We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not only is this a very nice place to stay with friendly staff and nice features, it is in an ideal location in the French Quarter. I was warned that the room I booked was very small and for a nominal extra charge we moved up to a mini suite, with much room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,851
    1,145
    298
    98
    60
See reviews for
658
2,096
157
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

In the middle of things but with enough distance from Bourbon St to avoid the rowdier aspects of the quarter but close to Jackson Square and the buskers of Royal St. and 1.5 blocks from Cafe Beignet. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious and comfortable room. Highly recommend (!) signing up for Omni's "Select Guest" program; many tangible benefits, most importantly, access to the fitness center and the rooftop pool and bar (which by themselves are enough to make this hotel a good choice). Didn't book a room w/balcony (additional $40) but stayed in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor that was renovated last winter - very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter without being right on Bourbon St. We received an upgrade to a balcony room where we could hear street musicians. The hotel is beautiful with a friendly staff. This was our second visit to this hotel and a new favorite. Beds could be a little more comfortable is the only negative thing I could find.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank CSJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Please copy my direct response i sent to the Royal Orleans and Rib Room. It was much more complete. The whole experience was as good as it gets. I have traveled a lot in the world, know New Orleans very well and it just doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank DannyOKeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay during a convention in New Orleans that was reasonably priced and near the French Quarter. We found the perfect place - The Omni Royal Orleans! The staff is wonderful - very friendly and helpful. And unlike many of the big name hotels, this one has historic charm and character. The rooms are lovely, excellent food, and exceptional service. As I listened to a group of street musicians from the window of my room on my last night in New Orleans, I vowed to return...and stay at the Royal Orleans again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank GiliaRethman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback as well as your continued business. We are grateful to hear that you truly enjoyed the staff, the rate, and ambiance of our hotel. We are certainly looking forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location, in the heart of the French Quarter! Comfortable rooms. Close enough to Bourbon Street, yet far enough away for a rest from the action. A beautiful hotel with ghosty history. I will be sure to bring a better costume for Halloween next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were visiting New Orleans to celebrate my 50th birthday and decided to splurge and stay here. The operator on the phone sold us on the petite suite, so since you'll only be "half a century" once, we opted to take it, despite the price. Upon arrival, Phillip at the check in desk was anything but personable. As we were checking in, after reading detailed reviews on TA we requested a room away from the ice machine and a room on a higher floor. He said that he was placing us on the 2nd floor, even though there were other rooms available. He finally mentioned that the other people who would be arriving and checking-in later that day in those particular vacant rooms had requested a higher level room, which makes sense until I let him know that we did also. He then offered some nonsensical reasons as to why we should be pleased with the 2nd floor room. One of the nonsensical reasons that he failed to mention is that this is the floor where the various conferences are held....so morning breakfasts, lunches and lectures abounded our room. He also failed to mention that our view was of a flat roof about waist level. (It was just a foot or two below the height of the bottom of the window sill.) So, we had 3 windows to look at the pipes and rolled roofing and that is IT. I suggest that they block in those windows, it would have been nicer.

The room itself was nice. Not the nicest that we have visited or written about, but it was certainly nice. High quality bedding and "decent" bath towels. The bed was quite comfy. We found only 2 faults with the bathroom....a thin interior wall is all that would prevent you from reaching out and touching the bed from the commode, it is that close, and there was no vent fan to keep it from steaming up after a shower. I wonder if all their suite rooms are laid out in similar fashion....hopefully not.

We returned to our room later that day and they had delivered a cupcake with a candle and "Happy Birthday" written on the plate, which was a nice gesture and much appreciated. Later that evening we "indulged" and left the plate in the wet bar sink, where it stayed for the next two days. Not sure why maid service didn't take it the first time, but since they didn't even show up at all on the 3rd day we all know why it wasn't taken away then. We would return to the hotel often during the day (it is in a GREAT location) and after waking up on our final morning, we saw that someone had placed a "do not disturb" sign on our door. Not us, and it wasn't there when we left the room that morning, or any other time that we visited our room. In fact, we hardly ever use that sign and absolutely did not on this trip. I suppose that they were just busy that day and didn't have time to get to our room that day and hung that sign after the fact to cover their inability?? Not sure, but it was disappointing.

As I mentioned, the location is really good. After the convention meetings the room was itself was quiet. Actually the lectures were not all that loud, but on the breaks you would hear conversations from the hallway.....but no outside the hotel noise whatsoever. And YES, stay as far from the ice machine as possible.....it is disproportionately loud for some reason. When present the doormen were quite pleasant and helpful. I would say that they were available about 3 out of 5 times that we entered or exited....always with a bright smile or cheer.

Perhaps if some sort of consideration would have been made available to offset somewhat our clear disappointment in our room location, it would have made our stay more enjoyable. We paid full price for a nicer room and booked directly with the hotel itself and made our specific requests far in advance. Had we booked with a discounted internet site or a coupon or something of the sort then I would better understand......but this feeling of "overpaying" on our part (this was more than TWICE the price of any room we have ever stayed), coupled with "under delivered" on the part of the hotel did not give us the precise feeling that we were hoping for on this special occasion. Still, we do recommend this hotel, just not for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,114 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,219 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,096 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing