We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic hotel in the perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I've stayed at the Omni Royal multiple times and have always been happy with my stay. The location is absolutely perfect, easy walk to Bourbon Street, St. Louis Cathedral, downtown, etc. The rooms are well appointed and quiet, which is impressive considering you're in the middle of all the action. The hotel is right across the street from the State Courthouse, which makes it an easy landmark to find your way back to. The beds were comfortable and we LOVED the towels (not sure why but they're amazing). The staff were incredibly kind and helpful in making our stay a wonderful one! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRwheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    1,056
    266
    77
    52
See reviews for
580
1,855
142
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derry
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

After all the great reviews I was so excited to be staying here for mardi gras, but the minute I saw the very dirty and old carpet on entering the hotel I wanted to leave but everywhere was full due to mardi gras. Our room was large as we paid extra before we arrived the beds changed and very comfy staff are lovely and friendly but the bathroom is dirty cracked tiles mould over the grout paint peeling off the bath yuck won't recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogramDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you very much for selecting our hotel on your recent visit to New Orleans. I've shared your picture with our housekeeping staff, please accept our apologies for the state of your bathroom, this is unacceptable and not the norm. Although we are preparing for a complete room renovation this summer, that does not excuse the level of cleanliness you experienced with us last week. We hope that you'll consider staying with us once again later this year to experience our completely remodeled guest rooms. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Ohio
Level Contributor
392 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We had read the rooms were small so we expected it. The decor was very elegant .. the beds were very comfy and the location was excellent. We had to put our bag on top the armoir and we bumped each other alot getting ready because it was a small room. I was good with it though ... the price was right and the hotel was beautiful.
The roof top area is worth seeing. The view is lovely but we didn't try the pool. I hear they give you a complimentary bottle of water or some free drink ... we didn't ask about it and didn't recieve it ...soooo you might want to. But we really enjoyed our stay ... we knew we were going to be running around alot and not in the room much but when we crashed there at night ...the bed was VERY comfie and the room was lovely ..
my only disappointment is they change for wi fi ... but nothing huge.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chattygirl7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

In the middel of every thing right in the French Quarter can not get any better loaction
Got a offer from Hotwire.com which was the value part
had a late arraviel and got the last room at the hotel it was tiny , but with a view of the garden so not that bad placed
Toilet floaded in the middel of night , DH got to dry up every thing we felt sort of emberassed about this, but we had to call in the early morning to get it fixed they fixed it straith away , but we where sort of worried that it would happen again.
Friends of us that checked in the day after us talked with the hotel personal and got another room for us :-)
This room was so much bigger and with a view of the street
Rib room for breakfast buffet very good value and so nice people working there.
Had some drinks in the bar one evening aswell
It was clean , location was very good , service was good even if the took them some days to sort out that we where on the selected guests program of theirs
oh and its a very nice roof swimming pool there was up there a couple of times , but didn´t swim , reason why I didn´t rate the sleep Quality that high is that I probably is a light sleeper and woke up several times in the night , even when I got the express check out note under the door I woke up .
Rooms - the furitures is very big there so the rooms seems smaller then they really are , but a very good first stay at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutter38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Omni Royal Orleans for the first weekend of Mardi Gras and loved this hotel. It is a 1 or 2 min. walk to Bourbon Street which is far enough away to be able to sleep but close enough that you can get right into the action with no delay.

Stayed on the 5th floor in a regular room. Two full beds and a basic layout but for New Orleans the room size was generous and the bathroom was comfortable as well. The water pressure was monsoon-like which was pleasantly unexpected in the French Quarter given the age of the plumbing. Traveled with some other friends who had the Magilny Suite (Room 516) and that room was monster-sized with a great corner view of the Quarter.

The rooftop pool was unexpected and with such beautiful weather it was a great place to get some sun. They have a pool bar which was convenient and a great observation deck that you can see for miles from in any direction. Though I didn't swim there were plenty of guests who were in the water and said the temperature was perfect.

There are some steep steps to enter from the street to get to the lobby but the bellman do a great job of hustling bags up and down to make it easy on their guests. The doormen were great and were a wealth of information to us. We scored a reservation at the Court of Two Sisters Jazz Brunch because of them.

We tried the Rib Room restaurant inside the hotel and the food and service were both perfect. Loved the steaks and the seafood was great. Bar was a little conservative on the drink strength but other than that it was a very good meal.

There is a small convenience-type store in the lobby serving Starbucks coffee (Starbucks are not allowed in the French Quarter. Community Coffee (local choice) is everywhere and similar in quality) so that was great for the early morning caffeine fix. There was no coffee maker in the room.

We ate beignets at Cafe Du Monde one morning and other than a long wait they were worth it. Their chicory coffee is a bit of an acquired taste I am sure (tastes like black licorice to me) but it was fun to try something new.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBlueiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel is located in a great area of the French Quarter and is within walking distance of all the sites and restaurants that you would want to visit. The hotel itself offers valet parking (but takes a while to do when you arrive amid the check out rush). Guest parking is located next to the building in a garage and valet will bring your car up for you as well. The rooms are well kept but our room (single queen bed) was a bit small. The bathroom was also small and difficult to maneuver in as well. While we did not have a view of the french quarter (we were on the third floor) the views from the top floor are nice and again we were able to walk to all the places we wanted to eat and see before our trip ended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsudreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Omni Royal is a grand hotel in a convenient location in the French Quarter. We stay here time and again due to the clean rooms and attentive staff. The Rib Room offers an excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BamaGriswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,562 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,409 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,661 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Property: Omni Royal Orleans
Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing