We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for the location, quaint hotel”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great price for the location, quaint hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The price was certainly right for this quaint, awesome, old looking hotel in a great location right on the edge of the French Quarter. The furniture in the room was definitely antique looking, which was cool, but there were literally 6 tables and no chairs! Also, the old, tall windows and shutters were lovely, but did not keep out the cold or wind very well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    866
    208
    64
    23
See reviews for
560
1,049
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, charming hotel in a great location in the French Quarter. Walking distance to all the sights. Good breakfast. Comfortable, spacious room. Can't go wrong with this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This old French Quarter hotel takes you back in time. Tucked away on Chartres Street this rambling hotel has many buildings with quiet courtyard areas. Our room was spacious with an exposed brick wall, fireplace, antique furniture but updated bath. You are a block away from the French Market on Decatur and around the corner from our favorite breakfast place, Croissant D'Or.

Room Tip: Get one in the 400's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etta707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice old hotel. The old world feel was spectacular. Only a few blocks from Decatur st and bourbon st. It's a quick walk to the best spots in the French quarter. The only problem I had was a yelling neibor at 5 am.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

In a seven week span we stayed at this wonderful hotel 2 times. What a great place, clean, close to everything, the most helpful staff we have encountered any were. Beautiful courtyard, great little bar, awesome bloody mary's. We stayed here several years ago,and forgot what a great place this is. We have found our favorite hotel in the Quarter and will continue to stay there.

Room Tip: This trip we were in Room 310, last time it was Room535, both very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Very charming hotel. Great location - we walked all over and when we got tired easily got a pedi-cab or taxi. Breakfast is about what you would expect - good enough to give you some energy to start your day, and food being what it is in NOLA we were generally still full from the night before! Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that I felt their front desk staff could have been more knowledgeable about the area. I would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank framgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located one block from the French Market in the French Quarter The Hotel Provincial is a great spot from which to explore New Orleans. The staff was very well informed and helpful. The room had an authentic old world charm that we really enjoyed. Some might comment that the room was small or that the bathroom was outdated but everything was clean and tidy. The huge antique bed and furnishings were just what we were looking for. If you want a Holiday Inn go elsewhere. The complimentary continental breakfast was done well. Off street valet parking was provided in a secure on site location for a fee. I would readily stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,706 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,108 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing