We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel New Orleans”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #20 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans on St. Louis Street. It is in a great location for walking the Quarter. Everyone who worked in the hotel was fantastic--friendly, helpful, and nice as could be. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Har45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,483 - 4,489 of 4,999 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

We booked a king room with a balcony overlooking Royal Street. We ended up on the fourth floor and it was fabulous. Jazz street performers during the day played while we listened from above, and enjoyed a glass of wine. The room was clean and you really can't beat the view. We joined the priority member club prior to arrival, which will get you two complimentary drinks in the morning and reduced rates on some breakfast items. You will also get a turndown service and a newspaper, so I recommend joining - its free. The first morning, they were a half hour late with our coffee, but got it right the next two days. Staff was helpful and really no complaints... besides a man singing "Amazing Grace" on the corner of Royal and St Louis street from 12:30 - 2 AM over and over and over..... but hey.... This IS New Orleans, so you have to roll with it and expect the unexpected!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acemarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Very nice hotel in a great location. Rooms are very small but elegant. Shower is great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We spent 3 nights / 4 days at the Omni Royal Orleans. The locations is perfect...right in the middle of the French Quarter, and just steps away from Bourbon St. Our room was located on the 6th floor and over looked St. Louis Street. The interior of the hotel is beautiful, with lovely 360 degree views of the French Quarter from the roof. Despite being a member of their Omni Select our room was tiny...barely enough space for the queen sized bed. Regardless of size, the room was comfortable and clean. One thing I did have a problem with was the noise!! Not noise from the street below, but noise coming from the hallway! You can pretty much hear every door open and close...every knock, every person walking past your room door. I think because of the small room size they are not far enough removed from the hallway...thus the increase in noise! One other thing that disrupted our experience was on the early morning hours of Saturday, Oct. 9th (@ around 1:30am) the fire alarm went off not once, but several times during the next few hours!! The entire 7th & 6th floors had to evacuate, and the hotel staff handled the situation poorly. It's a shame really because the hotel is lovely, and in a perfect location but I may think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWanderingPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Greetings and thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Our hotel is preparing for a complete room renovation which will address most of the issues that you mentioned - it sounds as if you reserved a Petite Queen room which is certainly the most affordable, but by far the tiniest. There is nothing that we can say regarding the fire alarm issue except that we sincerely apologize. There was a malfunction with the system that night and it is not something that typically happens here. We hope to see you again on your next visit the big easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband used to stay at the Omni all of the time years ago and highly recommended it. I must say that he was right! Check in was super fast and easy, service was great, the room was very comfortable with perfect temperature control, comfy bedding, and great black out curtains (a must in New Orleans after late nights)! It has a small, but relaxing pool on the roof with a great view. My only complaint is that poolside, the lunch menu is very limited, and frankly, the drinks were not that good. But, the location of the hotel cannot be beat--close enough to Bourbon St. and all of the action, but just far enough away that you are not caught up in all of the craziness that can be NOLA. And keep checking the website for good packages and rates!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couponmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary. While the staff was very nice (sending up a complimentary bottle of champagne), we found our room to be very small. For the price of the room, we expected a much bigger room. The hotel is very pretty and located in a good area.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans for a weekend celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a balcony room on Royal Street. What a fabulous experience!!!! The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The balcony room was a true New Orleans experience...a great way to hear the street musicians, people watch and just drink in all the local flavor. The rooftop pool and lounge is gorgeous...a must do. The hotel is walking distance to most everything and the neighborhood is lively but elegant. We would definitely stay here again and we will definitely be returning to New Orleans!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blanche&milver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,811 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,346 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $183 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing