We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“gorgeous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF + BREAKFAST
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“gorgeous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

great deal. rooftop deck! booked it through hotwire, so only paid $100. split between 4 ppl- hellz yeah! the lobby was fancy, everyone was polite, and the room was clean and comfy. it was in the perfect location for our one-night stay in new orleans before heading back to the cold after our cruise. we were able to wander around the french quarter all night and they didn't even laugh at us when we called at 3:30 a.m. asking for a wake up call at 4. well, maybe they did.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,327
    981
    249
    71
    46
See reviews for
535
1,729
136
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A bad experience caused me to post an earlier very negative review of this hotel and its personnel. When the hotel's upper management was made aware of the incident, I received a call from the GM's assistant, Tenea Keefe. After hearing a recap of the incident and her internal investigation, she offered a complimentary visit. We revisited New Orleans during Thanksgiving. Our room was clean and the beds are so comfy. (We have since purchased a mattress set that is offered through the Omni chain.) Tenea is a professional and an asset to this hotel. She is very personable, caring and helped turn this unfortunate experience around. I gave this review only 4 stars rating of the property due to fact that the hotel is in the midst of an exterior facelift. At times, only one entrance may be used. Next review will be 5 stars because we will return to this grand hotel in the future. Kudos to the attentive staff and especially Tenea. We'll see you soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Level Contributor
278 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The management of Omni Royal Orleans should teach a course to the best hotel schools in the country. How they keep every staff member jovial, guest-focussed, and on top of their game 100% of the time, is beyond my best guess. Emily contacts you before you arrive asking if you have any questions. Val, the pleasant desk manager smiles when you arrive and tries to meet a special request. Rico, the bellman who has likely been there for years notices that I'd gotten tangled in French Quarter traffic and suggests they arrange for a free drink at the bar. Carole the operator gives a special friendly welcome on the phone. The housekeeping staff keeps the place spotless and in the Nola quarter, this is no small task. Even the parking attendants were sharp and remember names and make you feel welcomed. The list goes on and on and on. This goes on despite the hotel's being in the midst of the largest remodel in its history. They are in the final stages of remodel and believe it or not I didn't hear a hammer drop. The remodeled rooms are quietly pleasant. The remodel I saw was mostly surface - new furnishings, carpet, drapes etc. The rooms I saw were not enlarged and baths were not redone or enlarged either. The big money seems to be going into an elaborate and costly set of new balconies going up on the exterior of the hotel. The major change I liked were the beds, which are now much like my favorite beds at the W chain - firm but you feel like you are wrapped up in a marshmellow as you drift off. Perfect after a night in the quarter! The rooftop pool and terraces are ever so beautiful. My fav nola hotel, period and one of the best in the country. Don't expect lots of elbow room in your room but everything else makes up for it. Be sure and join their Omni Select program for free for many nice perks even on your first visit. One of the best programs of any chain. The 6th floor is my fav, great views and away from traffic noise. 7th floor rooms are slightly attic-like, inside the sloping mansard roof. Check the rates on suites - on low-volume weekends their amazing suites are actually affordable. Did I forget room service? Wow. It's great as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semmes, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We are staying here before leaving on a cruise. The staff was exceptionally helpful and not only recommended an excellent restaurant, but shared a discount coupon with us. We wcould definitely recommend this hotel. The only reason we didn't give this hotel a five was because there was a smell of cigarette in the hallway of our floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are grateful that you enjoyed your time here at the Omni Royal Orleans before you were off to your cruise. We apologize for the inconvenience of the smell in the hallway, as we are a 100% non-smoking hotel and we take pride in that. Enjoy your vacation and hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Been staying here for years and love it. The roof top pool and bar are a secret not many know are there. Great view down the crescent and one more level up is a small observation deck with a 360 degree view of Jackson Square, river and surrounding Quarter. The Omni is making extensive renovations to the facade of the hotel to add more balcony rooms. We clicked the upgrade button and were awarded a wonderful one bedroom, living room suite overlooking the river, just $50 more a night. Come on, you flew all the way there, go for it. Great parking arrangement under hotel on Chartre Street. Great restaurant and bar. Try Eggs Sardou for breakfast and try to get hungry again for dinner. Wonderfully friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayHeadTravelinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This lovely hotel is in a fantastic location right in the middle of the French Quarter between Royal and Chartres Street. One block from Bourbon Street, two blocks to the Mississipi River and a short walk to everything, you really couldn't find a better location to explore the French Quarter on foot.

Our room was a good size, with very comfortable beds. It's worth joining the free Omni Select Guest program, as this gives you access to free wifi and a free beverage each morning. The wifi was very reliable and quite fast, allowing us to use FaceTime and Skype to call home to Australia. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the cleaning staff were very thorough.

There's a nice swimming pool, bar and gym on the roof, but due to some unseasonably cold weather, we didn't try it out. The restaurant and bar downstairs are very nice, we had fabulous ribs one night. A tiny little convenience store operates during the day just opposite reception for things you might have forgotten.

The main entrance has stairs, which can be tricky for people with mobility issues. Once you have a room key, you can enter and leave through the underground car park entrance onto Chartres Street; my mother is recovering from a broken foot, and we found this much easier than negotiating the stairs each time.

At the time of our visit, the streets of New Orleans were being repaired, so walking around the French Quarter was a little tricky, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. However, there were also renovations going on in the hotel, and a temporary lift and scaffolding had been placed around the building. Unfortunately, the temporary lift was right beside our window, and it went up and down quite noisily until 10.30pm each evening. That's not too bad, because we were still awake, but I was a bit unhappy when it started up again at 7.00am on Sunday morning. It would have been nice if they'd held off until 8.00am or even 9.00am. This is obviously a temporary problem, but if you're going there in the near future, ask for a room away from the lift.

Despite this minor problem, I would be very happy to stay at the Omni Royal again next time I stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlendaSinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You will not do better than the Omni when it comes to location. It is an easy walk to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, and almost any restaurant in the quarter.
The rooms are a bit small-ours did not have room for a lounging chair. The decor is beautiful, and the rooms are well cared for. Service was friendly and attentive in all cases. The restaurant was very good in terms of food quality and price. Service was extremely friendly and unobtrusive.
The property is currently under rennovation, and here is where management has fallen short.
Scaffolding covers the building, and management has taken no steps to direct guests to the entrances, which are not all that easy to spot. There was no one at the entrance to call a cab, though cabs were readily accessible. During the day, the sound of workmen can be intrusive.
Taking all this in to account, the hotel is my favorite in the quarter.

Room Tip: Do not get a room next to a suite. The connecting doors are poorly insulated for sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lkoegel752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,836 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,052 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,753 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing