We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice. Needs Updating”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice. Needs Updating”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel lobby is very nice. We called to double check our reservation earlier in the day and when we got there, they had (of course) accidentally checked someone else in under our reservation. Because of this, the check-in took about 30 mins while they figured out what happened and a manager re-issued us a room. This was annoying but they were very apologetic and issues us a $50 credit to the bar in the hotel. The room was pretty nice, it had a big window and the shower had good pressure. My only complaint is that the bathroom could really use an updated bigger counter. There was barely space for one overnight bag. Oh and the toilet made a screeching sound when flushed when we first got there but told the desk on our way out and it was fixed by the time we got back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,861
    1,147
    298
    98
    59
See reviews for
659
2,101
159
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anaheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed a couple of days before leaving on our cruise. the hotel was better. beautiful, old world but first class, quiet, perfectly located. beautiful antiques in the room, materials and fabrics first rate, opulent. did not try the jacuzzi. A gem overall. We had no view, but the room was so beautifully appointed we did not even look out the window or give it any thought. My first experience with an omni hotel and I will stay at no other if I return to New Orleans. Perfect. In the heart of the french quarter, you can walk everywhere of interest without a taxi. I found it impossible to get bad food anywhere we went. Concierge very helpful. My only complaint was the lobster bisque. Not the style we get here in califonria, light and creamy. more like gumbo stock. The Omni is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrence1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the Omni over the New Year's weekend and although we enjoyed the location of the hotel, once again we were witness to another hotel scraping every little bit of plastic out of our wallets. Now I'm certainly not opposed to spending a good amount for a luxury hotel but I've always found my money to return more benefits from a boutique hotel or bed and breakfast. This Omni is just another example of a chain taking advantage of a "Nickel and Diming" technique common in American hotels. I suppose it wouldn't have been so obvious if we hadn't just spent the night at a low-end Econo-Lodge the night before in Memphis. The list of services for each kept spinning around in my head. So let's compare...

One night in Memphis, good size room, four blocks from Beale St, great view of the city: $80
Two nights at the Omni, smaller room, view of wall from window well: $612

Parking at hotel in Memphis: Free
Parking at Omni for two days: $76

Breakfast at hotel in Memphis: Free
Two bagels and coffee at Omni: $18

Internet at hotel in Memphis: Free
Internet for two days in at Omni: $24

So I assume these extra charges are luxury versions of what I may have received in Memphis. Really? Tasted like the same bagels. Does the internet cost more in New Orleans? Maybe it costs more to park in New Orleans? Not really. There's a parking garage right next to the hotel that charges only $25/day. So why does the Omni feel it should charge it's guests so much more for the same service?

All I'm saying is you can avoid drinking the $8 bottle of water the Omni provides in the room. But, when you stay here, keep your credit card handy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NaturalDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Perfect stay in new Orleans. Location was awesome with an easy walk to Jackson Square . Two easy blocks to the center of Bourbon street. We had a deluxe petite queen room, although small it was very. Lean and nice. We added a comment that it was our anniversary and were greeted with champagne in our room after a night on bourbon. We really felt special. We will stay at the Omni Royal again when in New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I've been to New Orleans about 6 times and stayed at various hotels. Our stay at the Omni Royal Orleans was great. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the location can't be beat. If you can get a room with a balcony on Royal (very few available) it makes for a great time with local artists playing jazz on the street below. Rooms and bathrooms were small, which is typical in the French Quarter but they were decorated with tasteful traditional decor. Staff was friendly, attentive, and check in & out process could not have been easier. Hotel was accomodating and concierge very knowledgable. I have stayed at the Monteleone in the past and would be more likely to stay there again because of the more boutique / unique experience. But for most, this is recommended and should be a great spot.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor room with Balcony overlooking Royal Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The location in the heart of the French Quarter can't be beat: close to everything but far enough from Bourbon Street to be quiet. But the hallways and rooms are showing their age. Our "deluxe" room wasn't - it was small, average and the 21-inch TV in the too-big for the room armoire suggests renovations are needed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelaustin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our room was small and in need of an update. The bathroom tiny and not pristine (though the towels were nice). The heated pool on the roof is a plus. Lack of a casual breakfast place is a minus. Location is excellent. Our double included, well, double beds (not queen) and they had an uncomfortable dip in the center. Slept poorly and woke with a back ache. Carpet nasty. It's an historic hotel, but it seems very generic.

Room Tip: Get a balcony if available. Otherwise, there is nothing special about this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnousAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,121 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,103 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing