We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous location in the heart of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous location in the heart of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved our stay in this hotel. From the moment we were welcomed by Leroy the excellent doorman this was a memorable stay.
Our room had loads of character and opened up with a balcony on Royal Street. We sat on the balcony listening to live Jazz being played on the street below and were able to enjoy the wedding parades that passed along.
We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many great restaurants within easy walking distance but the bar was nice.
We used this as a base to explore the french quarter such as jazz clubs, the steamboat and the museums. Everywhere was an easy walk and its close to Canal St to hop on the streetcar to the Garden District.
The hotel hosted many weddings during our stay and only one of the nights got a little noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on Royal Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    1,001
    254
    72
    49
See reviews for
551
1,764
138
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Omni Royal is located one block from Bourbon Street and adjacent to Royal Street. Rooms were a bit small, however, that's common for New Orleans/French Quarter. We got a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, which was perfect as we had a walk out patio so room felt larger since we could go outside. Largest rooms have queen size beds - no kings here! Like I said, small rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the same floor as the meeting rooms. Each room opens to the patio so you can si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckyjane_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We LOVED this hotel! Everything about it was perfect! From the bellmen to the front desk everyone was sooo friendly!! The location was very close to Bourbon but far enough away to escape the noise. There were several weddings going on & the lobby was always very lively but once you reached the halls where the rooms were you never heard anything! The beds are to die for! I could sleep for days in that bed! We will be back very soon! Also Rico was probably the nicest person we have ever came across in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Each and every time I stay at the Omni Royal Orleans I am more impressed by the efforts they make to create a remarkable hospitality experience. The air conditioning is always running at top speed, which helps combat the heat and humidity of the French Quarter, the floors in the lobby are always sparkling clean, the rooftop pool is exquisite, the service throughout the hotel is impeccable, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was in the perfect location and had great amenities for our family. We loved the rooftop pool and the daily free morning beverage delivery. Being able to walk out of the hotel and be at the aquarium in 2 blocks, Jackson Square in 2 blocks and Bourbon St in 1 block was awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel was very nice in appearance but the staff was not helpful at all in the valet parking garage. The problems with the room were addressed slowly but no discount or assistance was offered to make the reservation a better stay. Even when asked about the upgrades and room service ordered, no one offered to make that happen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We only got to stay one night but would have loved to stay longer. The location was great, and the hotel was gorgeous. My kids wanted to stay forever -- me, too. The staff was so nice and very hospitable. They had great suggestions for places to eat and also gave us coupons to use. The had a beautiful rooftop pool that was wonderful along with a rooftop terrace. You walk right out your door to the French Quarter and around the corner to get beignets. The hotel was quiet, great for a wonderful night sleep, and also very clean -- oh, and did I mention gorgeous? I just can't say it enough. We will definitely be staying there again when we go back.

Room Tip: Parking was pricey but not sure where else we would have parked. We never used our car once we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbdonohue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a great review, we look forward to many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,026 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,983 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing