We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unusual Value - Great Location Too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Provincial
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Imperial, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusual Value - Great Location Too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed for 5 days this week on a spur-of-the-moment trip. I’ve stayed at a number of hotels in NO over the years in and out of the Quarter, with mixed and sometimes disastrous results. This was definitely a pleasant find. It’s a larger hotel with multiple buildings. Stayed in room 521 which shared a large balcony with 3 other rooms overlooking a small park that had blues bands each evening. This particular room was pretty large for the Quarter. Bed was a little soft by my standards but not worn. Curtains have seen better days. A little traffic noise in the mornings but no drunk revelers at night. The staff was pleasant and accommodating without fail. Can’t really add anything more, there really wasn’t anything at all to complain about. Ok, parking was $23/night but try to beat that in the Quarter (parking is on-site so you can get to your car if you have a fob). The balcony really made the room (like a lot of historic buildings there you’ll need to go through a ceiling height window). If you’re given a choice, ask for one of those balcony rooms in building #5. And if it means anything, this is the first time I’ve gone through the trouble to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I’d recommend it that much. Oh yeah – they’ll show you the pool behind the office but there’s another hidden pool behind the restaurant if you want privacy.

Room Tip: Ask for one of those balcony rooms in building #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    799
    195
    63
    22
See reviews for
506
938
80
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel is a European-style hotel, so the rooms are small but very comfortable. There are several buildings, with one that used to be a Civil War hospital, and shady little courtyards around, as well as a pool. There is a continental breakfast, and the manager personally went out to buy milk for my coffee (there is creamer there, but I only use milk). He was charming and so kind - making sure that I had a wonderful start to the day. The office staff were knowledgeable about local history and things to see and do. The valet parking service worked very well. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth98333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
633 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 987 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel looks great... full of character and a collection of sympathetically restored historic buildings. Thank goodness for the French and us Europeans who left behind some lovely cities and areas for you guys to enjoy!....( Savannah. Charleston, Nakatosh, etc.)

The hotel is right in the French Quarter and a mere short walk from all you want. It is also far enough away from awful Bourbon Street. The street is far too sleazy and down market for us. I have no idea how such a beautiful area has been allowed to degenerate into what it is today...a downmarket, sleaze dump with drunks everywhere. We loved the Frenchman's Street and area not too far away. Much more classy and tasty.

The hotel is large and so your room could be any of the buildings. Ours was by reception on the ground floor with a wonderful patio and one of the pools right outside. So far so good. What was not good was the concrete hammer drill that was pounding concrete right directly above our heads! This started at 08.00. This should of course have been told to us when we arrived...why didn't they? Inexcusable and unprofessional.

I had this out with a woman on reception who was less than cooperative. I don't think she actually saw the problem It was me who had to say I will not pay full price for this dreadful inconvenience and invasion. She offered to reduce for one night yet we were staying for two! Incredible. Here is the guest having to argue for what should have been offered straight off. Anyway she grudgingly relented and a kind of peace returned. But this was unsavoury and should never have occurred. As the guest I felt a little battered.

Our bedroom was clean, comfortable and charming, with quality furnishings. Very European! The bathroom was spotless and fine.

Breakfast was a total non event. The meagre offerings consisted of muffins, orange juice, coffee and tea of sorts. Yes....that was it! The hotel would be advised to skip such a "breakfast" rather than claim this is breakfast. The excuse offered that the dining room was been renovated was no excuse whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2011. Hotel was beautiful and staff were so helpful and friendly. Located right in heart of French Quarter so you could walk everywhere from the hotel if you wanted to. Room was spacious and spotless. Beautiful courtyard in middle of the hotel with a great pool. We used the Valet Parking service which is the only parking available at this hotel. Its costs about $23 per day but was well worth it for the knowledge that the car was safe and you could take it out as many times as necessary. There are safety deposit boxes available at reception which was really useful. Felt safe and secure within the hotel compound. Breakfast was coffee, orange juice, bagels, toast, fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs, muffins and pastries and was restocked regularly throughout the breakfast period. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay here and if I went back to New Orleans I would stay here again. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: If you staying over a busy period you may want to ask for a room not overlooking the main street due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sh432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great location, great service. Tip: get a room at the back of the property if possible. We had a room right above the office on Chartres and it was really noisy. A room on Decatur with a balcony would be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wkdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, GA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is tucked inside the French Quarter - only one block from Decatur St. and two blocks from Bourbon! Great location, great staff, great room!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emalday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed here twice while visiting N.O. You can't beat the location, lovely courtyard with pool, and friendly staff. The rooms are very clean. We stayed in a room overlooking Rue Chartres and while a bit noisy with street traffic, it was a lovely space for the price. Would recommend it while visiting N.O., we try and stay here as much as we can!

Room Tip: Room facing Rue Chartres-nice space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#11 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,894 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Property: Hotel Provincial
Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing