We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Paramus, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
“Luxury and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for both business and pleasure. It is on a quiet street but only 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. I was personally not fan of Bourbon Street, but if it is your first time to New Orleans, I guess you need to see it at least once. This hotel was also a short, but pleasant ride along the St. Charles streetcar to the convention center. The rooms were a little small, but that is to be expected in New Orleans - think of it as if you were travelling to Europe. The concierge was more than helpful with tour and dinner recommendations. When I go back to New Orleans, I will definitely choose to stay here again. Also, while I was there, I walked into some of the other nearby hotels that I was contemplating to stay at and though some were very nice, I was happy I chose the Omni in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit New Orleans! If Bourbon Street is not for you, check with the Concierge about directing you to activities outside the French Quarter. There is so much to do in New Orleans that is only a Street Car ride away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,378
    1,001
    254
    72
    49
See reviews for
551
1,764
138
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The service at this hotel was amazing, worthy of 5 stars. Newly renovated but still had old world charm. Close to EVERYTHING, in the heart of the FQ. I celebrated my 40th in NOLA and had friends from all over the US join me at the Omni and we all LOVED it. Great property and I cannot WAIT to go back. Thank you Omni for making my birthday so special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmagoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for letting us be apart of your Birthday Celebration! We will surely hope see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, and it is conveniently located within the French Quarter, without being too close to the action to make sleeping an impossibility. I stayed here solo, in the Pavigny Suite on the 5th floor, just after the Super Bowl. I have almost no complaints about this hotel. The hotel staff is lovely, the rooms are elegantly appointed, and I was able to sleep through the night without any noise waking me up. That last one, in my experience, is a high bar in the French Quarter. The balcony in the room was very well maintained, and it was large enough to accommodate several people -- if you have the need (I didn't).

My only complaints about the room are of the maintenance variety. First, the toilet in the bathroom next to the bedroom would not flush at all without multiple tries. I cannot explain this one, and I found it rather bothersome. Second, the sink in the bathroom next to the bedroom leaked water from the knob area. I wish I had noticed it earlier, but I turned on the water and went to answer a call. When I returned, water was all over the floor of the bathroom. I'm sure this is simple to fix, and I notified the hotel staff, but this issue and the toilet issue did leave me with the impression that the bathrooms may not be as maintained or updated as they should be. Plus, I was unable to use this faucet in this bathroom for the remainder of my stay. Of course, the hotel is quite old, but, for the price they charge for these rooms, everything should work perfectly.

Overall, though, I love this hotel and would stay here again in a minute. If you want to be in the middle of the French Quarter without being on Bourbon with the crowds, this is a perfect place to stay. That said, if you want to be in the mix, you may want to stay closer in than two blocks away from Bourbon. Given I was here on business, and only for a short time, this was a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Chartres St. side of the hotel are immensely quieter than the ones on Royal -- one bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Your comments have been reviewed by our Engineering staff and issues have been fixed since your recent visit. It is important that not only do we provide the service expected but that we also provide the product. Thank you for bringing this to our attention during you stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great hotel and has a slightly faded old world charm. The heated swimming pool with a view of the Mississippi from the rooftop is to die for. We saw there on the morning of our departure, saw the suncome up over the river, and melt the mist. We swam there at night under the stars and the moon.
We identified three draw back to the hotel. The service in the bar at night is slow even by Louisianan standards. The room service kept on failing to replenish the coffee in our room. Finally, the bottle of water on the dressing table is not free as it would be in any other decent establishment it is $8 – what a rip off.
Still New Orleans and French Quarter is a great place to visit. I would return, just bring my own bottled water!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Glad to hear about your most recent stay! The next time you plan to stay at an Omni Hotel be sure to sign up for the loyalty program. It is complimentary and you receive many great perks such as, free wifi service, two complimentary bottles of water on the day of arrival, and so much more! You can read more about it at omnihotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel near many fun places to visit! The rooms were up to date! I was able to comfortably walk to Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and more. The only issue we gad was with the limited hours of the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaBirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for the Super Bowl--all in all a crazy time for NO and to be in NO--and the Omni did a stellar job managing the chaos. I was nervous the rooms were going to be SMALL, and while my Queen room wasn't large, it was perfect. Perfectly clean, totally comfortable and seemed all new, though I think they did just go through a remodel. No complaints about this hotel. Staff was wonderful. Rooftop pool is great though it was too cold to use and the gym is well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past December. First time staying in this particular hotel in NOLA. We enjoyed it and if the price is right, we’d definitely come back. As other reviewers stated, it’s worth it to sign up for the rewards program for the free Wi-Fi and the morning coffee deliveries. We had our vehicle with us and the guys running the valet parking (while expensive, but they all are, Omni wasn’t more than the other hotels or anything) were very accommodating as we do like to get out of the Quarter while we’re visiting. There was construction but it didn’t cause us any headaches; had a few drinks at the bar, clean rooms, nice turndown service at night, friendly staff, attractive hotel. Positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! I are pleased to hear about your recent experience and look forward to provide you the same service your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,029 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,984 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing