We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice restored historic house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivier House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice restored historic house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Staff was Five Stars. Accommodations a bit less. Furniture was eclectic, bathrooms were updated, not period and I was ok with that. If you like history, charm and funk, you'll be just fine here. Convenient stumbling distance from Bourbon Street but totally quiet and insulated from the crowds. The courtyard pool was cloudy and out of commission while we were there, which was a shame cause it was one the main reasons we chose Olivier House. Sofa in our room was slightly musty but everything was perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Room 112 for sure. Bi-Level up a circular cast iron stair case to the king bed. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    104
    35
    19
    28
See reviews for
83
180
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

No dispute the location is great in the heart of the French Quarter. However, I doubt I'll be coming back. We have been to New Orleans many times, and often noticed this hotel. I thought that since it is fairly large, it would be more like a hotel, but it has that bed and breakfast feel. The staff being a part of your experience (monitoring your comings and goings), no online reservation (you must call), the rooms are each unique, but worn around the edges. Because of the layout it is easy to get lost in the labyrinth of stuffy hallways. At checkout I was given only a credit card receipt with no itemization (I hope my company will allow it on an expense report). If you like a B&B, you may well love it, but if you are looking for a true hotel, I recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My first time to New Orleans and I must say, I liked the hotel better than the city! Not to say I didn't have fun in NOLA but this hotel really made us feel at home. Traveled with another couple and we each got a one bedroom suite. The suites were completely different from each other but beautifully unique. You can tell the property has a lot of history but they keep it up well and it is very charming. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. I have and will recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks again to the staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keysgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful Hotel with some of the most gracious hosts. We had a junior suite on the second floor which housed our group of 5 comfortably. Our room had a mini fridge and microwave and after a visit to Rouse's Grocery (Royal St) we were able to fix ourselves late night snacks after our debauchery on NOLA streets till the early morning hours. The hosts were always willing to give us info on restaurants, sites and travel. If there is anything you need all you have to do is ask and it is promptly delivered. It is a very old hotel with a lot of character, charm and mystery. We went to the pool midday to cool off and again when we returned from our late nights out. Everyone in our group agreed we would definitely stay here again. We made some of the best memories on this trip with so many laughs and are very happy that Oliver House is part of them. Thank you to the staff and owners for the great work of lovingly keeping this Hotel alive!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaiserbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am a Hilton type traveler and I still think this lovely hotel is a great deal. I'd give it a 4+ if I could. John, Chris and the rest of the staff went out their way to make our stay as comfortable and safe as possible. The facilities are charming and unique. Our room was on the 4th floor with a view of downtown and the French Quarter. Very comfortable accommodations for myself and 3 teenagers. The mark down is for the ridiculous water pressure - or lack there of - in the shower and the funky odor that came out of one of the air conditioners (the one time the staff dropped the ball - their prompt solution to the problem was a can of Glade air freshener!) But I defy you to find more caring hosts in all of New Orleans. The guys were so kind and made sure we were looked after. And for the price - definitely a winner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor away from Bourbon Street, the rowdiest street in the world. We kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annalee1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiene
Level Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

....And STILL I rate it 5 stars.

Why?

1) they got me right out. 'Not even stuck for 2 minutes. We had a laugh about it.

2) It's an old property. They're doing god's work by keeping it going and maintaining it so beautifully.

It's a mere letter grade down, plushness-wise, from The Soniat house, but 2 letter grades down in price. It's got a similarly grand interior and lushly done up to death courtyard -plus a pool, which The Soniat House lacks. Who goes to the Quarter to swim in a pool? Still, it's nice to look down from your balcony and see.

Rooms veer slightly towards the funky (as in idiosyncratic, not unsanitary), but are large and well-apointed. You could hop on one foot to Bourbon Street, but you're just far enough away to miss all the noise. A convenient corner shop is across the street.

Staff is NO-friendly at the upper bell curve level. They're partic. helpful with very frank NO restaurant suggestions. Minor caveat: your room may not get serviced daily, but no biggie if you just need a fresh towel from the desk. This the kind of place where you feel like you want to be in their corner instead of nit-picking.

All in, a great value. If we hadn't gotten the Soniat House on super-sale, we'd be back there on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a very old home that's now a hotel. Our group were given the top floor and we enjoyed how each room was very different (layout and decor). Tea and coffee in the lobby were much appreciated in the morning. The location is great to walk around and explore New Orleans. We also spent a lot of the weekend hanging out on Bourbon Street.
The elevator is tiny but it worked to take our luggage up (instead of carrying it up 4 floors). Please note, if you are looking for the Hilton, this may not be the place for you. We however loved it, the location and the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_M68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,072 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,789 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,860 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Property: Olivier House Hotel
Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing