We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in an Excellent location with Great food.”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #21 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2009

When we arrived at the Hotel at 10 :00am on Monday, May 18th, the Manager/Mike greeted us with a warm smile. He upgraded our room from a queen bedroom to a jacuzzi suite on the six room for our second anniversay, it was wonderful. The hotel is 2 blocks from Bourbin street and a few blocks from the flee market and downtown. Everything was in walking distance. The front desk and concierge desk knew so much about the city and gave us great suggestions on what to do while we were there. The Doormen and bag handlers were courtesy and also extremely helpful.

We went on a "City Tour" and learned so much that we didn't know about New Orleans. The horse and carriage ride was nice. The "swamp tour was not at all what I expected, it was fun. There were no insects of any kind. (love that most of all). And of course, the free Jazz clubs were just over the top and the food could not have been better. 4 days and 3 nights were just not enough time. There was so much more to see and do and so many more restaurants to visit. Will return and use this hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillonhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2009

We are delighted to read of your experience at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel in New Orleans! Thank you so much for the positive review and for saying such lovely things about our associates. We will most definitely pass your kind words along to Mike and the doormen and bellmen. With so much left to do and see, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,555 - 4,561 of 4,869 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2009

We just spent five nights (5/15-20/2009) at the Omni Royal Orleans to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. New Orleans is truly an amazing city...kind of Key West and Savannah (love them both!) on steroids as my neighbor described it...and I think that's a good analogy. The Omni was great, great, great!! Perfect location right in the quarter. The staff is truly wonderful and customer service is the name of their game. Our room was perfect...it opened onto the beautiful courtyard. We would have our coffee there in the morning and then wide down in the evening sitting at the little table and chairs right outside our room. While there, we wanted to go somewhere special for our 30th anniversary. Don, the concierge, recommended and made reservations for us at G.W. Fins. It was a wonderful experience and such a special evening, with some of the best seafood we've ever eaten. They even had a menu made up with our names and "Happy 30th Anniversary." Thanks so much Don!!

We did all things New Orleans...Cafe du Monde...do I need to say more; Acme Oyster House (twice); found a great little place for breakfast, Cafe Fleur de Lis, on Chartres Street (about two blocks from the Omni); bought a muffuletta from Central Grocery and ate it on the banks of the Mississippi; cemetery tour; ghost walk; World War II Museum (truly phenominal); and walked and walked all over the city exploring its beauty and listening to jazz and blues that seemed to ooze from every corner in the quarter. New Orleans is a wonderful city, full of wonderful people, and incredible food. We will definitely visit again and the Omni is definitely the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

We are honored that you chose to stay with us at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary. Thank you for saying such wonderful things about our city and our hotel in your review. We sincerely appreciate your kindness. We will definitely share your comments with Don the concierge, as he loves to hear when he has done a good job! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

This hotel is within walking distance of anything within the French Quarter. It is a four-star with beautiful rooms, a pool on the roof with a bar (of course, it's Nawlins!). You have great views from the rooftop of the steam/paddleboats on the Mississippi River, from the room, we had a view of the courthouse which is very lovely and historical. From the concierge to the bellhop to the front desk, everyone working in this hotel is really polite and customer service oriented. It's amazing! We needed to do a fax for business (receive and send) and they were so nice and didn't charge additionally as is typically the case. We were given options of where we wanted our view (either Royal or Chartres Streets). Everyone was really nice and everything was also very clean, very elegant, and just how many ways can you say NICE? This is one of the best places I've stayed in the French Quarter and will be my only place to stay - even though all those little places that you can't even find online would be interesting to try! I felt safe there as it is basically staffed all night long, and don't ask me how I knew that (Hey, it's Nawlins!). Enjoy your stay without worry, book the Omni! We didn't have a chance to try the Rib Room located within the hotel, but will the next time as we heard some very great raves about the restaurant. There are just so many great restaurants to choose in New Orleans - forget about your diets! On the positive side, if you do it right, you can walk off some of the excessiveness that is everywhere to particpate in.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil'BeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

We are delighted that you had an amazing visit to New Orleans' historic French Quarter and the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel! Thank you for such a positive review and for saying such wonderful things about about our associates, our accommodations, the views from our rooftop and our location! We truly appreciate your taking the time to let others know of your Omni Royal Orleans experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future and look forward to seeing you in the Rib Room! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We just returned from a four night stay at the Omni Royal Orleans hotel and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in the French Quarter. Our room had a view of Royal Street; it was immaculate and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but workable. I wish the lighting had been better though.
The hotel is on the corner of St. Louis and Rue Royal - perfect for anywhere you would want to go in the Quarter.
The service was impeccable; our needs were almost anticipated and always met with a smile. We felt that the staff really were glad we were there, we were welcomed back every time we returned to the hotel during our stay. I just cannot say enough about the staff of the hotel, they are exceptional. Don, one of the concierges was most helpful with anything we asked of him, he is very knowledgeable about the city and is a lot of fun to talk to also. Rosie, another of the concierges was also very helpful. Another standout was Donna, the bartender in the Touche Bar. She makes the best mojitos we have ever had, and we have had in few in our time! The view from the rooftop is amazing. It was so wonderful to sit with a cocktail at sunset and watch the boats on the river, don't miss this. There is also a small roof top pool and gym area. We will most definitely return to the Omni Royal the next time we are in New Orleans. I recommend joining their loyalty program; the perks are amazing right from your first stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satchiesmom1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2009

Wow. What an incredible description of your visit with us at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for saying such lovely things about your time with us and about our associates. (Rosie, Don and Donna will enjoy reading your review!) We look forward to welcoming you back to the Omni Royal Orleans and to, once again, giving you "The Royal Treatment."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We recently spent 6 nights at the Omni for the French Quarter festival. We were checked right in at 11:30 AM to a beautiful room on the 6th floor overlooking St. Louis St. The room was much larger than most New Orleans hotel rooms, which tend to be on the small side. The room was spotless, the sevice first class. I have stayed at the Omni many times over the past 20 years and have also tried a few other places, but the Omni seems like home. The first thing I always do is head up to the rooftop to take in the view and let it sink in that I'm back in N'awlins. Even had the same doorman I met in 1989! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalksInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2009

We are glad that you returned to the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel for 2009's French Quarter Festival! Thank you for leaving such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" for many years to come (see you on the roof top!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

This was our first visit to New Orleans and timed to coincide with the French Quarter Festival. I had previously emailed the concierge who had booked trips and restaurant tables for us. Both she and the other concierge to whom we spoke were charming and helpful and the restaurant and bar staff were great. There were one or two minor problems with our room, such as a light bulb needing replacement, and as soon as these were mentioned they were dealt with within a minute or so.
The hotel is perfectly placed and within walking distance of all the French Quarter attractions and if we go back to New Orleans we will stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanEmden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2009

We are delighted to read of your French Quarter Festival experience at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel! We are glad that the few inconveniences you experienced were quickly remedied by our team and we appreciate your postive review (and wonderful description of our location!) We look forward to welcoming you back to the Omni Royal Orleans in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Our Jazzfest stay at the Omni Royal was great! My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a beautiful hotel. The staff's service was pleasant and very impressive. If you want to be in the "KNOW" hook up with the Concierge, Don Ridall, "The Maestro of New Orleans". His expertise for dining, tickets, and entertainment has been mastered!!!!!!!!!!!! We'll be back! Jill from Mattoon, Illinois

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillMattoon_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalOrleans, Management at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2009

We are ecstatic to read of your Jazz Fest experience at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel! Thank you for saying such wonderful things about our staff and, specifically, "The Maestro," Don. We will make sure to share your comments with him. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back for many Jazz Fests in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,620 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,287 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $160 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing