We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location for this good hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location for this good hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The location for this good hotel definitely wins the Grand prize. Right in the middle of French Quarters. Beautiful main lobby and very helpful staff. Room was somewhat small and maybe little outdated but very clean. This hotel has that old world charm. We would definitely use Omni Royal for our next stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kruzers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,376
    1,001
    253
    72
    49
See reviews for
551
1,763
138
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The good:
Beds were super comfortable
Location is great, right off Bourbon street.
Small but nice rooms.
Very Quiet.

The bad:
The hotel did very little to recognize platinum or Black status in the Omni Hotel chain, like most other Omni hotels.
Shower pressure was a little bit high.
Workout facility is small, very little place to lift weights in there. Maybe reconfigure setup.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location off bourbon street - safe, close to all. Rooms are nicely appointed... Comfortable beds, coffee maker, robe, etc. the bathrooms are very very small... No counter space and toilet has flush valve like public restroom. Very odd.
Fresh brewed Starbucks coffee iced coffee and iced tea downstairs for a fee is nice touch.
******they are renovating tight now on floors 2 & 3 starting at 7 am. It is very
loud. Be sure to request room on upper level if you go during 2012!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loved this hotel! Close enough to Bourbon Street to enjoy it, but far enough away not to hear it! The hotel is being remodeled and we stayed on the 7th floor. Room was a bit small, but it was clean and everything worked. Well, we did some electrical issues, and the hotel was quick to respond to repairs, but later we learned, that maybe there were other reasons for electrical issues not related to construction.
Check in was super fast and the all of the employees were very willing to help us! We are Omni rewards members, so our check in was pre done and we received free wi fi in room, and morning drinks from room service. Which was really nice, because making the in room coffee can be tricky and having the coffee delivered was a real treat.
The bar at the rib room was wonderful. Great drinks and wonderful staff.
The roof top bar was great, but the bummer here is that people were allowed to smoke so we did not stay as long at the rooftop bar as we would have like to. But we just jumped in the pool. Problem solved. Beautiful views of the Mississippi River from the observation deck. We even visited the bar that is attached to the hotel, but outside, Touche. The bartender there remembered our room number was accommodating.
The room next door to us did a have screaming baby. But we had brought our earplugs so we had to use them at times to sleep.
I would stay at this hotel again and again. Loved it.
The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because our group had 3 rooms and we all had different levels of service. The maid service was very inconsistant, where our room would be cleaned first thing in the AM, but the room right across the hall from us, wasn't cleaned at 4pm. Wierd. And on the Sunday of our stay, the room service trays from breakfast were still on the floor of the hallway until 8pm. Gross. But like I said, this was inconsistant and not a reason to deter me from staying here again.

Room Tip: 7th floor: small rooms with little windows (king beds). 6th floor: larger rooms with big windows (d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEPRICN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here last year for a week and I must say it really is fab and the food is also fab.
The area is in a perfect location to see the french quarter.
Don't miss out, book it now... You will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Irishpaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for seven nights. The hotel was elegant and in a superb location nearby everything in the French Quarter. The service was FABULOUS. The staff truly went out of their way to welcome us and get us everything we needed. For example, on our first night there we were headed out to explore (clearly not sure where we were going) so one of the guys at the front desk took about 5 minutes to give us some tips on where to go ... he also noticed there was a potential for rain and gave us an umbrella. Truly outstanding service. All of the bellman were great as well. I felt like a very honored guest. The room was small but was very clean, newly remodeled, and nicely decorated. Not like I'm going to be running laps around the room. It was just fine for me. The restaurant was wonderful too. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've previously stayed at the Omni Royal. The service is always superb and the location is so central that the room size issues become insignificant. The rooms are well cared for and clean and the turn down service does make you feel pampered.
We were checked in by Phil, whose customer service skills were A++++. He was EXTREMELY helpful, considerate & thoughtful. The rest of the staff we encountered never failed to greet us.
They are undergoing a renovation so there was some noise, but it was minimal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grisel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,022 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,157 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,980 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing