We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omni Royal Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$159
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$104
$98
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$119
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,234)
Filter reviews
5,234 results
Traveler rating
3,362
1,297
356
135
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,362
1,297
356
135
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrib roomrooftop poolobservation deckfrench quartergreat locationbourbon streetjackson squareroyal streetbeautiful hotelbalcony roomrooms are smallbell staffwithin walking distancemississippi rivertwo blocksvalet parkingmardi gras
Filter
Updating list...
4,917 - 4,922 of 5,234 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The rooms were tiiiiny. We actually saw 3 different rooms, and they were all quite small. However the location is ideal. We didn't have to rent a car and could walk everywhere. It is situated 2 (small small) blocks from St. Louis Cathedral, a short walk to Bourbon St. the French Market, the Riverwalk, and streetcars. Our room led to a private courtyard only accessible to people on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard. VERY romantic!

One thing that we didn't like was all of the incidental charges. The per night incidental fee was 52 dollars. They put this money on hold, and we weren't happy about that. However, they were able to only give us a 100 dollar incidental charge (we were staying for 7 days so our fee would have been nearly 400 dollars!) We were also charged for a mini bar that wasn't fully stocked when we first got into the room. We called housekeeping to make sure that we would not be charged, and they assured us we would not. HOWEVER, we still were charged and were running late to catch our plane and couldn't dispute the charges.

Overall, a good experience though. The hotel is absolutely stunning with a great view from the observation deck. Lots of beautiful amenities, and turndown service was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelso0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2009

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. We agree that the rooftop pool's observation deck views are stunning! Because we are an historic hotel in the heart of New Orleans' French Quarter, some of our rooms are traditionally European and are smaller in size. We do have suites and larger room options which can be booked online or by calling our reservation line. The incidental fee hold is a standard practice amongst hotels. We are glad to know that our front desk team worked with you regarding this issue and are very pleased to know that you were our guests for seven days! Thank you. We ask that you accept our most sincere apology for the minibar billing error. Please contact the hotel directly so that we may correct this. Thank you, once again, for the positive review. We hope go have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Omni Royal Orleans in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Overall our stay was wonderful at the Omni. I would just warn not to expect anything special as for upgrades, etc. for an anniversary. We were told this was possible at other places we researched, but chose Omni from trip advisor and assumed wrongly they would do the same. Our room was one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. The staff even commented when coming into our room. It was clean. There was no hairdryer which is usually standard. Everything else was lovely. The location was great. We had a wonderful meal at GW Fins suggested by the concierge....who I might add got of at 5pm on Saturday which we found strange. Would consider staying again but would request larger room from the start.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmbarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2009

We are grateful that you chose to spend your anniversary with us at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. Please know that we always try to accommodate room upgrade requests, especially for special occasions, but occupancy doesn't allow us to do that in every situation. We regret that, due to business demands, we did not have the inventory to offer you a larger room. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful meal at the recommendation of our concierge! Our friendly concierges truly have their fingers on the pulse of everything happening here in the city of New Orleans. If, at any time, the concierge is unavailable, our bellmen and front desk team are more than happy to help with any questions you may have about the area and the attractions. Thank you very much for the positive review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Omni Royal Orleans in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

When we arrived at the Hotel at 10 :00am on Monday, May 18th, the Manager/Mike greeted us with a warm smile. He upgraded our room from a queen bedroom to a jacuzzi suite on the six room for our second anniversay, it was wonderful. The hotel is 2 blocks from Bourbin street and a few blocks from the flee market and downtown. Everything was in walking distance. The front desk and concierge desk knew so much about the city and gave us great suggestions on what to do while we were there. The Doormen and bag handlers were courtesy and also extremely helpful.

We went on a "City Tour" and learned so much that we didn't know about New Orleans. The horse and carriage ride was nice. The "swamp tour was not at all what I expected, it was fun. There were no insects of any kind. (love that most of all). And of course, the free Jazz clubs were just over the top and the food could not have been better. 4 days and 3 nights were just not enough time. There was so much more to see and do and so many more restaurants to visit. Will return and use this hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillonhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2009

We are delighted to read of your experience at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel in New Orleans! Thank you so much for the positive review and for saying such lovely things about our associates. We will most definitely pass your kind words along to Mike and the doormen and bellmen. With so much left to do and see, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We just spent five nights (5/15-20/2009) at the Omni Royal Orleans to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. New Orleans is truly an amazing city...kind of Key West and Savannah (love them both!) on steroids as my neighbor described it...and I think that's a good analogy. The Omni was great, great, great!! Perfect location right in the quarter. The staff is truly wonderful and customer service is the name of their game. Our room was perfect...it opened onto the beautiful courtyard. We would have our coffee there in the morning and then wide down in the evening sitting at the little table and chairs right outside our room. While there, we wanted to go somewhere special for our 30th anniversary. Don, the concierge, recommended and made reservations for us at G.W. Fins. It was a wonderful experience and such a special evening, with some of the best seafood we've ever eaten. They even had a menu made up with our names and "Happy 30th Anniversary." Thanks so much Don!!

We did all things New Orleans...Cafe du Monde...do I need to say more; Acme Oyster House (twice); found a great little place for breakfast, Cafe Fleur de Lis, on Chartres Street (about two blocks from the Omni); bought a muffuletta from Central Grocery and ate it on the banks of the Mississippi; cemetery tour; ghost walk; World War II Museum (truly phenominal); and walked and walked all over the city exploring its beauty and listening to jazz and blues that seemed to ooze from every corner in the quarter. New Orleans is a wonderful city, full of wonderful people, and incredible food. We will definitely visit again and the Omni is definitely the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

We are honored that you chose to stay with us at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary. Thank you for saying such wonderful things about our city and our hotel in your review. We sincerely appreciate your kindness. We will definitely share your comments with Don the concierge, as he loves to hear when he has done a good job! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

This hotel is within walking distance of anything within the French Quarter. It is a four-star with beautiful rooms, a pool on the roof with a bar (of course, it's Nawlins!). You have great views from the rooftop of the steam/paddleboats on the Mississippi River, from the room, we had a view of the courthouse which is very lovely and historical. From the concierge to the bellhop to the front desk, everyone working in this hotel is really polite and customer service oriented. It's amazing! We needed to do a fax for business (receive and send) and they were so nice and didn't charge additionally as is typically the case. We were given options of where we wanted our view (either Royal or Chartres Streets). Everyone was really nice and everything was also very clean, very elegant, and just how many ways can you say NICE? This is one of the best places I've stayed in the French Quarter and will be my only place to stay - even though all those little places that you can't even find online would be interesting to try! I felt safe there as it is basically staffed all night long, and don't ask me how I knew that (Hey, it's Nawlins!). Enjoy your stay without worry, book the Omni! We didn't have a chance to try the Rib Room located within the hotel, but will the next time as we heard some very great raves about the restaurant. There are just so many great restaurants to choose in New Orleans - forget about your diets! On the positive side, if you do it right, you can walk off some of the excessiveness that is everywhere to particpate in.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil'BeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

We are delighted that you had an amazing visit to New Orleans' historic French Quarter and the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel! Thank you for such a positive review and for saying such wonderful things about about our associates, our accommodations, the views from our rooftop and our location! We truly appreciate your taking the time to let others know of your Omni Royal Orleans experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future and look forward to seeing you in the Rib Room! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews