We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in the French Quarters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in the French Quarters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed here for the first time this September over Labor Day weekend and will be coming back. Great staff and service and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highwaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,753
    1,122
    287
    93
    58
See reviews for
643
2,020
151
666
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

my wife and i always wanted to visit n.o., we have family there so we decided to visit my wifes aunt and cousin which started a family reunion. cousins came fron atlanta and texas to see us. we loved the royal orleans, location was great in the french quarter and the hospitality was more amazing. we had a suite overlooking the quarter and it was great. walking distance to cafe beignet, antoines, galatoires and johnies po boys.we wound up with 18 in family for this reunion and now can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure to host your impromptu family reunion and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and location. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to The Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON,TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans for my birthday Sept 1-5, 2010. Upon arriaval we were quite pleased with the bellmen, check in, and house keeping staff. All of which were very friendly and seemed eager to help in anyway.

Lobby: The lobby is grand, and close to breath- taking. It was very classy and well decorated.

Pool Area: The actual pool was a nice size with lounge chairs placed around it. Make sure you get there early, cause seats fill up rather quickly. If you fail to find a seat around the pool there is a great lounge area immediately to the left of the pool. It complete with padded lounges, a nice sized LCD TV, and a number of other chairs and tables. One level above the pool is the observation level where you have spectacular views of the city. Truly a site to see. I saved the most impressive for last. Along with all the other things I just mentioned, there is a poolside bar. Great idea. Its a perfect place to grab a drink, gather yourself, and plot your evening activites. A wonderful addition.

Hallway/Rooms: The hallways leading up to our room was rather dingy, and univiting. the carpet could use some cleaning. Better lighting in these respecitve areas could help a bit. Our room was very clean, and extremly quiet. Its on the small side, and a bit dated. I understand that its the traditional "New Orleans" decor, but a simple flat screen TV would help a bit. The bathroom was small, but yet clean. Overall the room is perfect if you are just there to sleep, shower, and shave. However, its a drop-off compared to the lobby, and pool area.

Finishing I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Great for first timers in New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEXRATED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

This hotel is in a great location, close enough to Bourbon street to walk there but far enough away that it won't keep you up all night. The Hotel felt safe and was very clean. The room was a nice size and had a beautiful walk out balcony. You can see the Mississippi River from the rooftop pool.
Dinner at the in-house restaurant "Rib Room" was amazing!
I would stay at this Hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I have visited New Orleans many times and have stayed in different hotels evertime. My new home in NOLA will be the Omni Royal Orleans. The staff is attentive, the location is the best I've seen, just off Royal only a couple blocks from Bourbon St and close to Jackson Square. For t hose addicted to Starbucks like I am, they have a coffee bar which serves Starbucks coffees and lattes, so I was able to get my Sbux fix each morning. Ahhhh.

As other reviewers mentioned the rooms were small, but very nice. The bathroom too was small, but the best hotel shower ever. My only complaint was the lack of a casual restaraunt for breakfast, but with so many other options nearby, we certainly didn't starve. :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Just came back from a long Labor Day trip to New Orleans. Not the first time, but definately the best. Have stayed at other places in the French Quarter but this was the first time at the Omni. Nice hotel. Really clean! Rooms were a little small, but didn't spend much time in it. Soo much to do. Everyone there was really friendly and would recommend it. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Had a good not great but good meal at the restaurant.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jerseyboy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed @ the Omni over Southern Decadence weekend. Great hotel, good location and the staff is 1st rate. They really made you feel welcome. Rooms are a bit small but the furnishings are quality. Roof top pool and lounge area is the best feature in my opinion. Good location close to all of the "action" but far enough away that you could rest and relax when you needed to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey29615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,909 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing