We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the french quarter”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in the french quarter”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were so happy with our room. There were 5 of us girls going for a weekend in New Orleans and had booked a room with what we thought would be just a plain jane room with 2 queen beds in it. To our surprise we opened our door to find a HUGE room. There was a living area, kitchen , HUGE bedroom and bath and an upstairs loft with another big room and bath. Gorgeous. It overlooked the small pool. We were in a perfect location. Walking distance to EVERYTHING, not alot of noise, and we felt safe the entire time. We had so much fun. Be sure to check out Norm the palm reader, eat at the old coffee pot restaurant, and the vampire tour. We had a blast. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleys3846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    866
    208
    64
    23
See reviews for
558
1,047
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had looked for a boutique hotel in the French Quarter and decided to try The Provincial. We reserved a suite. Upon arrival, we found the hotel full and they put us in a condo which adjoins the hotel. It was sparsely furnished and the door lock didn't work for half our stay. A maid had to let us out one time. The fire alarm control panel on ground floor was blinking orange and marked "inoperable". Breakfast was minimal and crowded. They do have on site parking for $25 and is handy. For the price, we were not pleased with the experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the condos which adjoin the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I'd picked the Hotel Provincial with its' positive reviews and great location as I didn't want to rent or drive a car while we were in NOLA. This is no cookie-cutter chain. The Provincial has lots of charm (in places it could do with less), bucolic courtyards, and a location you just can't beat. Our room was on the 2nd floor in back by the pool, so it was quiet, but tiny. The bathroom was just claustrophobic. I'm 5'10" and had to duck quite a bit to get my hair under the shower head. The toilet is wedged next to the tub/shower and has a door separating it from the sink/dressing area, which sounds good in theory but is REALLY claustrophobic.
Seeing a cockroach (for the first time in my life, might I add) skitter across the tiny bathroom closetlike floor didn't help matters either.
We ended up renting a deluxe room, as that was what they had available for the nights we were there. Not sure what was deluxe about this little room. Room itself is tiny, although I get what they're trying to do with the antiques. However, only having 1 chair to sit on was neither helpful or comfortable. Beds were comfy and linens were nice. There were sticky spots on the carpet by my bed, like someone had pried gum off it but left the sticky residue behind, and the bathroom smelled odd. Lock on door seemed skimpy at best and it felt unsafe with our beds being so close to the door with large shutters on the windows. (now that I think about it, it reminds me of Embassy Suites, and I don't like those doors either. Just feels unsafe.) Ceiling fan looks a bit tippy and tv in old cabinet was just sad looking.
Complimentary continental breakfast was decent (nothing hot to eat, only 1 kind of fruit) but seating is VERY limited, so be prepared to eat outside in the courtyard if the weather isn't too chilly. Pool looked nice, although it was too cold to swim.
Beyond location, the Provincial does offer awesome staff - the only one who was disappointing was the porter who actually didn't carry luggage (or even walk up to our room) but seemed to be expecting a tip anyways. Lame. They even kept our luggage for us as we spent our final hours around NOLA as our flight was early evening.
So if you want some NOLA charm and don't want to drive/rental car - the Provincial is great. But if you like a little more spaciousness in your room and hot food for breakfast, you can find a better deal somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top floor by the pool seemed quiet but had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernMNfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Awesome Place, clean, quite, the staff was wonderful, polite and helpful..
I plan to stay there on all my future trips to New Orleans.
The location is easy access to everything and I loved sitting in the courtyard, just outside our door..
My son and his girlfriend came in the second night, they got a room and loved it..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just returned from a full week's business meeting in New Orleans. Not only did all of our employees stay at Hotel Provincial but we had our customers stay there as well, all 85 of us! I've heard nothing but positive praise from all who attended. We had excellent service. The hotel is charming and quaint. We were provided with an outstanding full catered lunch each day with our own chief. The rooms were very comfortable and the accessibility of the location makes it available to EVERYTHING, all in walking distance. Business folks, if your looking for something outside of the norm- try this grand hotel for a delightful, different experience. I intend to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome!! The staff are wonderful and very helpful with directions and suggestions for good eats. The hotel bar is great(best bloody marys and hurricanes). The location is within easy access of everything. Highly reccomend! Will definitely stay again. The courtyard is beautiful too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele83MD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had two rooms, and in both cases, the air vents needed cleaning and the bathrooms needed updating. Yes, they were fairly clean but tiles were cracked, one of the sinks was cracked, and the floors were poorly done. Tips: 1) keep the fans on all of the time so the room doesn’t smell mildewy, and 2) check the travel websites to see if you can get in the Hotel Monteleone at a favorable rate—it has a world of character and is many times better. Would we come back? No, but if we had to come back, we would be quite happy. It’s a decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,692 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing