We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quaint location, location, location - quiet but a bit claustrophobic...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint location, location, location - quiet but a bit claustrophobic...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I'd picked the Hotel Provincial with its' positive reviews and great location as I didn't want to rent or drive a car while we were in NOLA. This is no cookie-cutter chain. The Provincial has lots of charm (in places it could do with less), bucolic courtyards, and a location you just can't beat. Our room was on the 2nd floor in back by the pool, so it was quiet, but tiny. The bathroom was just claustrophobic. I'm 5'10" and had to duck quite a bit to get my hair under the shower head. The toilet is wedged next to the tub/shower and has a door separating it from the sink/dressing area, which sounds good in theory but is REALLY claustrophobic.
Seeing a cockroach (for the first time in my life, might I add) skitter across the tiny bathroom closetlike floor didn't help matters either.
We ended up renting a deluxe room, as that was what they had available for the nights we were there. Not sure what was deluxe about this little room. Room itself is tiny, although I get what they're trying to do with the antiques. However, only having 1 chair to sit on was neither helpful or comfortable. Beds were comfy and linens were nice. There were sticky spots on the carpet by my bed, like someone had pried gum off it but left the sticky residue behind, and the bathroom smelled odd. Lock on door seemed skimpy at best and it felt unsafe with our beds being so close to the door with large shutters on the windows. (now that I think about it, it reminds me of Embassy Suites, and I don't like those doors either. Just feels unsafe.) Ceiling fan looks a bit tippy and tv in old cabinet was just sad looking.
Complimentary continental breakfast was decent (nothing hot to eat, only 1 kind of fruit) but seating is VERY limited, so be prepared to eat outside in the courtyard if the weather isn't too chilly. Pool looked nice, although it was too cold to swim.
Beyond location, the Provincial does offer awesome staff - the only one who was disappointing was the porter who actually didn't carry luggage (or even walk up to our room) but seemed to be expecting a tip anyways. Lame. They even kept our luggage for us as we spent our final hours around NOLA as our flight was early evening.
So if you want some NOLA charm and don't want to drive/rental car - the Provincial is great. But if you like a little more spaciousness in your room and hot food for breakfast, you can find a better deal somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top floor by the pool seemed quiet but had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernMNfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    717
    184
    58
    21
See reviews for
448
843
72
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Awesome Place, clean, quite, the staff was wonderful, polite and helpful..
I plan to stay there on all my future trips to New Orleans.
The location is easy access to everything and I loved sitting in the courtyard, just outside our door..
My son and his girlfriend came in the second night, they got a room and loved it..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just returned from a full week's business meeting in New Orleans. Not only did all of our employees stay at Hotel Provincial but we had our customers stay there as well, all 85 of us! I've heard nothing but positive praise from all who attended. We had excellent service. The hotel is charming and quaint. We were provided with an outstanding full catered lunch each day with our own chief. The rooms were very comfortable and the accessibility of the location makes it available to EVERYTHING, all in walking distance. Business folks, if your looking for something outside of the norm- try this grand hotel for a delightful, different experience. I intend to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome!! The staff are wonderful and very helpful with directions and suggestions for good eats. The hotel bar is great(best bloody marys and hurricanes). The location is within easy access of everything. Highly reccomend! Will definitely stay again. The courtyard is beautiful too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele83MD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had two rooms, and in both cases, the air vents needed cleaning and the bathrooms needed updating. Yes, they were fairly clean but tiles were cracked, one of the sinks was cracked, and the floors were poorly done. Tips: 1) keep the fans on all of the time so the room doesn’t smell mildewy, and 2) check the travel websites to see if you can get in the Hotel Monteleone at a favorable rate—it has a world of character and is many times better. Would we come back? No, but if we had to come back, we would be quite happy. It’s a decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent location in French Quarter, friendly & helpful staff. It's within walking distance to everywhere since it's smack in the Quarter. Room is a bit dated but clean. Note that there's no coffee maker or small fridge in the room. Free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the courtyard to avoid noise along Chartres in the middle of the night or wee ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Provincial for many years on our trips to New Orleans once or twice a year. We were there two weeks ago during Mardi Gras.
As usual, the staff were extremely cordial and helpful, and our room was very nice. The location of the hotel could not be better, within easy walks to anywhere in the French Quarter.
When you stay at the charming Provincial, you know you are in New Orleans!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are away from pool in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byrdrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,228 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,141 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,141 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing