We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first visit to New Orleans and this hotel is the perfect location for the tourist visitor. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful.

We stayed in the suite room 550. Although this was spacious it was quite dark as it only had 2 small windows.

The breakfast is ok but tables are are limited so you may have to wait if it is busy.

If I returned to New Orleans I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pfcmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,632)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Provincial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,113 - 2,119 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The absolute best thing about this hotel is the location. The walking distance to everything from there is very reasonable. There are great restaurants withing 3-5 minutes of walking. I wish we would have been in the main building, we were in building 5 and I would avoid it if you can. You have to walk across the dark parking lot to get to it, the elevator made us uneasy and the rooms are plain. The breakfast was nice and most of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that there was a grocery bag with incredibly undergarments and socks in the bathroom from the previous guest. The main courtyard is gorgeous and was a lovely place to eat breakfast in the morning. The parking is also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Avoid building 5
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was prepared to be charmed by the Hotel Provincial, given the excellent experiences others seem to have had. I was underwhelmed. The lobby and the courtyard behind the lobby have all the promised Old World-y charm, but after that the experience seems to depend heavily on where in the hotel your room is.

The hotel is made up of several different buildings, and while the main entrance is on quiet Chartres Street, other buildings back up to louder locations. Our room overlooked the far more raucous Decatur Street, which was an issue since I chose the hotel because of its quieter location. I also suspect the quality of the room depends on the building - we were in Building Five, at the back of the property. The public areas were awfully run-down, giving the place a general feeling of dinginess. The room was clean enough, but the furnishings were dated (not "antique," just dated, with a big box tv, uncomfortable bed, worn and ugly linens, and cheap 80s furniture) and the whole place felt rather sad. The bathroom, however, has clearly been updated recently and was quite nice. Not sure why they didn't slap a fresh coat of paint and some new linens on the rest of the room while they were at it. If we had stayed in one of the other buildings, perhaps our experience would have been different.

The service was also mixed - one or two people were quite nice, but most of the people working there seemed exhausted, simply repeating the same spiel in a monotone. The effect was pretty impersonal and - except for one valet who seemed anxious to help - the sense was they hoped you didn't actually ask them for anything. Despite the fact that our building was basically a block away from the lobby and it was dark, the bellhop basically stepped outside the lobby door to wave vaguely at where we needed to go and then left us to fend for ourselves with our bags in the dark. As for location, in some ways you can't beat it if the French Quarter is what you want; it's walking distance to most everything a tourist wants to see in New Orleans, yet not right on Bourbon. (But as noted at least one building is actually on Decatur.) We didn't partake of the breakfast, though the breakfast room looked inviting. The fare seemed to be the typical hotel breakfast stuff.

So I didn't find the Hotel Provincial particularly charming or old-world-ish. For the price I think other hotels in the area offer more charm (or, barring actual charm, at least a less dingy atmosphere). The location is good, the service is adequate, the lobby and some other public areas are quite attractive, and the bathroom was nice, but the rest of it (and particularly the furnishings in the actual room) left me feeling the hotel was at best average.

Room Tip: Avoid Building Five if you want a quiet room. It looked like the rooms closest to the lobby were pro...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The price was certainly right for this quaint, awesome, old looking hotel in a great location right on the edge of the French Quarter. The furniture in the room was definitely antique looking, which was cool, but there were literally 6 tables and no chairs! Also, the old, tall windows and shutters were lovely, but did not keep out the cold or wind very well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, charming hotel in a great location in the French Quarter. Walking distance to all the sights. Good breakfast. Comfortable, spacious room. Can't go wrong with this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This old French Quarter hotel takes you back in time. Tucked away on Chartres Street this rambling hotel has many buildings with quiet courtyard areas. Our room was spacious with an exposed brick wall, fireplace, antique furniture but updated bath. You are a block away from the French Market on Decatur and around the corner from our favorite breakfast place, Croissant D'Or.

Room Tip: Get one in the 400's
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Etta707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice old hotel. The old world feel was spectacular. Only a few blocks from Decatur st and bourbon st. It's a quick walk to the best spots in the French quarter. The only problem I had was a yelling neibor at 5 am.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,971 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,418 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $126 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing