We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great price for the location, quaint hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great price for the location, quaint hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The price was certainly right for this quaint, awesome, old looking hotel in a great location right on the edge of the French Quarter. The furniture in the room was definitely antique looking, which was cool, but there were literally 6 tables and no chairs! Also, the old, tall windows and shutters were lovely, but did not keep out the cold or wind very well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddoggy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    717
    184
    59
    21
See reviews for
449
844
73
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, charming hotel in a great location in the French Quarter. Walking distance to all the sights. Good breakfast. Comfortable, spacious room. Can't go wrong with this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This old French Quarter hotel takes you back in time. Tucked away on Chartres Street this rambling hotel has many buildings with quiet courtyard areas. Our room was spacious with an exposed brick wall, fireplace, antique furniture but updated bath. You are a block away from the French Market on Decatur and around the corner from our favorite breakfast place, Croissant D'Or.

Room Tip: Get one in the 400's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etta707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice old hotel. The old world feel was spectacular. Only a few blocks from Decatur st and bourbon st. It's a quick walk to the best spots in the French quarter. The only problem I had was a yelling neibor at 5 am.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

In a seven week span we stayed at this wonderful hotel 2 times. What a great place, clean, close to everything, the most helpful staff we have encountered any were. Beautiful courtyard, great little bar, awesome bloody mary's. We stayed here several years ago,and forgot what a great place this is. We have found our favorite hotel in the Quarter and will continue to stay there.

Room Tip: This trip we were in Room 310, last time it was Room535, both very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Very charming hotel. Great location - we walked all over and when we got tired easily got a pedi-cab or taxi. Breakfast is about what you would expect - good enough to give you some energy to start your day, and food being what it is in NOLA we were generally still full from the night before! Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that I felt their front desk staff could have been more knowledgeable about the area. I would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank framgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located one block from the French Market in the French Quarter The Hotel Provincial is a great spot from which to explore New Orleans. The staff was very well informed and helpful. The room had an authentic old world charm that we really enjoyed. Some might comment that the room was small or that the bathroom was outdated but everything was clean and tidy. The huge antique bed and furnishings were just what we were looking for. If you want a Holiday Inn go elsewhere. The complimentary continental breakfast was done well. Off street valet parking was provided in a secure on site location for a fee. I would readily stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,240 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,170 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,160 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing