We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in NOLA”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #20 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Best location in the FQ. Close to everything - Bourbon Street & all the Quarter has to offer, Marigny, Dowtown...it's all right there. Roofdeck pool. Restaurant (Rib Room) and bar (Touche) onsite Only downside is the construction and Tanya & Dorise playing their music just outside on Royal St. Let's hope the renovations are all finished by Super Bowl 2013 and then we can rate you a 5 across the board.

Room Tip: ask for room away from construction, if that's even possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pszanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your time at our property even despite the construction. Fortunately renovation is coming to an end and you will soon get to see the finished product. Thank you for your posting!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,010 - 4,016 of 4,997 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

This beautiful historic hotel has the best location in the French Quarter. The hotel was completely rennovated in 2012. The rooms are decorated in a pleasing style with new beds and linens. The beds are super comfortable.

We had stayed in the hotel many times previously and it had shown its age, so we stopped staying here and stayed across Canal street, but then had to take a taxi.

Everything in the Quarter is in walking distance from the Royal Orleans. We stayed in 664, the Ibersuite, which has a gorgeous view of the bridge. The pool is under construction at this time, but the Rib Room has the same wonderful service (thank you Adolpho and Effie) and great food! Our daughter stayed in 605 which also has a great view!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Never have I experienced such a welcoming from any hotel staff! They make you truly feel like a guest in their home. What a treat! This trip is a Christmas present for my husband and myself, so we had high hopes that we would have a special time here. From the time we drove in, every person has gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. We are thrilled with our room-a balcony room that has been recently renovated. It is lovely. Yes there is construction, but I can't take off stars for that-every hotel has to go through renovations at some time. We did online check-in(super easy), and signed up ahead of time as members of their select club. It was well worth it-free wi-fi, free coffee & paper every morning, etc. The Christmas decorations are gorgeous and the location superb. After this experience, I plan on booking my next trip staying at on Omni property.

Room Tip: The new balcony rooms look out across the state Supreme Court building, which is fairly quiet and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the royal omni before. For location in the French quarter it's really tough to beat. The service is good and the folks here are quite helpful.

On the down side it IS an old hotel so the insulation/soundproofing isn't the greatest. In fact it's 1 am and I can hear the creaking of the bed a floor above me. Fortunately there's not much movement.

And why is it, when I'm paying $400 a night for a suite, that it bothers me so to know the hotel is charging me $34/day to park my car when there is a lot right next door that only charges $20? I hate being taken advantage of and that leaves a sour taste in my mouth... Weird, eh?

The bed is comfortable as is the suite. The check in was a breeze, the wait staff pleasant, all in all it's fine. Not fantastic, not bad.... Just okay. Damn parking.... ..... ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Friendly early checkin.. Rooms are very small (we had upgraded to Deluxe) but clean, very smoke-free and elegantly decorated. VERY comfortable bed and pillows. TINY bathroom. Excellent service at desk-- no issue giving us free WiFi and late checkout. Sadly, the gorgeous pool area was closed, although we were told we could swim down the street at another hotel--not convenient for spontaneous dip or sunbathing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Although our room was quite small, it was tasteful, comfortable and spotless. It was exactly what we needed for a week in New Orleans, and we were very pleased.

On the Friday night it was a little noisy in the hallway outside of our room when a handful of people came home from Bourbon St, but I don't think that noise would be a problem in a larger suite.

The location of the hotel was perfect - everything in the French Quarter (and beyond) is within walking distance. We especially enjoyed the proximity to Bourbon St.

The service was fantastic - staff there are attentive, happy, and enthusiastic!

Wifi is very spotty (frustrating!), and they charge for local calls, but those are really our only complaints. Starbucks coffee in the lobby was handy, and delivered to your room in the morning (free, if you're an Omni card holder) on request.

This Omni is one of the good ones, and is excellent value for your dollar.

A solid 4-star!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicalTrailblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location is conveniently located in the French Quarter but I felt a little unsafe walking off the main strip even for the short distance down the dark, dark narrow street to the entrance. The hotel may be grand but at the moment, it's hard to tell with all the construction. The entrance is very pretty although the bell station is in the door up a short flight of steps which leaves you with the odd choice when you arrive of leaving your bags unattended (and out of sight) which you go up to ask for help, or dragging them up the stairs yourself.

The service was fine although I didn't experience much of it. My room on the 7th floor was small and so, so dark, it was a bit depressing. The bathroom similarly was so small, I couldn't manage all my toiletries. There was only one set of 2 plugs that wasn't either in the bathroom or behind a heavy piece of furniture (the TV armoire, etc) so if you're like me with a phone/tablet/laptop, being a multi-plug. The a/c system was loud and the walls are so thin, you can here every hallway conversation which is unfortunate if you are trying to go to bed at 11pm or so (like me) in New Orleans.

The loyalty program here is interesting. It’s great that you get free turndown service and pressing (so nice for the business traveler!) with it but I find it odd that they toss in turndown service (which you get at even a mid-level hotel) as a “perk”. In any case, sign up before you arrive and register your future stay as it seems they can’t give you all the benefits if you sign up at or after check-in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,436 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,806 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,655 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 166 in New Orleans
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $181 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing