We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good place to stay while visiting the French Quarter.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good place to stay while visiting the French Quarter.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a classic French Quarter hotel. We stayed two nights and slept well for being in the heart of New Orleans. Everything is within walking distance if you are in fairly good shape. The staff was friendly and the pool was a treat. Don't go to the "5 star" restaurant next door. The breakfast was nothing fancy but was there if you woke up hungry. We went to the diner down the street. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    799
    195
    63
    22
See reviews for
505
938
80
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed with a group last year for Jazzfest and have booked again this year and can't wait. It's a charming hotel in the residential end of the quarter. It's close to Frenchman Street, French Market and Esplanade Avenue and a 30 minute walk to Jazzfest. The carriage way entrance leads you into a delightful little courtyard with the rooms surrounding it. Very New Orleans. Margie the Director of Sales is more than helpful and Dewy in Ice House Bar makes a the best pre-dinner drinks (I hope he's still there).

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard and great, although I have heard favourable feedback about other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MezRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in this hotel, and really liked it. We were in the main building, just across from the pool. The room was neat and clean, with antique looking furniture. The front desk staff and bellman were all very helpful. I loved the convenient location. We didn't eat breakfast there, so I can't comment that. I did have a drink in the lobby bar. I had a hurricane which the bartender made using fresh juices, rather than the powdered mix that everyone else seems to use. The drink was well made and the bartender was very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drb1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dauphin island al
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our friends and us had great room. The lovely courtyard was a great place to get together and visit. The hotel staff was most helpful and courteous. I think this hotel is also in a good location in the quarter. You can walk anywhere. We would definately go back there anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccockrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved this old hotel, where one walk to lots of different places, or take a trolley or other methods of travel. Very handy, friendly, clean, and, in our case, very reasonable. We would stay here again :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room away from the pool areas, which may have been quieter. But, even on the street s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCardinal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the French Quarter. You won't need a car, just a good pair of walking shoes. The rooms are small, but who stays in a room in New Orleans. There is a nice small pool and a very nice resturant too.

Room Tip: Try to get room near the pool as you can walk out your door and jump right in, or in the back by par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here because it is listed as one of the haunted hotels in NOLA. They even put us in building # 5. Had a wonderful time here. Clean, nicely decorated, wonderful breakfast & great staff! Would love to stay here again if I ever return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,762 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#11 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,115 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing