We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Balcony room”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #21 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and stayed at the Omni for Easter Sunday and the following week. The hotel was beautiful. The room with a balcony was perfect for two people, plenty of room to get around and the décor was lovely. Service at the hotel, from maids to front desk, to valet service was superb. We saw four wedding parades from our balcony which was so much fun even at midnight. I will definitely be returning the Omni when in NOLA.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room facing the Supreme Court building a little quieter but great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiD917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,034 - 3,040 of 4,872 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our recent stay at the Omni Royal was fantastic! The location is perfect - close enough to the French Quarter highlights, but in a spot that allowed us to enjoy some quiet as well. Be sure to request a room with a balcony. Overlooking Royal Street, we had the opportunity to experience wedding parades, tours and life in the Quarter passing by. Breakfast in the restaurant offered us a delightful range of choices to fuel up for a day of exploring the city. It is worth the cost. We look forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank CMPAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

MY wife and I celebrated 22 years of marriage in a spa suite which was perfect, no background noise, staff attended to our every request without issue. The hotel being centrally located in the French Quarter made it easy to enjoy all the food and entertainment around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is clean and updated. The rooms are fairly small, particularly the bathrooms, but I've definitely seen worse. The best part is the location of this hotel. One block off the craziness of Bourbon Street, 2 blocks from Decatur. Easy to walk everywhere in the French Quarter. The pool area and observation deck are outstanding. Most employees were very professional and friendly. One desk clerk was a bit surly. The lobby is one flight of stairs up from the street so you just need to be prepared to drag your luggage up or down. I was here for a conference and the provided a hot breakfast. The breakfast left much to be desired, especially for what we were charged, but it worked. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siochainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel has great bones and if beautiful in a traditional sense, it is really well located and all items in the room are appropriate, the only downside of the room we were in is it's size. It was very small. Other than this issue, it was great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We offer a broad selection of room sizes to fit the needs of our guests. For your next visit, please feel free to contact the hotel directly so we can find the best sized room for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

In January, we travelled to New Orleans for the first time. Unfortunately, we hit a terrible cold snap, which put a damper on our trip. However, the highlight of our trip was the Omni Royal Orleans. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was wonderful. We arrived early and there was an issue with our booking (online error with Southwest Vacations) and they were not expecting us until April. The hotel immediately rectified the problem and got us checked in to our beautiful room. It was early January and the entire hotel was still decorated for the holidays. There were fresh flowers and Christmas trees everywhere.
The hotel concierge was very helpful for our two excursions. We enjoyed a plantation tour and a swamp tour. Both were nice, but we could have enjoyed them more if the weather was warmer.
I look forward to returning and would definitely return to this hotel.
It was very centrally located in New Orleans- walking or trolley stop distance to all the sites.
Be warned, the room, although beautiful and updated, was on the small size, especially the bathroom. There was very little counter space.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are glad you were still able to get the most of New Orleans despite our unseasonably cold weather this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Omni during JazzFest although it is a bit pricey. The doormen were very sweet and very knowledgable about the area. We had an easy check-in. The room was a little small but we didn't stay in it that much anyway. It is a beautiful hotel. Our bed was awesome! We loved the top floor pool and bar area with great views. We had great breakfasts at the Rib Room. It is easy to walk to awesome restaurants and bars from there. We avoid Bourbon Street but walked to the riverfront and up and down other streets. The location really is great and it is a beautiful city rich in history.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belindajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are glad to be your hotel of choice during the busy Jazz Festival weekend, hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,620 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,291 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $160 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing