We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, in the heart of the Quarter”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, in the heart of the Quarter”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've been staying in the hotel for years -- like over 20 years -- and think it's the best place to stay in the Quarter. Full service hotel, pool on the roof, great concierge (Peter van Duesen) friendly staff, (expensive, but there) garage in the basement, walking distance to everything in the Quarter. High floors available, so one can get away from the street noise, unlike in other places. If you spend a little time on the phone with Omni reservations, going throught he options and discounts, you can usually get a pretty decent rate.

Room Tip: We always get a balcony room ON ST LOUIS SQUARE -- very important. Beautiful view, table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMFBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We love to hear that you have been a guest here for the past 20 years! We will be sure to notify our stay about your experience here with us, and will be seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,847
    1,145
    297
    98
    60
See reviews for
658
2,092
157
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crocker, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I love to plan a vacation. Finding this hotel was a gem. It has great location, the staff were wonderful, cost was much better than a B&B, location is perfect.
We stayed four nights and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinthedream65452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Omni Royal is perfectly situated in the heart of the French Quarter. Though only one street from the craziness of Bourbon St we found the hotel to still be relatively quiet. That said, we also loved that we could sit on our balcony and drink in the atmosphere with fantastic jazz music playing regularly on surrounding streets. The hotel room was spacious and had beautiful furnishings though i do acknowledge the small bathroom from other comments. We also ate at virtually every restaurant that was close to our hotel with Napoleon house being a favourite. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel to others

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
The Omni Royal Orleans has many different room types, however the most sought out are our Balcony rooms. These room types over look either Royal or St. Louis Street and are perfect for people watching, morning coffee, or evening glass of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 nights in late March and had a wonderful time. As many reviews mention, both the main rooms and bathrooms are small, but I would say comparable to, if not larger than, most European hotels, so not an issue for us. We found the service to be friendly and accommodating and the concierge knowledgeable. The location, as many mention, could not be much better, as you're equidistant from both Bourbon and Decatur, but far enough from both that noise is not an issue if you're trying to sleep. Did not eat at the Rib Room nor use the bar. Hotel was very clean and inviting, very charming.

The only complaint we had was the room temperature. True, there is a programmable thermostat, but for some reason, ours seemed to be rather temperamental. We would often find ourselves going to bed freezing, only to wake in the middle of the night in a sweat, throwing the blankets off to try and cool down, then wake in the morning to freezing temperatures again. This was an issue during the day time as well. We kept thinking that maybe it was just us, but neither of us has ever had this issue before. Otherwise, though, the room was quite comfortable, and made good use of the limited space. We would definitely book here again, despite the temperature issues, as the service, location and price combination were too good to pass up. We found it to be a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffDiamond525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Omni Royal in New Orleans on February 15 through February 17. They had a really friendly staff. The rooms were really nice, & our room had a balcolny with a great view. The hotel is within walking distance of just about everything! We were really close to Bourbon, which was definitely a plus! I would definitely recommend staying here if you will be in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location was great we couldnt believe how close it was to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. The valet parking was great. We forgot our camara in the car and they brought the car up to us right away. We were only in New Orleans for one night so we walked down to Burbon Street at night. It was a very easy walk and we felt safe the whole time. We didnt hear any noise from outside and slep very well. In the morining we checked out the pool and althogh it was too cold to swim it was still a great view. I would have loved to sit up there in the sun and read a book. They let us leave the car in the parking garage after we checked out for a few hours so we could go get breakfast and check out the French Quarter. It was a very pleasent stay we would have loved to stay longer. The only complaint was that there was a fee for internet but that was nothing compared to how wonderful the rest of the hotel was.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACarlson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We would love to have you back so that you are able to enjoy more of the city!! Be sure to sign up for our Loyalty program to receive free wifi and so much more. Thank you for booking with us and for such a wonderful comment, as we appreciate both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

March 25, 2013
We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. Service was great, and location is perfect. We did not eat at the Rib Room but had a drink in the bar. Our only complaint was the tiny bathroom. But we will return for another visit and recommend to others.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Millie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,112 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,210 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,093 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing