We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Feel like home in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivier House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Feel like home in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

As the other reviews state, this is definitely not a cookie-cutter, traditional hotel chain. It is truly a boutique hotel, but that's why I loved it. I stayed the week with some friends, and we felt like we were coming home, not to a hotel room. The place is not perfect and modern. It is historic, charming, homey. Our room had a sitting area with tv, bathroom, and kitchen counter at the bottom then a balcony with two twin beds. It was perfect for a girls getaway! All the time-period pieces and old world charm were fantastic. And you cannot beat the location truly in the heart of the French Quarter. They took our car keys when we arrived Friday afternoon and never needed them again until we left. Walking distance from everything, including trolley line if you going a little further.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAP1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    121
    40
    19
    29
See reviews for
96
208
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I will start out by saying normally we stay in named brand hotels. This time we decided to take a chance on something with a little character. Well Olivier House did not disappoint us. It really was a great experience and we will more than likely stay there again the next time we go to New Orleans. The elevator was the greatest adventure ever!

The room we stayed in (RM 402) was very nice. Antique furniture decorated the room as well as the bathroom. The bed was AWESOME!! I slept great each and every night we were there. The shower was great too. If you are looking for a bathtub, there isn't one in this room which was just fine with me. The room had a coffee maker and a small fridge which was great for keeping drinks in since we stayed for 4 nights.

It is less than a half block from bourbon street and like everyone else has said you cannot hear the noise at all. The staff were all very friendly!!

Now for the cons, I will say we stayed during Memorial day weekend so I am not to upset about these minor things but I did feel they needed mentioning. The pool was dirty the entire time we were there and the last two days of trip there was some hose in it. For two entire days it did not move out of the pool. The other thing was the ice machine croaked two days before we left so we had to purchase our own ice from the grocery store.

Lastly, parking. They do offer parking for a fee (which is lower than most of the other hotels around) but if we wanted to use our car we were told we had to give several hours notice or even let them know the night before. So we didn't use our car while we were there which was alright, but it just seemed a bit inconvenient. Next time we will probably park in the public parking right around the corner. It might cost a bit more but worth having our car when we want it.

With all that said, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at most hotels in New Orleans. We are going back to this one. Quiet, beautiful court yard, original! Location is perfect. The do not take advantage. Parking was reasonable . You won't regret choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: What New Orleans was like in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLadner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
340 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This owner run property was a rare find. Located just a half a block off Bourbon Street this garden style boutique hotel offers location and solitude. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The half block made all the difference as there was virtually no street noise. The staff was very friendly and accommodated our every need. Will definitely return to this jewel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Right in the heart of the French Quarter the hotel offers easy access to everything you might want to see. We stayed in wonderful old decorated balcony room for two nights before we could move into a two bedroom court yard room. Both rooms were clean, comfortable and charming. This is definitely a historic hotel and not a new luxury hotel. So history....this was once a summer home of Laura's family the previous owner of the plantation named for her (definitely worth touring). We saw the plantation and then while doing a walking tour of the courtyards of NO we ended up right back at our hotel. So it was fun to learn about the connection of the hotel to Laura and her family.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony can be a bit noisy late at night due to being so close to Bourbon Street. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton rouge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in bridal suite. Was kinda strange and funky. The balcony was gorgeous. We love the small, not perfect vibe. If I wanted cookie cutter, i would travel to middle Kansas. We are in Nola, people! Be weird. Staff couldn't have been nicer. The lounge?common room had a small tour come in .. But we ended up getting history and enjoyed her tour. Price was great. Yeah... It is a bit like a prom dress at 3am... A little worn out but beautiful and makes you smile when you think on it after. Big love

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelustyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Olivier House a number of times over the past couple of years, most recently in August of 2013. The staff is always helpful and friendly and we like the character of the old place. You cannot beat the location within the French Quarter, just one block north of Bourbon Street.

As stated, the hotel is quite old, and the rooms may not have the most state-of-the-art hotel amenities that you might find at the national hotels downtown. If you want a reasonably priced room in a quirky historic building, this is the place!

Room Tip: Interior rooms and those with balconies overlooking the pool/courtyard area are much quieter. Aside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryhood1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,562 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Property: Olivier House Hotel
Address: 828 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing