We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - roof terrace a hidden gem”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location - roof terrace a hidden gem”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in the French Quarter. Centrally, but the critical required distance away from the noise and drunkenness of Bourbon Street at night time. Good service from staff. The roof terrace with pool and a bar offering a terrific view of the Missisipi is a hidden gem in the busy neighborhood. We would definitely choose the Omni Royal on our next visit to New Orleans .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank a2n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,806
    1,134
    292
    95
    60
See reviews for
653
2,057
157
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is the 5th hotel we've stayed at in the French Quarter and it ranks as the best to date. While we like to change things up and try new things, the stay at the Royal O was so great that I can't see us staying any place else in New Orleans.

The day before we were set to travel, I got a call from an unfamiliar number. It was the Omni and they were calling to see if I had any questions, etc. before our arrival. This was really good because she gave me all of the info I needed on getting to the parking garage...which can be crucial info when driving in the French Quarter.

Upon arrival, the guys in the garage were very pleasant and got our vehicle situated really quickly. We headed in to check in and talk about super efficient. They'd already checked us in and had our room ready + the rewards club I'd signed up for at booking entitled us to complimentary drinks each morning, turn down service, etc. My husband and I really like a soda in the morning, so it was nice to be able to get a 16oz bottle for each of us before hitting the town.

Our room was small, but we expected this...it's the smallest possible room they offer. Still, it was just two of us and the room was thoughtfully designed. In fact, I'm normally a bit claustrophobic in small rooms, but this room always felt very comfortable. We had nice toiletries, the bed/pillows were quite comfy, and the tv was nice as well. It was also nice to have a clock radio with a dock for my ipod touch. And the best part...I put a little note on our reservation about our anniversary... well, there was a bottle of champagne chilling for us upon arrival. So nice! We were also in an interior area room, so things were quiet the entire stay.

The bar by the pool, while busy is great...the fitness center is nice...but the roof top observation area is the real star of the show. Seriously, it's just so nice to be able to sit up there and relax.

The other star factor- LOCATION. You do a lot of walking when you stay in the French Quarter and while it's nice to be up and moving around, it's also nice when you don't need to feel like everything is a hike. And of course it's also cool that the hotel has quite a bit of history.

I've said it before, but we'll definitely return! Also hoping to try the Rib Room next visit. A+

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HouCuseChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay. It reminds you of the old grand New Orleans. Location is great. Close enough to walk where ever you need to go but far enough away from the noise and smell of Bourbon Street.The bed was so comfortable and the linens were first class. My only complaint would be the noisy air conditioner. It sounded like a 747 when it kicked on!
Everyone who works there is so friendly and helpful. They suggested a couple of unique places to eat and they were right on the money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMBGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

When my boyfriend and I arrived at the Omni Royal Orleans after a late flight that had been delayed by weather, all we wanted to do was sleep. The helpful staff got us checked in and settled quickly. Our room, a standard with a king bed and balcony, was clean and cozy -- especially the bed, which was quite comfortable as far as hotel beds go.

The room itself had modern furnishings, and we especially appreciated the night stands, which each had plugs built into their sides (a welcome touch that kept me from tearing my hair out when it came time to charge my cell phone). Besides the bed and night stands, there was a nice sized closet with hangers and a robe (only one, which was strange), a safe, a plush lounge chair, a desk with a chair and a TV on a wooden dresser. Standard U.S. television stations were provided, and there was also a movie channel with new releases. However, be sure to note the price before ordering. (We ended up paying $16 apiece for three movies we watched. We could've purchased them on DVD for less than that!) There was also a mini-bar; it was locked, and we found that frustrating since we weren't able to use it for chilling our own items. (We probably could have asked to have it unlocked, but we didn't bother.)

The balcony, basically a long porch that runs the length of one side of the hotel, was separated into sections by black wrought iron. It gave us a not-so-pretty view of the parking lot of an adjacent building, but it also provided a perfect vantage point for us to watch fireworks over the Mississippi on July 4th. Each balcony featured two black wrought iron chairs and a small table. We also noticed that we could hear a lot of late-night street noise (drunken revelers and the like) in our room. But, I suppose that comes with the balcony-room-in-a-French-Quarter-hotel territory. On the last night of our stay (after watching the fireworks), the balcony's doorknob broke, and the door wouldn't close. A call to the front desk yielded a prompt response by a friendly maintenance worker who had the issue resolved in a flash. (It was just a loose screw.)

The bathroom was clean and offered all basic necessities -- towels, shampoo, conditioner, body and facial soap, shower cap, etc. The only issue I had was that the shower faucet was a bit difficult to turn on. (I literally had to use all of my body weight to get it to respond.)

The hotel's lobby is gorgeous and richly furnished. A breakfast buffet is offered, but we didn't try it. There's also a Starbucks in the lobby, right across from the main desk. In addition to coffee, it sold toiletry items and other sundries.

A note about the staff: One night after coming back late from a ghost tour, we were starving, and many restaurants nearby were closed. Dwayne, a truly awesome staff member, directed us to a place on Bourbon Street that had an amazing atmosphere and excellent food at reasonable prices. (He even provided us with a copy of the menu to look at before we decided to go.) Further, we asked for assistance from the concierge when researching airboat tours. He was able to recommend a reputable company and then set up the tour for us. We were picked up the next morning by a shuttle, right at the front door, at no extra charge.

Overall, this was a great stay that exceeded our expectations, and we would certainly return to the Omni Royal Orleans.

One final note: For those of you familiar with "The Fugitive," my boyfriend tells me the Omni Royal Orleans is where the medical convention outdoor shot was filmed -- the building with all the flags outside. (It's also possible it's where the indoor portion was filmed, too, but we didn't verify. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley-Kosciolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Omni Royal in New Orleans for a weekend birthday trip with friends. There were so many wonderful factions of the hotel, from the beautiful interior design, the gorgeous architecture and the fabulous facilities. The most impressive, however, was (by far and away) the calibre of the staff they have employed. The concierges, doormen and bellmen were amongst the most hospitable, helpful, courteous and kind I've ever experienced. They went out of their way to feel us most welcome and at home, while helping us find the most authentic, cost effective and fun New Orleans experience.

The rooms were extremely well kept - house keeping came promptly and were entirely thorough. The beds were incredibly comfortable...like sleeping on a cloud! The pool was lovely and the weather was great - it was most enjoyable.

Overall a wonderful time spent at the Omni and I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenaiLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for a few nights at the Omni Royal, the location was perfect, near Jackson Square, bourbon street and canal street. The rooms were very clean, on the small side, but bearable. Sign up to priority guest before arriving, it's free, and every morning you get a complimentary coffee, tea or juice and newspaper, which is great! The rooftop pool is lovely, and views are nice. The doorman was very friendly and always willing to help. Be sure to check your account before checkout as we had a surprise charge on our account. Someone had charged beverages to our room, was a bit disappointing as we never drank or ate at the hotel restaurant. Makes me wonder how this would be done, don't you have to sign your name?? Wasn't reassuring that it could be so easy to make charges to other people's room. Overall a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOzOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Staff was more than excellent. Hotel was beautiful and immaculate. Old and historical and right in the middle of everything. Perfect location. The rooftop pool/fitness facility/ bar was beautiful. Only complaints was there was no free coffee in the morning and not every room has an open mini fridge for personal use. However, aside from the extremely minor complaints, the hotel was fantastic and I would definitely try to book this hotel again the next time I stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnsmith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing