella on the premises is to die for as is Iren's Cuisine right around the corner. Can't miss with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatchertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,967 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $127 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing