We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, no frills”
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Weatogue, CT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good value, no frills”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Two blocks from Bourbon Street one way and Jackson Square the other way. No frills (no mini-fridge or safe in the room), but comfortable with great views, a lovely courtyard and pool (although it wasn't cleaned when we were there even though the front desk staff assured us that they are a.r. about it, but it was off-season, so...) and an exceptional restaurant (Stella!) right on the premises. Two ghost tours greeted us upon arrival as we came to find out it's the most haunted hotel in the country. Had no problems, though. :O) Definitely a good value.

Room Tip: I personally wouldn't stay in the haunted part, which is behind Stella's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    866
    208
    64
    23
See reviews for
558
1,048
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have visited New Orleans at least 10 times the last 30 years. Have stayed at several of the distinctive small hotels in the French Quarter which make a trip to NO a special experience. Stay in one of the new major chain hotels if you want a cookie-cutter experience. If you want something special, stay in the Quarter. If you want the best of what I think the Quarter has to offer, stay at Provincial. A major plus is that the Provincial is totally non-smoking.

As of October 2012 all the rooms have been totally refurbished with new beautiful heavy-lined draperies, carpeting, mattresses, bedding, etc. No stale smoke smell anywhere.

The Provincial offers many different types of rooms in its 5 separate buildings which provide a wide variety of rooms. If you don't like the first one, ask to see another. The major difference will be in views, courtyard vs. balcony.

The 5 buildings surround a common parking lot. As already mentioned in another review, one would hope they could do something to "soften" the look. But it's very convenient for those of you with cars.

Exceptionally nice staff willing to assist with anything. Loved the Bar, especially that it is non-smoking - so hard to find in NO.

The Continental Breakfast is standard fare for NO. If you want something special, head right over to Cafe du Monde, less than a 5 min. walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytogo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One definitely understands that this historic hotel is located in the old French Quarter, by its decor, the age of the buildings, and the ambiance of the staff. Guests are immersed in the sensation of being in New Orleans with a courtyard and pool on the ground level, which is groomed every day. Orange trees and tropical plants impart a lush feeling to the night air, where wrought iron chairs aznd tables are availble for all the guests.

Our room was comfortable and the mattresses were firm, and even thought the city had a mini water crisiis while we were there, we did not experience any inconvenience directly, other than brushing our teeth with complimentary bottled water.

Breakfast suited all of our tastes, but be warned that the coffee tastes like chicory, a New Orleans specialty. The bar tender was especially helpful in recommending local restaurants to which our group of 11 could walk. Each night was capped off by a visit to Bourbon Street . What a great place to visit for a family reunion.

Room Tip: We hit great weather so there was no need for AC. The mattresses we had were great, but others in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having left from Atlanta, through Nashville, Memphis, and Natchez, we finally arrived at the Provincial Hotel in the French Quarter of New Orleans. The hotel is nicely situated in the heart of everything whilst being far enough away to give some peace and quiet if required. Royal Street and Bourbon Street are literally minutes away. Our room was on the balcony level overlooking the the garden and fountain in the centre. Once again the bed was big and comfortable and the room itself was large enough with a long window that opened onto the street. My wife used the swimming pool which was big enough to actually swim in. The staff were helpful and we arranged a tour of New Orleans from the reception. New Orleans itself......wow, if you thought Nashville had it all, then come here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great little gem in the centre of the French Quarter, walking distance to almost everywhere, away from the street noises etc. The 2 pools are a real bonus especially after a day of sightseeing....... Although the rooms show their age a bit, they are adequate, clean, comfortable and well serviced! Some of the "antique" furniture are......well antique and therefore a bit old and rickety but in my eyes that adds to the charm of the hotel. Well appointed bathrooms. Good size TV & free Wi-Fi too.
Most rooms are situated around 2 verandas overlooking the most delightful courtyard garden with a lovely fountain (great place for cocktails) or the swimming pool. That could be a problem if you have noisy, inconsiderate guests speaking loudly early morning or late at night (smoking area....)!!!! They are also slightly on the dark side(our was, as we didn't have an outside window but only French doors, partly glassed, onto the veranda and if you need your privacy the only way is to pull shutters down :-(( ). Breakfast on the other hand was a real disappointment, basic and self service with cold coffee, greasy muffins, but it allowed us to discover Cafe Du Monde (great beignets 24h a day) and Stanley's (Eggs Benedict a must) down the road. Didn't not think much of the reception staff although helpful, polite and efficient but not the most enthusiastic and forthcoming!!!. Sadly we didn't eat at their restaurant Stella either as it seemed a bit empty, formal and quite pricey.... but went to a few with "Nola" (walking distance) standing out as an amazing place to sample Louisiana's best!!!
Plenty of parking if needed although I wished the parking lot was better "hidden" from the pool area and the passage leading up to the other smaller pool better appointed. The management should consider how to improve this as they really need to shield the "not so nice view" on to the parking area.
I also understand they are redecorating/updating their rooms whenever the hotel occupation allows it!
Overall The Provincial is an old charming place to stay, nicely situated, with lots of charm, lovely amenities and reasonably priced!

Room Tip: I would not recommend rooms on the ground floor and if you are to be in your room during the day, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. The location was perfect. Close to Jackson Square, short walking distance to Bourban St and walking distance to Frenchman St. It was not your cookie cutter, square box hotel. It had character and many of the rooms were different sizes and decoration. We stayed on the 4th floor of the 500 building(which is rumored to be haunted-no sightings). The room was small but adequate. It looked like it was recently remodeled. The bathroom was very nice. Housekeeping did a great job. I did notice some noise out our window a couple of mornings but I just put in earplugs. Overall pretty quiet. The beds were comfortable with nice linens. No hot water issues.
The continental breakfast was good and just that, although they did have hardboiled eggs. The danish were fresh and delicious. They also had bagels, toast and cold cereal.
The staff were all nice and helpful with any questions. We enjoyed the hotel and would diffinately return. It was not perfect but it had the flavor of New Orleans.

Room Tip: Many different rooms and styles. Read the reviews to decide what you want or take potluck we did and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaofKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here on numerous occasions with mostly satisfactory results. The location can't be beat, and the property is just the right mix of New Orleans funky and modern convenience. But I am sitting in my room right off the courtyard listening to loud conversations three feet from my doorstep. It started just after 7 this morning and has been a constant every moment I have been in my room today. I asked to move but the hotel is sold out and management doesn't see the problem with tables right outside peoples' rooms. I will probably not stay here again, or if I do, I will insist at booking time for a room away from the party spot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank amymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,698 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,102 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing