We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #18 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was a wonderful little hotel. Helpful and friendly staff, clean, comfortable and charming room, charming courtyard and pool area. Decent complimentary breakfast, use of a computer and so close to everything in the French Quarter without being too close to the noise of Bourbon Street. I would definitely stay at this classy yet affordable place if I ever get a chance to go back to NOLA.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calder_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    816
    200
    63
    22
See reviews for
519
973
82
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Provincial at the beginning of Mardi Gras.. In its advertising it said it does not have an elevator. The Bell Staff carries your luggage up there for you. We were a few blocks from the Trolley which took you anywhere in New Orleans. The Staff was great and our room was very clean. The decor was everything we expected. Its in the French Quarter and we were comfortable with the price and the accommodations. Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plasticman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel because the price was right and it was located within walking distance to a lot of things to do in the French Quarter. We wanted to stay someplace that reflected some of the history of the area. We were not disappointed. There are several buildings and we were put in building 5. Our room was comfortable and just what we needed. The bathroom was clean and had no problems. There was breakfast provided daily: Toast, bagels, fruit, coffee, juice. It wasn't elablorate but was definitely enough to get our day started. But, the best part of our stay was the staff. They were always very helpful while checking in/out, making a rental car reservations, and for recommendations and directions. We definitely felt that we got our money's worth for the price of our stay. I would stay there again if I travel to New Orleans in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Yes, this place is cute. It's in a really good location. It's got a nice little courtyard and a couple of swimming pools. The room had fancy canopied beds and interesting antique art work. However, the bathroom was total rubbish. So small, you had to climb over the toilet to get the door closed. Moldy and dingy. It was like a 1950's motor court motel's bathroom. I consider this unacceptable in a hotel. Second to a clean, comfortable bed - I need a clean, comfortable bathroom. Especially at this price. Also, the staff was kinda friendly, but maybe a bit more on the abrupt side than really felt welcoming. The next time I visited New Orleans, I stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxanne9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Staff very helpful. The rooms are very dated andtired Bathrooms are cramped and worn out!!!
This place needs an extreme make over. Not worth the rates they are charging.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karawebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations! The room was spacious and newly updated, the courtyards and pool are lovely, and the included breakfast was quite good. Staff were pleasant. The location is perfect ... walking distance to all the attractions in the French Quarter, but on a relatively quiet street. The maid service was a bit hit and miss, but nothing egregious. The restaurant (Stella!) was the best food we had in New Orleans, and we went to all the staples (Antoine's, etc). Fun fact - Hotel Provincial was on the "haunted history" tour we took, as it used to be a Civil War hospital.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is in an amazing location - 2 blocks from the Mississippi, Jackson Square and Royal Street. It's right in the heart of the French Quarter and walking distance from museums. It is a little pricey, especially around holidays - I didn't think the room was worth $269 for New Year's. The beds in the room were nice but the bathroom was terrible - the shower alternated between freezing and scalding hot and the shower head was only 3 feet tall. If the bathroom was renovated the room would have been perfect.

A little warning - if you are a light sleeper people can get loud in the courtyard area which is open until 11pm.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,897 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,079 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing