We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Fine Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a tough one. Pluses: Location, quaint/boutique feel, nice decor, comfortable bed. Negatives: Thin walls, service in the dining room--at least for my breakfast meals--mostly terrible. The prices are high, but for the location probably reasonable. Things I loved: the sounds of live music from the street below coming up into my room. The Old French Quarter feel to the place. We spent much of our time walking the city, and this was a perfect center, one block from the police precinct headquarters. Had we had noisy neighbors in the room next door, it could have been a nightmare, but we were lucky because they talked for a while and then were gone.

Bottom line: I'd stay there again, and would recommend to friends. It's not for everybody.

Room Tip: I would ask for the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    987
    249
    72
    46
See reviews for
540
1,737
136
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed the night after a wedding reception at the Napoleon House. The location of the hotel is great, and there is parking at the hotel. Just note that parking is extra, and like most hotels in the city, it is about 30 dollars a day. The rate for the room was a little pricey, but it did have a balcony over Royal Street. The room itself was small, but well furnished and looked must nicer then the price tag. The small balcony over Royal was great, fun view of the crowds below, but it was not loud at night. Would stay again if we were looking to stay in an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern KY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Down for a conference, my wife and I were rewarded on our first visit to the French Quarter by staying at this fine establishment. Perfectly situated with plenty within walking distance, the staff was accommodating and the facilities outstanding; having a Terrace Level room was perfect! One of the most amazing things, though, are the elevators. Granted, it was only one floor but you don't feel a thing and the scenery outside changes almost instantly!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank e4tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. Location in the French Quarter is very good, right off Royal and in the middle of all the great shops and restaurants. You must walk up a flight of stairs after you enter the building to get to the registration desk. I had some challenges with Front Desk adding my Omni membership number to my reservation - no newspaper, welcome beverage, turndown service, etc. on the first day and when I brought it to front desk's attention, still didn't receive newspaper on the second day. Bellmen provided excellent service. Conference rooms are good and were capable of handling high tech AV presentations. Food was delicious. Room itself was on the small side, and bathroom was quite small although very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street, and also ask for room not on conference room floor (2nd floor) which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoneatboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While traveling back home to Florida from Texas, I booked this hotel via Priceline to help break up the drive. I was a little apprehensive since the other TA reviews were mixed. I was pleasantly surprised to discover upon our arrival that we were staying at one of the nicest hotels I had ever been at. I would rank the Omni only second best to the Ritz Carlton. I couldn't believe we were staying there for $70.

The double room was spacious, well appointed, and very comfortable. Our room had a little balcony that overlooked the French Quarter but was far enough removed from Bourbon street to allow for a good nights rest.

The staff was well trained and friendly. This hotel features a rooftop pool, fitness center, and sitting areas that overlook the entire city. Parking was $34 per night, which was a bit of a shock, but I assume is probably standard for downtown New Orleans.

My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We got in late and had to head out first thing in the morning. I am really looking forward to making another trip to New Orleans just to stay at the Omni.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I were recently in New Orleans for a business and pleasure trip. The hotel is beautiful, clean and very centrally located. The personnel were gracious and informative especially Bernard at the front desk, Rico at the front entrance and Don at the Concierge. Added bonuses were the wonderful views from the balcony and an awesome showerhead!! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rooms are small but set up so well you hardly notice....great beds, and linens! Bathrooms are also updated and bright...lots of mirrors and plug in in the rooms. Great view from roof top bar and pool....I will be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAR0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your kind post and are excited to have you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,865 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#23 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,793 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Omni Hotels & Resorts, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing