We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Taste Of Old New Orleans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivier House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Taste Of Old New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Olivier House Hotel is a charming antebellum residence which would appeal to those who like a sense of history. The rooms are quirky, though have comfortable accommodations. Beware of the plumbing - it can be unpredictable! The location of the hotel is excellent and within walking distance to Bourbon Street and the other attractions New Orleans has to offer.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming - with a real understanding of 'southern hospitality'. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes something different, homey and unlike a chain motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dontcallmesharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    121
    40
    19
    29
See reviews for
96
207
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed for 7 nights in February in one of the one bedroom suites. The location is great, half a block off of Bourbon St but very quiet. It's an old building so it's not the same as a sterile chain hotel, but this place has character and charm. Very helpful staff, and I've already got reservations for a long weekend there. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Olivier House several times but this was the first time to have a third floor balcony room. This hotel has true character and is not a luxury chain hotel. The staff was absolutely the most friendly team who made us feel like we were staying at home. The location of this hotel is ideal since it is 90 steps (yes, I counted them) away from Bourbon street. The balcony room was a little noisier than the other rooms but that was to be expected.

We will always plan on staying at this hotel everytime that we visit Nola..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryinOkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff is amazing and very accomodating. The hotel was beautiful and unique and we enjoyed exploring it! The location is central to everything..the casino, the graveyards, bourbon street, the french market, the riverfront. The atmosphere is so warm and cozy we were saying "back home" instead of "back at the hotel." We have done extensive traveling around the US and world and this is my favorite place to stay and the ONLY place I will stay in the New Orleans area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4grady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My sisters and I stayed at Olivier House for my 40th birthday weekend which just so happened to be super bowl sunday and mardi gras time. We could not have asked for a better location. The staff was amazing from arrival to departure. It's small and family owned/operated. So there was "niece" and "uncle" to greet us upon arrival. Uncle (we called him that all weekend) offered wine during check in. My sister responded and requested Moscato if he had it. Well he did not have it and did not say no. He simply went to the liquor store and got it for her!! Who does that? Way to go above and beyond!! Olivier House is an older hotel built in the 1800's so that took me some time to adjust but all and all I had a great stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiTosha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I wrote a review of Olivier House months back after a stay there. I went back to Nawlins in October and did a Mystery Hotel package off Bookit. I wished I could've gone back in time and just went to Olivier again. My mom and I would walk past Olivier and just long to be back there...sigh. Anyway, back in March 2012 I took my mom and preteen children to the French Quarter and we stayed a week at Olivier. It was so beautiful with Interview with A Vampire sitting room in the lobby. It's an old hotel so if you want plastic cookie cutter hotel look elsewhere. The staff was so friendly and I believe it's family owned. My children and I looked on Youtube and found videos/tv show that talked about the haunted rooms there. At night my kids and I went on a ghost adventure and would stand outside rooms that were supposed to be haunted. My kids would take pictures of the door and see who could stand there the longest without getting spooked...lol It was funny. The swimming pool is TINY but who goes to Nawlins French Quarter to swim? We stayed on the 4th floor in a room that faced the courtyard and had an awesome view of the city. We slept with the doors opened which led to the balcony. It was a quiet peaceful sleep with no noise. In the morning you can hear street sweepers and garbage trucks but that's to be expected in the French Quarter. It was both beautiful and erie. I will NEVER stay at another hotel in NOLA again. I missed Olivier House last time I went there. I'm uploading some pictures. Olivier House made our trip memorable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here December 30 2012 - January 2 2013. Love this place always stay here. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful. House keeping staff is great always brings more towels if you ask them. Close to everything, very quite even if your a half block off Bourbon Street. Before I left I booked the Honeymoon Suite for my husband anniversary. Two of our friend's went with us and they love it. They booked a room for Spring break. It is very charming place to stay. Our room was a two bedroom, two bathroom, living room, small kitchen with dinning area, and a private balcony. Love the room it was room 210. Can't wait until my next stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Property: Olivier House Hotel
Address: 828 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing