We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Omni Royal for three nights after purchasing a secret hotel deal on Priceline. I have a mixed impression.

My room was simply not good enough for a four star hotel. It was tiny and yet extremely poorly lit. There was no overhead light in the main bedroom, and instead lighting relied on three lamps in the room. None of the lamps were immediately adjacent to the bed, however (which is pretty remarkable given how small it was).

The bathroom was functional, but again small.

While I respect that these are business oriented rooms, I feel that these are simply not of a standard that they can be advertised as four stars on Priceline.

The breakfast buffet was not available the morning I went for breakfast at the Rib Room, and my waiter seemed extremely surprised when I enquired what the available cereals were (and was unable to provide any information).

I inadvertently opened an eight dollar bottle of water that was sitting out of the fridge that I thought was complimentary (it was sitting out of the fridge on the desk).

The concierge and the front of house staff were all very helpful, and the pool area is very nice. The ambience of the lobby is quite special, and with a nice room would be a solid choice for New Orleans.

Room Tip: My courtyard facing business room was extremely small and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,674
    1,098
    281
    90
    57
See reviews for
622
1,969
147
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

What a view! After dropping your bags in the room, your next stop should be the rooftop! Day or night, you won't be disappointed. The king bed provided a great night sleep. No noise from outside, but doors to the hallway seemed quite thin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forever Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your honesty in your recent review. When our European Queen Room types are booked we do our best to offer complimentary upgrades, though this is base on availability. Unfortunately we were not able to give you the opportunity to stay in our Premier Room this past visit. We have made note of your recent interactions in the Rib Room restaurant, and this will be addressed to the servers. Please know that is not of the Norm for our Hotel. Always feel free to contact the hotel directly during your reservation process and we will work hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We came here as a group of 10 girls for a bachelorette party. We had a fantastic time from start to finish, the hotel staff were very hospitable, and the location was perfect. It was close to Bourbon Street, but far enough to avoid all the noise and commotion. The bathroom is the double room is a good size, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel is quite clean, and the room service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilded P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of French quarter, with great prime rib restaurant in lobby, around the corner from great restos, bars and boutiques! Concierge Peter gave us a great tip for the City Tours Southern Style with tour guide Billy in a nice, clean, a/c mini bus, this guy knew it all, and was evident he is very proud of this fabulous city. A fun tour and great to come back to out comfy room and bed at the Omni!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonterriercrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We will be sure to share your fantastic experience with our concierge staff. It’s always enjoyable to talk about your city when you love it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here for the weekend and it was perfect! We signed up for the omni rewards program on line to receive free internet and delicious coffee and tea every morning. The location couldn't be better. The bed was super comfy ( and we are fussy) and the linens were new. The room wasn't massive but you don't need it, and frankly if you want to stay in the french quarter, you are in historic buildings! The Omni is just far away enough from Burbon street which, unless you want to be surrounded by drunken college kids, you dont want to stay on!
We walked everywhere with ease. The staff, along with almost everyone we met in Nawlins, were incredibly friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are delighted to hear about your weekend visit and we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I took a chance with a Priceline special and got two nights here for a song. Since we drove, parking for two nights cost as much as a room for one night, but there's really no other option. Our room is small and there's no free breakfast, but there's an outdoor pool and workout room on the top floor with a great observation deck. Great restaurants are only a stone's throw away and it's easy to walk almost anywhere in the French Quarter from the hotel. The staff is very nice and friendly and everything is first class.

Room Tip: Try Priceline Express for a good price and they'll give you a room way back in the corner where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckospringpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially at a great price! Hopefully the next time you stay here we will have an upgrade available during your stay. We would love you to see what our Premium rooms have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magnolia, ar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the service impeccable! We didn't even have to check in. The hotel had our room key ready when we arrived and just handed it to us and we were on our way! The view from our balcony was absolutely beautiful. We were able to experience the true feeling of the French Quarters and everything we wanted to see was so close by. Very pleased!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldysonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are delighted to hear about your wonderful experience with us. The Balcony rooms really do add a special touch to your experience in the French Quarter. We hope to see you again the next time your travels take you to New Orleans!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,868 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing