We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Be A Guest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be A Guest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Never have I experienced such a welcoming from any hotel staff! They make you truly feel like a guest in their home. What a treat! This trip is a Christmas present for my husband and myself, so we had high hopes that we would have a special time here. From the time we drove in, every person has gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. We are thrilled with our room-a balcony room that has been recently renovated. It is lovely. Yes there is construction, but I can't take off stars for that-every hotel has to go through renovations at some time. We did online check-in(super easy), and signed up ahead of time as members of their select club. It was well worth it-free wi-fi, free coffee & paper every morning, etc. The Christmas decorations are gorgeous and the location superb. After this experience, I plan on booking my next trip staying at on Omni property.

Room Tip: The new balcony rooms look out across the state Supreme Court building, which is fairly quiet and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    1,001
    254
    72
    49
See reviews for
551
1,764
138
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the royal omni before. For location in the French quarter it's really tough to beat. The service is good and the folks here are quite helpful.

On the down side it IS an old hotel so the insulation/soundproofing isn't the greatest. In fact it's 1 am and I can hear the creaking of the bed a floor above me. Fortunately there's not much movement.

And why is it, when I'm paying $400 a night for a suite, that it bothers me so to know the hotel is charging me $34/day to park my car when there is a lot right next door that only charges $20? I hate being taken advantage of and that leaves a sour taste in my mouth... Weird, eh?

The bed is comfortable as is the suite. The check in was a breeze, the wait staff pleasant, all in all it's fine. Not fantastic, not bad.... Just okay. Damn parking.... ..... ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steel City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Friendly early checkin.. Rooms are very small (we had upgraded to Deluxe) but clean, very smoke-free and elegantly decorated. VERY comfortable bed and pillows. TINY bathroom. Excellent service at desk-- no issue giving us free WiFi and late checkout. Sadly, the gorgeous pool area was closed, although we were told we could swim down the street at another hotel--not convenient for spontaneous dip or sunbathing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Although our room was quite small, it was tasteful, comfortable and spotless. It was exactly what we needed for a week in New Orleans, and we were very pleased.

On the Friday night it was a little noisy in the hallway outside of our room when a handful of people came home from Bourbon St, but I don't think that noise would be a problem in a larger suite.

The location of the hotel was perfect - everything in the French Quarter (and beyond) is within walking distance. We especially enjoyed the proximity to Bourbon St.

The service was fantastic - staff there are attentive, happy, and enthusiastic!

Wifi is very spotty (frustrating!), and they charge for local calls, but those are really our only complaints. Starbucks coffee in the lobby was handy, and delivered to your room in the morning (free, if you're an Omni card holder) on request.

This Omni is one of the good ones, and is excellent value for your dollar.

A solid 4-star!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTrailblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location is conveniently located in the French Quarter but I felt a little unsafe walking off the main strip even for the short distance down the dark, dark narrow street to the entrance. The hotel may be grand but at the moment, it's hard to tell with all the construction. The entrance is very pretty although the bell station is in the door up a short flight of steps which leaves you with the odd choice when you arrive of leaving your bags unattended (and out of sight) which you go up to ask for help, or dragging them up the stairs yourself.

The service was fine although I didn't experience much of it. My room on the 7th floor was small and so, so dark, it was a bit depressing. The bathroom similarly was so small, I couldn't manage all my toiletries. There was only one set of 2 plugs that wasn't either in the bathroom or behind a heavy piece of furniture (the TV armoire, etc) so if you're like me with a phone/tablet/laptop, being a multi-plug. The a/c system was loud and the walls are so thin, you can here every hallway conversation which is unfortunate if you are trying to go to bed at 11pm or so (like me) in New Orleans.

The loyalty program here is interesting. It’s great that you get free turndown service and pressing (so nice for the business traveler!) with it but I find it odd that they toss in turndown service (which you get at even a mid-level hotel) as a “perk”. In any case, sign up before you arrive and register your future stay as it seems they can’t give you all the benefits if you sign up at or after check-in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We made our reservation on Priceline and got a deal, Thursday - Saturday stay for $109 per night. Normally, rooms at the Omni run around $179 per night, so this was a definite improvement. You are best to use their valet parking, which will run you $38.08 per night ($34 plus tax.) This is completely worth it because the Omni is in such a great location in the French Quarter you can walk everywhere!

If you are going to stay at the Omni, go ahead and sign up for their Select Guest program. It provides you with free wireless internet, paper in the morning and free morning beverages to your room. Of course, a week after making our reservations thru Priceline, I got an email from Select Guest services for $99 / night during our travel period. Opps! So definitely sign up for it now, even if you aren't planning on staying there for a while.

Everyone that works there was really nice! We checked in late Thursday to find the hotel was having its employee Christmas party in the main ballroom, they were in quite the party mode! A lovely young woman named Val checked us in and was incredibly sweet despite the fact that she had to work while everyone else was partying! And she was back the next morning, still with a beautiful smile on her face. A young woman in the guest shop even helped me out when I remarked about needing a handkerchief. She said "just a minute" and returned with a very nice cloth napkin for me. It was really sweet of her to go out of her way for such a small request! (I *did* leave the napkin in our room when we left. ha..ha..)

The room we got was small. I mean SMALL. It is the very first hotel room I've stayed in where two people couldn't walk around the room at the same time. Despite our request for a King, we were put into a Queen on the interior of the building. I figure this was due to booking through Priceline and wasn't a big deal to us. The courtyard was lovely to view and we were away from the construction that is still going on.

The construction going on was around the front of the hotel and made access in and out somewhat congested. Plus, the construction was very, very noisy. Luckily, our room was far away and we never heard it while trying to sleep.

Did I mention the room was small? Seriously! Like, living in a matchbox, small. Honestly, we didn't mind because our intent was to stay out on the French Quarter as much as possible. The room was just there for sleeping and showering, so small wasn't a problem. But if you plan on spending more time in your room than that, do NOT get an interior room. I saw, through a few open doors, that the rooms on the outside of the building were much larger!

The hotel was done up in beautiful Christmas decorations, sumptuous rugs covered the floor. The kind you just sink into because they are so thick. The hotel is very lavish and beautiful. To be surrounded by such beauty, also made the price very acceptable to our palate.

All in all I felt very spoiled by staying at the Omni Royal and I would definitely do it again. This time, however, I would make sure and reserve straight through the hotel so that we got a bigger room and king size bed.

Oh, and the best part? We were a few blocks from Cafe du Monde! I'm sure you know what we had for breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: Try to get an exterior room, but away from construction. Interior rooms are VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greers Ferry, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We are select guest and Emily the loyalty ambassador does a wonderful job. She called the day before we arrived to check in if we need anything upon our arrival. Joking around I said your calling to upgrade me to a suite! She laughed and said let me see what I can do. She came back with a room upgrade to a king premium that had a great view. Thank you Emilu for all you did. Hotel is in the middle of the French market and close to al the fun things if NOLA. Have stayed many times in NOLA and this was one of the best!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kekenseair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,026 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,983 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing