We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired, but still a nice stay”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little tired, but still a nice stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2005

I have stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans many times and found it to be a nice compromise between colorful (which in New Orleans can be a euphemism for shabby and out-of-date) and luxurious. On my last trip (April, 2005) I still loved it for all the nice things it offers: best pool and rooftop view of the quarter, excellent service and a wonderful staff (Marty at the door is a treasure, but not the only treasure here) but I feel that the rooms could use some sprucing up. I walked around my room barefoot all afternoon and my feet were black at the end of the day! Also the decor is looking a little tired in general. But given the fact that one doesn't stay in one's room much in New Orleans, it was still a very nice stay, although the bed was a little sprung. There is no better location in the Quarter: you are close to everything!

Helpful?
8 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,847
    1,145
    297
    98
    60
See reviews for
658
2,092
157
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2005

We just returned from my 18th. trip to New Orleans. We stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans and it was the best hotel I've ever stayed at in New Orleans --well in any place I've ever been all the world! The service is top notch from the bartenders, bell men,desk clerks, maids, etc..top to bottom it was the best hotel experience I've had in many years of traveling. When it rained hard one night they even came down the street to give us umbrellas. When we went out they'd look for us to be sure we were safe. There was nothing we could have asked for that someone would not have moved heaven and earth to bring to us.I'll definitely be staying at the Omni on my next trip to New Orleans in October.Bravo--job well done!!~

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank missnmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2005

Very authentic New Orleans hotel with a great location. I loved the decor and the Rib Room was great! The concierge was very helpful, and we found the staff in general to demonstrate southern hospitality. The rooms were very clean and nice, but they were tiny.

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank SueZeeQueSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathiston MS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2005

I have stayed at the Royal Orleans several times and I always check here first for reservations! The hotel is clean and quiet and NOT cookie cutter so there is a very real sense of personality to it. The rooms vary and they all allow you an access to the roof. This is a great place to enjoy the sun and swim. But as it is deep in the quarter, the roof and its bar are wonderful for its view. It is a great Kodak moment and can be very romantic after dark. Room service is first rate and the Rib room is not your usual hotel dining expeerience. I would and have gone again and again and......

  • Stayed June 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gynechiatrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Omni and thought it was great. The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. The room wasn't the largest, but no room in the French Quarter is. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool and bar. I think the best part was the location. It is only a block and a half from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon St. and only a few blocks from Jackson Square. (just far enough away to be a quiet spot on a busy weekend). If you're looking for a nice place to stay in the Quarter, and you don't mind paying a little more, this is your place

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Great location. Walls between the rooms are a little thin, but the service and location make up for this. Be sure to get a room with a balcony!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2005

I stayed at this hotel on a travel agent fam trip and I was so amazed! The view from the roof top was spectacular. You can see downtown New Orleans on one side, the French Quarter on the other and the Mississippi River directly in front of you. Breathtaking! The servicce was awesome. I reccommend signing up as an Omni Select Guest member. if you do, they deliver a newspaper and drinks to your room in the morning and mail you free upgrade and 50% off your next weekend stay coupons before your arrival date. Staff is very accommodating and it is in a great location. I definetly reccommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay at a luxury hotel!

Helpful?
9 Thank wonderlandprincess83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,109 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,210 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,092 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing