We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
North Tustin, United States
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel has great bones and if beautiful in a traditional sense, it is really well located and all items in the room are appropriate, the only downside of the room we were in is it's size. It was very small. Other than this issue, it was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We offer a broad selection of room sizes to fit the needs of our guests. For your next visit, please feel free to contact the hotel directly so we can find the best sized room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,806
    1,134
    292
    95
    60
See reviews for
653
2,057
157
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

In January, we travelled to New Orleans for the first time. Unfortunately, we hit a terrible cold snap, which put a damper on our trip. However, the highlight of our trip was the Omni Royal Orleans. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was wonderful. We arrived early and there was an issue with our booking (online error with Southwest Vacations) and they were not expecting us until April. The hotel immediately rectified the problem and got us checked in to our beautiful room. It was early January and the entire hotel was still decorated for the holidays. There were fresh flowers and Christmas trees everywhere.
The hotel concierge was very helpful for our two excursions. We enjoyed a plantation tour and a swamp tour. Both were nice, but we could have enjoyed them more if the weather was warmer.
I look forward to returning and would definitely return to this hotel.
It was very centrally located in New Orleans- walking or trolley stop distance to all the sites.
Be warned, the room, although beautiful and updated, was on the small size, especially the bathroom. There was very little counter space.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are glad you were still able to get the most of New Orleans despite our unseasonably cold weather this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Omni during JazzFest although it is a bit pricey. The doormen were very sweet and very knowledgable about the area. We had an easy check-in. The room was a little small but we didn't stay in it that much anyway. It is a beautiful hotel. Our bed was awesome! We loved the top floor pool and bar area with great views. We had great breakfasts at the Rib Room. It is easy to walk to awesome restaurants and bars from there. We avoid Bourbon Street but walked to the riverfront and up and down other streets. The location really is great and it is a beautiful city rich in history.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are glad to be your hotel of choice during the busy Jazz Festival weekend, hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Here is what to expect at the Omni Royal Orleans. The best location! Walk everywhere. Older hotel with a pretty lobby. Rooms are very small as are often in older hotels. Due to it being a older hotel, there is not the sound proofing that one finds in newer hotels. You will here people walking down the hallways at night if they are talking. The roof pool area is great. I spent mornings up there drinking coffee and eating beignets purchased around the corner. The hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and overall a fair price for a hotel in a main tourist area. I'd stay there again since I know what to expect and the location is great.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the street if you want quiet. But if you like the action, then tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti_b50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

when we arrived, we parked on the sreet and had to walk upstairs to the check-in area. we were not told to drive around to the garage. we also were there right at 3pm and were told that our room was not ready. we were there to meet friends and had dinner reservations and asked if there was not something and finally given a room. the rooms are very small and no counter space in the bathroom. the pros is a super nice top floor with a pool and a bar area. it is alos in the heart of bourbon street and very easy walking to the hot spots.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location in the French Quarter. It is within walking distance to everything, a block off Bourbon St, which is perfect. The hotel was clean, friendly, plenty of towels. Received a glass of Champayne in the Lobby on Mother's day. I would stay here more often but it is pricey so only stay here on special occasions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank dkexperience27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Your feedback is definitely appreciated, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the champagne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had such a great experience here. From the beauty of the hotel and room to the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The location could not have been better. I would stay here again!! There was a Mardi Gras walking parade in front of the hotel one day and the hotel passed out beads and complimentary champagne. That was such a nice treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We appreciate your comments, hope to see you next Mardi Gras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing