We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get a better location than this!”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is absolutely the perfect location. Any closer to Bourbon Street would be too noisy to sleep. Easy walk to anywhere in the French Quarter. The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Pleasant rooftop patio with swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMeinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we hope to see you again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,674 - 3,680 of 4,789 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend here, just to get away. The plan was to go, and basically just do whatever we wanted, no agenda, no schedule, do whatever we wanted on a whim.

We arrived at the hotel around 9:30 in the evening, valet parked our car and we went and checked in. Check in was flawless and quick, and we went up to our room. We had one of the smaller rooms, but for what we were planning it was perfectly fine. The room was well maintained, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had a sharp, clean look to it. Very pleased indeed.

The balcony has a great bar area attached to the heated and cooled pool and we spent quite a bit of time at a table up there in the afternoons. And when I say heated pool... I MEAN HEATED. I was surprised, it was pretty cold when we went and there were quite a few people in it, so I stuck my foot in, and the water was about 10 degrees below jacuzzi temp. And I'm not exaggerating. It was quite a shock, didn't expect that. The balcony overlooks the French Quarter and has a great view.

We went for a relaxing trip, and that is pretty much what we got. We left to go eat and walk the French Quarter some, then just spent the remainder of the time napping and hanging on the deck. One thing to note though, if you are going to relax, get sleep and rejuvenate, it would probably be better to find a hotel a little farther from the quarter, because there was a good bit of noise from people coming in late and drunk (I am not complaining in the least, because that is what you expect in the quarter) and we kept getting woke up at night. We will stay farther away if we come back for that reason. HOWEVER, if you are there, to party and get out and enjoy the quarter and not have to worry with driving, this place is definitely worth the stay. Again it is right in the middle of everything, staff was extremely helpful, clean, and all around excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks for the great review. Yes, we are located a few blocks away from the quarter, so you still will get some late night noise. But it’s much less than the hotels experience in the quarter. Regardless, we’re still sorry you were woken up. We’re happy to provide ear plugs at the front desk if that would help in the future. We hope you will stay with us again next time you’re in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Perfect location, staff above and beyond. The bellmen were great and genuine, not just looking for tips. We had an issue upon check in with our room, situation was fixed right away and we were given a discount per night along with an upgraded room. If you are in need of a little space, petite room will do, but it gets small quickly once you start unpacking. Wouldn't recommend the second floor on a weekend, wedding receptions can be heard, also meeting rooms are on that floor, not a big deal. Noise from outside was not bad, we had a balcony room facing St.Louis. No need for balcony room as you aren't in the room enough to enjoy it. People watching is best done from the sidewalk. Would stay again, customer service experienced throughout the hotel was fantastic. Beds were comfortable and rooms clean. Even had turn down service one evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

The Omni Royal Orleans has been extremely fortunate to have bellmen that genuinely love what they do. Most of them have been working here for many years! We apologize for your experience at check in though we are glad that it was rectified right away. We appreciate having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This property is located in a very convenient spot in the French Quarter. We walked all over the French Quarter, Jackson Square, the waterfront, and then some quite easily from the hotel. It is close to Bourbon Street if this interests you, but far enough away that the nightly noise cannot be heard from the sleeping rooms. We got a promotional rate online making this a great value for the money.

We requested an upgrade prior to arrival which was accommodated. My first good impression with the guest ambassador set the tone for the entire stay. The staff was so friendly, we not only felt welcomed, but felt like we were home away from home each time we walked through the front doors. Doorman Leroy was a complete joy, courteous, and provided great recommendations for all of our many questions; all amidst opening the door, carrying bags, and hailing cabs. He is a real pro. The manager and front desk staff were very kind when our flight home was canceled until the next day. Our room rate was extended, and they genuinely cared about our inconvenience even though it was no fault of theirs. Everyone from the bellman to the housekeeping staff went out of their way to ensure we had all we needed. My child couldn’t leave the city without trying turtle soup, so we stopped in the Rib Room one afternoon for a bowl. I had no intention of trying it, but I did, and have to say it was quite good.

The petite rooms are quite small but very acceptable considering the room rate, the location, and the amount of time actually spent in the room. We had a premier room for most of the stay which is larger and more spacious. If size does matter, and you have the extra bucks, you may be happier in the larger room. I’d rather get the smaller room and spend my money elsewhere during the stay. Either way, it’s still worth the stay. The rooms were clean, well appointed, all the electronics worked, and what’s not to love about turn down service when on vacation. Join the Select Guest program (free), and you will get your choice of two complimentary beverages every morning for two people delivered to your room. We stocked up on bottled water and enjoyed hot chocolate each morning before we headed out. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel! It was clean, well situated in the French Quarter, and unmatched service! While it was not a huge room, we did not travel all the way to NOLA to spend hours upon hours in the room, other than sleeping. If you are going to entertain in your room, then I would suggest a suite. Otherwise, wake up with the wonderful complimentary coffee and take it to the observation deck or covered area by the pool, which has nice comfortable couches where you can get an incredible view of the city. Our bathroom was not very large either. However, through the years of traveling, my husband and I have discovered ways to pack creatively. There is a wonderful toiletry bag which unfolds/unrolls and hangs on the back of the door. This saves space and time packing as well.

Pros: The bed was comfortable, considerate housekeeping staff (we were NEVER woken up by someone wanting to clean our room early, even on day of checkout), and the hotel has obviously looked at previous reviews...... the bottle of water had a big tag hanging over it stating that it costs $7. While this may be pricey, they let you know in advance. Also, there is a small market less than a block from the hotel where you can purchase cheaper water, beer, etc. They have also placed electrical outlets on the side of the nightstand and desk. Being a gold level member (which is what you reach by just signing up), we received complimentary beverage service each AM. We chose coffee, but there were other options such as juice and hot tea. Also there is a coffee maker in the room with Wolfgang Puck coffee packets. This is free and has glass mugs and paper cups.

Let's talk service. Omni Royal KNOWS service!!!! Starting from the moment we arrived.... We pulled up in the cab line, oops..... but no problem for Dwayne, he flagged us on forward to where we needed to park to unload. There were four of us and it did not phase him that we had several pieces of luggage (including my steamer :-)). While he took the car around, Ryan took over to help us with our luggage. Since I had taken advantage of the online precheck-in, our keys were ready and it literally took less than one minute (as opposed to Las Vegas... we were in line for over an hour). Once at the room, Ryan took the time to place the luggage in the most advantageous places (to show us how to use the most of the space) and explain about the wet bar, coffee maker, and electrical outlets. Each time we went through the lobby we were greeted with a smile by Dwayne or Ryan. Also, they were extremely helpful with tourist type information (restaurants, bars, safety, etc.) whenever we asked. The doorman that was on duty most of our stay was Leroy. He always sent us out with a big smile and directions if needed, as well as welcoming us back with that same warm smile. When we were trying to deliberate which tours and the timing, we were blessed to find the concierge Peter. He hit a trifecta by scheduling us with a cemetery, ghost, and swamp tours. These were with different companies and were all entertaining. We did tip each of these folks, but did so because we wanted to; not because we felt pressured.

Another perk to the Omni Rewards club (which is free to join) is that you get a personal Loyalty Ambassador. Ours was Emily Rivera. She was phenomenal!!! One of the members of our party was having a birthday. After she emailed me a few days prior to our arrival, I told her about this. She seemed genuinely excited to help surprise him. She went out of her way to get a birthday banner and balloons. We had planned the swamp tour on the day of his birthday and I emailed her our itinerary. When we got back from the swamp, Emily had decorated the door with little shiny Happy Birthday stickers, then had the banner and balloons in the room with a cupcake on a plate with Happy Birthday written in chocolate on the plate. WOW !!!! I really think she went above and beyond.... so did the birthday boy. He was a little choked up by it :-)

Anyway, I could obviously go on and on about our experience, but I will stop and suggest that you spend a little extra on this hotel to get a LOT MORE!!!! Because of this experience, the other couple and ourselves have been converted to choosing Omni Hotels whenever available!

Room Tip: If you get a room you don't like, tell them immediately. I am sure they will accommodate if at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alysa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was our first visit to New Orleans and we loved it! Will definitely go back one day but probably would not opt to stay at this property a second time. The location is great and was close to everything we wanted to see, certainly no complaints there. And, we have never been unhappy with the service at any Omni hotels we've stayed at, and once again we weren't disappointed - it's hard to beat the free coffee and turndown service that an Omni offers! and the staff was very friendly and service oriented - our toilet broke and someone was at our door to repair it within 6 minutes of us calling - but this is an older hotel and the room was extremely small. I usually put out my toiletries in the bathroom, but couldn't do that here from lack of space (no vanity) - there were three small glass shelves above the toilet that were loaded with everything that would usually be kept on a vanity (towels, two glasses, hotel shampoo, mouthwash, etc, and a Kleenex box on the top shelf on its side so you could reach a Kleenex) and no place at all to put any personal things. The room itself was much the same, once the luggage rack was up, the room was overly crowded! We thought too crowded for the price. Also, they charged $39.00 a night for valet parking...yes, New Orleans certainly has parking issues, but we thought that was a quite steep. Again, the location and service were great, and there's nothing 'bad' to say about Omni Royal, but these two issues alone would have us try a different location the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank iwouldsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Royal Omni continues to be an exceptional hotel. The tiny details to which attention is paid is nothing short of remarkable. And I say this after several stays - each during a VERY busy time for the city. First and foremost -- the people are very friendly and up beat without being the least bit phoney.

Here's a quick list of pro's: The rooms are inspected EVERY day after cleaning. And they're quiet. And inspected again (my guess) with the nightly turn down service. Everything in the room worked perfectly...as in AC, high pressure showers, hi-quality linens, quick elevators (it's a large hotel, not a B&B) ETC. The roof top pool with food service is very nice. The restaurant (food and service) is very good. The front desk and front line service staff is terrific. Best example? I left a camera bag in the trunk of a cab one morning. The name of the cab co. was unknown to me; a call to the OMNI doorman was the last resort after an hour of scrambling. End result? The bag was returned to my room in 1 hour flat.

Also: The location on St. Louis Street allows easy access to all the French Quarter has to offer.

This hotel was chosen a few years ago after one too many problems with the charming, but sometimes lacking, smaller hotels in The Quarter. Haven't changed course since...

Room Tip: some rooms are larger than others, however you can't go wrong with this hotel. It's amazingl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick3451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,253 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $176 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing