We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool funky ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baton rouge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool funky ”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in bridal suite. Was kinda strange and funky. The balcony was gorgeous. We love the small, not perfect vibe. If I wanted cookie cutter, i would travel to middle Kansas. We are in Nola, people! Be weird. Staff couldn't have been nicer. The lounge?common room had a small tour come in .. But we ended up getting history and enjoyed her tour. Price was great. Yeah... It is a bit like a prom dress at 3am... A little worn out but beautiful and makes you smile when you think on it after. Big love

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelustyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    144
    46
    23
    30
See reviews for
114
244
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Olivier House a number of times over the past couple of years, most recently in August of 2013. The staff is always helpful and friendly and we like the character of the old place. You cannot beat the location within the French Quarter, just one block north of Bourbon Street.

As stated, the hotel is quite old, and the rooms may not have the most state-of-the-art hotel amenities that you might find at the national hotels downtown. If you want a reasonably priced room in a quirky historic building, this is the place!

Room Tip: Interior rooms and those with balconies overlooking the pool/courtyard area are much quieter. Aside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryhood1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel because it is quaint and has the french quarter charm that I was looking for. I will never stay at another place in New Orleans. The location is half a block from Bourbon Street but far enough away that you're not bothered by the hustle and bustle. Dustin and Bobby were really nice and accomodating

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We highly recommend Olivier House for staying in the French Quarter. It is so close and convenient to everything but being one block from Bourbon Street gives you some peace and quiet when needed. The staff is so gracious and helpful. We stayed mid week so we were given a tour upon our arrival and allowed to pick the room that best suited us. The rooms are very large with unique decor. Overall feel is an eclectic decor with Old Orleans flare. Very economical too.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 214 with a shared balcony but had no other visitors on this side of the building so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

A quirky little place, recommended to us by friends who used to live in New Orleans and which we will now recommend to all our friends. Close enough to walk to almost everything but quiet enough that we coukd enjoy the balcony overlooking the courtyard. We stayed in two rooms, each charmingly decorated. Morning coffee in the ground floor courtyard was peaceful, the coffee was good, and the selection of teas was admirable. The staff was incredibly helpful in identifying places to eat and things to do. Their love of their city and its wide-ranging charms was evident. We'll be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This has become the only place I stay when I visit NOLA. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It's in a quiet area of the French Quarter and is only a couple of blocks from Bourbon St. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lolly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I hesitate to write a review....as I don't want this place overrun :)

I go to New Orleans 2 to 5 times a year and have for many years. I've literally stayed at most every hotel in the Quarter. Those days are over as I will never stay anywhere else but the Olivier House now.

The location is perfect. I prefer to stay "above" Bourbon Street rather than on Bourbon or "below" on Royal, Chartres or Decatur. It's quieter and more quaint. It's also close to several of my favorite watering holes.

The Olivier is more of a large Bed & Breakfast than a hotel. It's a beautiful old mansion full of maze-like hallways and stairways. There's a lovely sitting room with a fireplace. Full of antiques and charm. A beautiful courtyard.

The rooms are all different. I was in a two floor room with the bedroom in a loft the first time I stayed. It had a great balcony overlooking the courtyard. The second stay I was in a standard room on the fourth floor that was just as lovely.

The staff are absolutely the best. I mean the best. Even arriving home well after 5 AM, after some heavy partying, I was greeted cheerfully and with a sly grin by the gentleman keeping the overnight vigil. No judgement, no raised eyebrows. I really can't say enough about everyone there I encountered. Just tops, really.

It's not hyperbole to say this is the best place I've ever had the pleasure to stay in while in New Orleans.

And to add even more praise. The rates are quite fair.

Room Tip: Not a bad room to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crsofa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,038 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Property: Olivier House Hotel
Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing