We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Provincial
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$178
$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$303
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,899)
Filter reviews
2,899 results
Traveler rating
1,622
953
227
71
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,622
953
227
71
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench marketjackson squarestayed in buildinggreat locationbourbon streetdecatur stcontinental breakfastcharming hotelmain buildingcafe dubeautiful courtyardquiet streetwithin walking distancefew blocksfrench quarter hotelhotel barvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
2,406 - 2,411 of 2,899 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Everything is charming in a older hotel that has been spiffed up. The staff is very helpful in advising where to go and how to get there. We went with nothing booked, and no research on things to do. They can book tours for you. The courtyard is pleasant to read the paper in the mornings with their continental breakfast, which is adequate, nothing more. Good start to the day. The pool isn't heated, at least it wasn't when we were there and was a bit chilli.
I left an article in a cab they called for me, and they called the cab and got the article back to me. Above and beyound the usual service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are just back from our four day stay at the Hotel Provincial--the last leg of our honeymoon, after a cruise. We thought the hotel was lovely--a peaceful refuge after a day of walking and sightseeing. We stayed in 111, which is on the first floor, poolside, in the main building. The room was quite large--bigger than you'd expect--with a variety of antique furniture (table and chairs, desk, dresser) and two closets! The bathroom was also large and spacious. Decor was in soothing shades of beige and cream and white--very nice. A simple continental breakfast is served in the Ice House Bar in the morning--hard boiled eggs, bagels/rolls, yogurt, coffee/juice, etc. It was perfect for us, because creole food is rich and complex, and it was nice to start out the day on a lighter note. We came back to the bar for happy hour--Etienne the bartender makes a fabulous Hurricane (almost no relation to the syrupy stuff served down the street) and is a great conversationalist. We loved coming back each afternoon to wind down--the cocktail, a nap, a shower--and then back out for some dinner and music. Frenchman street is just a few blocks away. Front desk staff were continuously helpful and friendly.

A couple of things: I wondered about the noise level, since we were poolside and the double doors to our room were not soundproof. Ninety-nine percent of the time it wasn't an issue--others seemed to find the locale soothing as well, and it was very quiet. Two days, some children swam in the pool late-afternoon (too cold for us!), and so there was some noise then, but only briefly.

I did notice some variation in the water temperature. Not sure what that was about, but it was annoying. It seemed better if I was the second shower rather than the first?

Toiletries: It's not that they aren't good quality (Gilchrist and Soames, which I like), but rather that they've chosen to provide a limited selection.

No ghosts for us (husband was hoping...)

Overall, we would come back in a heartbeat, and probably will. Despite my attempts to describe it, there's something intangible about this hotel that made it a truly lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Located in a quiet part of the quarter, this family-friendly hotel was perfect for my three- generation party. Our room was a little dark, but located right off a courtyard, it was serviceable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was the only downside. I've had much better at the average chain hotel. It felt a little pricey, but overall it was clean, charming, and satisfying. I'd stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Synchro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose to stay at Hotel Provincial for a family reunion in New Orleans. We wanted a centrally located hotel in the French Quarter. We also wanted a reasonably priced place. We found it all in the Provincial. It's on a quiet street a few blocks from Bourbon Street, and closer to the waterfront. It's right between Bourbon and Frenchman Street (the favorite of locals for music) - and close to Brad and Angelina's place. It's an old fashioned hotel that serves an adequate continental breakfast in the AM. There is a nice pool and central courtyard that is beautiful and welcoming. Gas lighting; rooms with crown molding; comfy beds and helpful front desk staff. WE had 11 family members from 24 to 70 years of age, and all agreed that this was a great place to stay. One of the best restaurants we happened upon is Irene's, literally a one minute walk to the corner.

Room Tip: We would have paid $159. for a room with a queen on a Sunday night, and $149. for weekday, but got them for less with a Travelocity airfare/hotel room package. We would definitely return.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LevtyVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Provincial for the last night of our trip to New Orleans. It's two blocks from Bourbon Street, so close enough to everything to be convenient, but far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet. The hotel is old and beautiful, kept in very good condition. Our room was very nice and clean, with well appointed furnishings. The staff were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We plan on staying there again on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browncoat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews